Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting
This was one of the most interesting books I read last year. Let me be clear, this is a book about a man called Jesus. It is not written as a religious book. It is not a book about faith. It is written objectively as an academic text, with an historical orientation, and little room for obtuse theologian arguments. The author has been very careful in what he has included...
Published 12 months ago by Cardinal Biggles

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars And I am both intellectually disappointed and re-affirmed in my prior assesment
Posing as a public intellectual but actually pursuing an agenda of religious muslim apologetics, Aslan is currently very much present on the interview circuit. Not wanting to judge prematurely only based on soundbites I decided to read his latest book. And I am both intellectually disappointed and re-affirmed in my prior assesment. The scholarly premise of the book is an...
Published 11 days ago by cilli t.


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was one of the most interesting books I read last year. Let me be clear, this is a book about a man called Jesus. It is not written as a religious book. It is not a book about faith. It is written objectively as an academic text, with an historical orientation, and little room for obtuse theologian arguments. The author has been very careful in what he has included in the text to -presumably- keep the Bible-belt dwellers and Daily Mail readers of limited breadth of vision from getting upset. To much so, perhaps as I finished the book with my interest stimulated but not fully satisfied. I wanted more.

The first section of the book deals with Jesus' early life and times, including his time with John the Baptist. The second with his surprisingly short ministry and death. The third section looks at the founding of the early church and establishing and altering the pure (Jewish) basis of the faith for a wider gentile audience.

There are huge gaps. Some are understandable - the author doesn't write where there is no evidence to discuss. However, having rationalised so much in his writing, and focussed on Jesus as a man, with human ambitions for a Jewish state governed by God's law in it's purest form, we are still left with question marks. Despite being grounded firmly on Jesus was a human being when it comes to discussing his work, disciples, ambitions and intentions, no discussion is made, for example, of how Jesus earned such a reputation for healing and miracles. It is stated that they were not magic tricks or illusions, as others (named) were doing at the time. It is acknowledged that miracles happened. And that his fame was based on them. So how did Jesus the man achieve this? An unwelcome gap that needed more discussion IMHO.

Similarly, when we get to the third section,with all the Byzantine intriguing of the 1st C apostles and varieties of Christian churches, who do we find in charge at head office in Jerusalem? Jesus' brother, that's who. He turns up out of nowhere and simply takes over the whole shebang. Where had he been for the last 30 years? How had Jesus interacted with key personalities such as this? It's a huge gap, and the book isn't such a long one that a bit more writing in this area couldn't have been added.......

So this book is something of an allegorical Art Gallery. Three walls with different themes on each, and each theme a collection of paintings and sketches on that theme, each beautifully formed in its own right. When viewed as a whole, however the gaps between them sometimes seem to take up a lot more wall than you would like, and this is the main problem I had with the book. I wanted more. It wasn't there.

I was going to rate this 3*, for omission, but I do want to encourage you to read this book, which Btw is very well written as far as it goes.

This book will change your thinking on 1stC Holy Land. It may answer some questions for you, but it will surely also leave you thirsting for more knowledge on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for zealots, 6 Aug. 2013
When analyzing the life and times of Jesus of Nazareth, if you remove faith from the equation you're left with a few hard facts and a lot of historical context.

This book is as more about the times Jesus lived in than Jesus himself. He lived in an era of brutal Roman occupation, failed rebellions, false messiahs, Jewish nationalism, rampant illiteracy, a corrupt Jewish priesthood, and massive differences between rich and poor.

60 pages of notes and research references document both sides of academic arguments. This is not a haphazard book of opinions. It's a meticulously researched, balanced analysis.

Jesus lived in a time of apocalyptic visions, culture clashes, and competing religious orthodoxies. Judging from the debate and attacks this book has inspired, so do we.

The author is respectful of his subject. His final conclusions is that "Jesus the man is every bit as compelling as Jesus the Christ ... He is, in short, someone worth believing in..."

People of faith as well as `ye of little faith' will find this a fascinating read. Believers have an opportunity to deepen their faith. Skeptics and non-Christians have an opportunity to increase their understanding. Only zealots will find reason to be offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh, unconditioned, viewpoint, 26 Dec. 2014
By 
M. D. Holley (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth (Paperback)
Aslan is an outstanding writer! For example, his description of a day at the temple is wondrous - it would be worth the price of the book for this passage alone.

It is probably impossible now to reconstruct the real Jesus with any accurancy. The information to do so simply does not exist. However, Reza Aslan probably has a better chance of success than most - because he was not brought up from a small child in a Christian environment. For those of us who were, we can read the texts but we don't understand, because our conditioning prevents us from seeing clearly.

Much of what Aslan tells us is based on the historical context of first century Palestine, and this approach yields many insights. I suppose one could argue that Aslan sometimes pushes and pulls at the evidence to make it fit his 'zealot' argument. But then again, most books about any subject do the same.

I recommend this book to all. It's not perfect, but at the very least it is always thought provoking and will enhance the understanding of any reader (except those whose minds are bolted firmly shut).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing and provocative thesis, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was not sure how I would react to this book. However, I found it riveting and very well written. The research appears meticulous and the author has strictly divided the book in to two; the narrative without footnotes and a second portion which outlines the sources. The author challenges many of the Christian views held by millions. But like so many others who have written on the subject of Christ or Jesus of Nazareth, there is insufficient evidence that things are as they seem to be be or not to be. You cannot criticize the gospel writers for their presentation of the "story" as "fabricated" to fit a desired scenario, then use the gospels themselves as providing evidence as a primary source.

Nevertheless, the book is well written and generally convincing which will upset pious Christians. So, the author states that Jesus did not restore the Kingdom of God as he envisaged. I believe that whatever or whoever this man was, he has left a legacy. We may not accept the mythology but there is no doubt that in the subsequent development of Rabbinic Judaism, the so called "parting of the ways" between the early christian community and the synagogue, the rise of islam, Jesus of Nazareth is a figure to be reckoned with. He has left a profound legacy which stimulates a certain sprituality and even if the story as propounded by the author is true (ie., that Jesus was just another healer/zealot), does it really matter.

A lot more might be said but the reader must come to his/her own conclusion. There is much to consider here and I really believe that the book is well researched and provocative. Individual piety will determine if it is all a stage too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


148 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars let the blind see, 30 July 2013
I think that a book should be judged by the quality of its research and argument not on whether the author is a Muslim or a Christian. As a professional academic this is no more relevant than whether the author is left or right handed. I have studied 1st century palestine history and politics and jesus role within it at a postgraduate level and I can say confidently that this author is taking a proper and correct approach based upon current historical and scriptural research and his research is meticulous. I can also write this with authority as a priest who accepts Christ as Saviour. When we love we can see the truth a little clearer. Reading this book will help many Christians to understand scripture more accurately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revealing portrait of Jesus rooted in historical fact, 27 Aug. 2013
By 
Andrew Ross "J. Andrew Ross" (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reza Aslan has performed a public service with this readable review of the life and times of Jesus the Nazarene. As a scholar of religion and a teacher of creative writing, he has managed to hit a high note in a field both swamped with demented polemics from religious cranks and overgrown with pedantic exercises in obfuscation by bookish bores, all of which has fed a forbidding forest of obstacles to writers like Aslan. His new book is about as exciting as a monograph backed by a solid list of academic references can be, and it tells the story with a spin that begs for a Hollywood movie treatment by a team that can do justice to his thoroughly modern vision.

Zealot is the story of a politically engaged Jesus in a world where religion and politics were inextricably entangled. So the tale has a striking resonance in the turmoil currently gripping the Mideast region, and Aslan as a confessed Muslim is coming from the right corner to tell it. The Jewish struggle for freedom from Roman rule two thousand years ago finds a disturbing mirror in the modern Palestinian struggle to break free of Israeli domination, and although the contrast between the two struggles is so great as to make the second seem a wild inversion of the first, the parallel is revealing. Aslan is wise enough to do no more than hint at this side of his story and to focus on the old struggle. He presents the vivid facts surrounding the narrative in order to set in sharp relief the unknown details that have been blurred into mad minefields by endless polemics between various believers. What we see is a profile of Jesus that makes the Christian confabulations surrounding his life look transparent. No reasonable person can fail to see through the threadbare veils of faith to the shadow of the man behind them.

A great merit of the book is its gently ironic distance from the three monotheistic faiths. We see the facts, so far as they have been established by generations of patient scholars, plus an honest assessment of the gaps and the conjectures, all wrapped up in a story that stays lively enough to keep readers going. The ancient clash of Romans and Jews is a drama without equal in Western history, and its uneasy resolution in the Christian tradition is with us still. So Aslan needs skill and courage to stay on top as he surfs the waves of the ongoing controversies. He does so with such aplomb that even simple Christians need not be offended by his portrait.

Any such portrait confronts a historical challenge. A hundred years ago, Albert Schweitzer concluded a magisterial review of all previous lives of Jesus with the dismaying verdict that key facts were lost and all the lives said more about their authors than about their subject. More recent studies, for example on the Dead Sea scrolls and newly discovered gospels, have helped, but they have also raised wider questions. To disclose my own interest, last year I drafted a book on the life of Jesus that I now find largely shared the perspective Aslan adopts in Zealot. I know how hard it is to rise to the challenge posed by Schweitzer and failed to meet it. Aslan does better. His touch is so light as he approaches matters of moment to fundamentalists that he leaves his own opinions out of play, with the pleasing result that the facts, at least so far as we know them, can speak for themselves. Also, his scholarship has been impressive, albeit with gaps that some reviewers have attacked with their own zeal, so readers of Zealot can rest content that the main claims are reasonably solid.

In my opinion, Aslan fails the Schweitzer test on two aspects of the story. First, he drastically undervalues the pacific doctrines of the gospel Jesus, which show that Jesus was influenced by Essene ideas. The love and peace vibe makes Jesus more of a hippy than a zealot, and sets up a resonance between his ideas and Buddhism. Second, Aslan fails to look more closely at the resurrection stories. Odd details in the crucifixion drama suggest that Jesus may have survived the punishment, for a while at least, and perhaps even hoped to do so. Aslan may be forgiven for glossing over the resurrection issue, but losing the love thing behind a call to arms makes for a travesty.

Despite the flaws, Zealot is the best book on Jesus for a long time. Atheists and believers alike will find both cheer and challenges as they come to grips with its drama. All its readers will be better informed in the debates on faith that are likely yet to come. Our global civilization is struggling to integrate the three strands of monotheism in a world where science puts hard bounds on any truth behind their faiths. Zealot helps narrow the scope for believers to make wild assertions about Jesus the Nazarene, and thus helps us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real historical Jesus, 9 Nov. 2013
By 
K. Strachan (Kingston upon Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a self confessed atheist with a curiosity about religion. Did Jesus truly exist and if so what was he like? Who was he? I've read a few books before that takes an historical view of Jesus but Reza Aslan's book is the most compelling and, for me, the most believable. This is an extensively researched document and the result is in no way sensationalist. The fact that Reza Aslan was born a Muslim (much mentioned by his Christian critics) has no bearing on his judgement as an historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evangelical Christian Smear Campaign, 25 July 2013
Nothing much new in this book, but very enjoyable.

By the way, FOX News have today posted an article by an Evangelical Christian Activist, attacking the book and trying to discredit the author.

Claiming the author can't be trusted as he's a muslim (!)

And hinting he supports terrorism in Israel.

This has led to hundreds of rednecks, coming on here and posting 1 star reviews, quoting the religious nut.

Disgusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched book, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well written interesting book looking at the difference between the Jesus of history and the Jesus created by Paul and the writers of the gospels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing author, 28 July 2013
Brilliant book, amazing scholar, eye opening book! Cannot recommend it enough. Reza Aslan has a brilliant mind and is charming and thoughtful in his approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth
Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth by Reza Aslan (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2014)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews