Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars34
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2013
Having read Soccer Tough I was really excited when I heard Dan was releasing a book aimed at coaches. I have done my Level 2 qualifications- I'm convinced this book can help any coach of any age and any standard, in line with Soccer Tough it's written in a really simple way and I love the way Dan uses stories and real life examples to bring sport psychology alive.

The book is divided into 4 sections- each section informs the reader of how to develop different cultures within his coaching practice . Section One teaches you how to build a culture of creativity.Section 2 has loads of tips to build a culture of confidence section 3 talks about developing a culture of commitment, while section 4 introduces the reader to ways of improving your culture of cohesion. It's really simply laid out and is crammed full of idea and techniques.

If Soccer Tough is your playing bible, this is your coaching bible. It's applicable to all sports coaches-not just football ones
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
This book will transform the way most coaches actually coach. It details subjects that most coaching books don't even touch on. Dan has expertly articulated how areas of psychology can help get the most out of your players. Not just the star players, but every single one of your squad.

It's very well written, and contains clear, real-life examples to back up the theory. It's one of them books that has leaves wanting to read just one more page - I can't think of many coaching books that have done that!

The modern day coach needs more than drills, tactical nous, and game know-how. In an age where the focus on grassroots development is so high-profile, a coach should be constantly looking for ways to improve their players. This book, being unique in its subject matter relating to football, gives so many techniques and tips on how to extract the most out of every individual squad member. The insight you'll get about Klopp and Mourinho will help you to understand how they've gained their success. And the best bit is that their techniques are explained ready for you to try on your own team.

Overall, this is a fantastic book. It really opened my eyes to many things I'd taken for granted. Being a coach is not just about technique, it's about people. Real people with real feelings. Get the most out of them with this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
Dan Abrahams has propelled himself to the forefront of psychology in football. In his first book "Soccer Tough" Dan looked at practical applications which can be used by players to enhance their performance and confidence on the pitch. It was must read for coaches and parents too as they can learn the methods and ideas which can improve the performance of their players. Without question it should be a definite purchase for those working with young and senior players.

In his new book "Soccer Brain" Dan looks at coaches and how they approach their role as developers of talent. For him technique and tactics aren't everything in football and for coaches Dan argues that they need to know how to create the right environment and 'culture' if they wish to improve their players. He argues that they need to create the environment for the players to flourish and this involves more self-awareness as a coach. Notably it involves creating the right culture; this is where Dan introduces his 4C's philosophy - which provide an excellent guide for coaches.

I can't emphasise enough that this book will enhance your coaching by making you understand what you are doing in terms of the environment you are creating as a coach. Your communication, the culture you are creating and a need to create an environment of optimism are all covered in the book.

Yes coaching courses may enhance your knowledge of the `game' but Dan Abrahams "Soccer Brain" will give you the tools to enhance your players more than any football course can do. Therefore if you care about developing and enhancing your players as well as improving as a coach then "Soccer Brain" is the book for you. Trust me, it will become your most treasured resource.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
This is a self-improvement book for (amateur) football coaches. It focuses on four “dimensions”: creativity, confidence, commitment, cohesion. It’s about 186 pages.

I read it all. There’s a lot of intelligence and effort gone into this book, the author seems to know his stuff, and I reckon some may find it useful, but I have to say I am a bit negative about it which puts me in a minority I have to admit!

Of the four dimensions, I found only the confidence one much use. In there, you learn to repeat key words that soak into your players psyche. Also there’s a section about focusing your players to think of “challenges” rather than “threats” which I like.

However, overall it reminds me of those self-help business books with wacko titles like “Blue Swan, Black Heart” – little use in the real world.

As a coach you need – time (as Ferguson and Mourinho will testify), the players’ support, a vision that always keeps you one step ahead of the players (and the results!!), and a good training regime. So this book will gather dust on the shelf, and I’ll continue using Modern Soccer Coach by Gary Cumeen, and my favourite, Soccer Conditioning by Simon Thadani, both of which offer practical help you can use every week.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
If you are interested or curious of how psychology works in football then this book will open up a whole new world of information for you to use. Whether you are an ambitious coach looking to improve even further or someone who generously gives up their time to help run a local team then I strongly advise you to buy this book. Some of it will confirm what you have practiced and some of it will suggest things that will get you impatiently waiting for your next training session in order to try new idea's. If you really care about your coaching and truly want the best for all of the players you teach then you owe it to yourself and those players to read books like this! I am an FA level 2 coach and by no means an expert in football or psychology but I do feel that I have just completed an extra FA course by reading this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
Soccer Brain clearly and effectively explains principles and techniques that will help coaches of all levels produce balanced, motivated players who will not only enjoy the game more, but will become better players.

Coaches can study all the practice drills they want, but without understanding the principles in this book they'll be wasting a lot of time.

A really good read and would recommend to everyone - even players will get something out of this, though they'd be better off looking at Soccer Tough, also by Dan Abrahams.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I am a coach of a grassroots U10s team, I have read Dan's work before and also follow his Tweets which are always thought provoking.
Soccer Brain was inspirational for me, every chapter had me getting out the highlighter pen to focus my thoughts on some gems of expert advice for me to refer back to. Whether you run a semi professional/professional adult side or a kids team in the local leagues, this book will give you so many ideas to take and work on for the long term development of your individual players and team as a whole.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
The book will stretch your thinking, particularly within 'commitment' & 'cohesion' section. It will open your mind to the minute details that you may never thought relevant, but actually make all the difference. The 1% nudges!

On a personal note, it has confirmed a lot that i do is good practice, which is comforting. At same time, this book won't give you all the answers, it cant, but it will provide a clear structure & ideas to develop your thinking and hopefully improve your coaching!. Fully Recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
"Reading Dans book has opened my eyes to different techniques to allow players to progress further and unlock freedom when playing the game. Small changes to coaching sessions and match preparation can allow mental freedom to achieve match targets and goals by these small tweaks. This is now an essential part of what we are implementing at Histon and an important aspect if players are to go on to develop and play at the best level they possibly can"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Although it has taken me a while to finish reading Soccer Brain (kids, work & coaching getting in the way), I have been implementing bits and pieces from the book into the work I do with my side and I've already noticed improvements in performances and, in turn, results.

Coaches of all age groups and levels can definitely benefit from what is written and, while you might not do everything suggested, there will be something for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)