Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a life!, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting (Hardcover)
This book was recommended to me by a friend who shares my love of modern poetry. To our shame, neither of us had heard of Basil Bunting - I have now, and so has everyone I've spoken to over the last couple of weeks! This rigorous and detailed book paints a beautiful picture of an incredible life. Burton's style is engaging and entertaining and there are illuminating readings of some of Bunting's extraordinary poetry. The book is worth buying for the section on Villon alone, which is superb. Not only has this book introduced me to a poet who is now amongst my favourites, it has rekindled my enthusiasm for listening to poetry closely and allowing it to be reborn with each new reading; Bunting's powerful and indefatigable poetry certainly is. And if you're not that interested in poetry, read this book for its value as work of social history. It is a thorough, full and animated biography of an incredible artist. Bring on the Faber edition of Bunting's Complete Poems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting (Hardcover)
Bunting is wrongly neglected but this excellent new biography will correct that. I picked it up knowing Briggflats but little else of Bunting's canon and nothing of him. The book sent me back to the poetry equipped to better appreciate place, time, sound and context. And BB himself emerges as a complex, riotous, flinty genius at the heart of modernism. Echoes of Ellman in a biography which is sympathetic and almost discreet in its drawing of the man and rigorous in its reading of his work. Must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating biography, beautifully written, 24 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting (Hardcover)
Bunting was a tremendous character, who was defined as much by his integrity and fierce independence as by his rare poetic talent. Burton's biography is an informative and inspirational tribute. The author writes with restrained affection and great empathy for a poet and thinker who lived his life with few compromises and some verve. Bunting's life story is rich and exhilarating to the extent that it would be unimaginable today. Burton's book is a worthy homage to an exceptional man. Thoroughly recommended to anyone looking for an insightful treatment of a woefully neglected artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent critical biography, 2 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting (Hardcover)
This book is a fantastic achievement. I thought I knew something about Basil Bunting and his work but this is full of astonishing detail, and intelligent and insightful reading. I'm sure it'll lead to Bunting's work finally getting to a wider readership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put out the bunting, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting (Hardcover)
Basil Bunting has long been neglected. Richard Burton's book will hopefully change this. It is not only Bunting's poetry which deserves recognition, but also his wonderfully picaresque life. Burton captures both the brilliance of the writing and the wonderful intricacies of Bunting's life with considerable wit and insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully refreshing, 27 Feb 2014
This review is from: A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting (Hardcover)
Biography - especially big biography - is so often the preserve of academics that it's rare - and wonderful - to come across such a readable, zesty life of a major literary figure. Intelligent and articulate, Richard Burton engages with both the man and the work in a lucid, thoughtful and sometimes provocative manner. Bunting's life, as others have said, is remarkable enough itself. But for me the greatest achievement of A Strong Song Tows Us lies in its invaluable analyses of the often difficult poems, notably 'Briggflatts' but also the 'odes' and 'sonatas' (including 'Villon', a poem remarkable for its music and ideas written when Bunting was still in his twenties), returning the reader to them with renewed delight. Hats off. It seems to me an important contribution to the history of twentieth-century British literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting (Hardcover)
I've given it 5 stars but haven't read it but it is the book that I've been instructed to buy and it was a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting
A Strong Song Tows Us: The life of Basil Bunting by Richard Burton (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
Used & New from: 4,290.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews