Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide Review
I found this publication very helpful in planning my summer holiday.

For anyone considering campsites in Europe, this is a very useful
addition to your library of guides.
Published 16 months ago by JOHN MACLEOD

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only rates large camp sites
This book is not quite what we wanted. It supposed to rate the best sites in Europe but I suppose that depends on what you think a good site consists of. For two grumpy older people travelling without children it's the smaller more select sites, not the sites that have all the amenities to keep your children amused, we've done all of that in the past. It's a shame that...
Published 15 months ago by D. A. Steele


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only rates large camp sites, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
This book is not quite what we wanted. It supposed to rate the best sites in Europe but I suppose that depends on what you think a good site consists of. For two grumpy older people travelling without children it's the smaller more select sites, not the sites that have all the amenities to keep your children amused, we've done all of that in the past. It's a shame that this book doesn't consider sites that would be good for couples who do not want the sounds of happy, but noisy children but it doesn't. Bah humbug
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive summary but lack of photos, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
If you want to save 200 hs of internet browsing buy this guide!
There're loads of good campsites in Europe with good info such as services and location together with a broad idea of how the sites are. Definitively a good selection! so no need to browse the web.
But when it comes to picture the sites in your head, so you can decide to go, there are no photos of them and so you need to rely on the writer (or follow the links to websites). So if you plan to get on a plane heading to slovenia I wouldn't know where in slovenia I'd need to go.
The maps are good but they can be improved with more references for easy search and mentions to nearby airports and local trek routes.
What I liked the most is that the campsites in the guide don't pay to get in the book, so it's purely an honest opinion of an experienced camper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide Review, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
I found this publication very helpful in planning my summer holiday.

For anyone considering campsites in Europe, this is a very useful
addition to your library of guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - don't travel without it, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent reviews and accurate information.

Worth the expenditure as we saved the books price in discounted campsite fees when we showed the recommendation from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
This book is the dogs whatits, I used it this year travelling through spain and was even able to get discounts at certain campsites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good information, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
Good book for European campsites but not British ones...we didn't realise this until it arrived, and we wanted one with UK campsites in it. So we returned it and got a prompt refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great as a starter, 22 Oct 2013
By 
T. Bessent (Doncaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
This has some good sites and as a first guide, this has it all for the first time European traveler, but once you are a seasoned traveler, then this will always fall short of a country specific guide. But as a first time motorhome owner, this will be in my cab for my first few trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good reviews, but difficult to locate sites within countries, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Steven M. Bobeldijk (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
As usual the Alan Rogers reviews were very good and contained all the basic information. However, I found it difficult to navigate around the book, specially finding where sites were within countries, so only three stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good informed resource, 16 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
Good quality handbook for camping/caravaning in Europe. Detailed information on sites although no acknowledgement of ease or difficulties booking in advance. Would like to see a few more recommended sites that didn't include swimming pools etc for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Content Impossible to Read, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides) (Paperback)
I've been a fan of the Alan Rogers website for a couple of years and I was hoping that the book would be equally good. The main problem with it is that while the reviews are ok the indexing system is impossible to follow and involves you keeping your fingers in various maps and indexes while you aimlessly flick back and forth looking for a list of the campsites in the area you're interested in staying in. Don't think I'll be buying anymore books, I'll stick with the website (which is also free!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Rogers - The Best Campsites in Europe 2013: The Big Selection (Alan Rogers Guides)
Used & New from: 6.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews