Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thoughtful and beautifully written.
I don't live in London, I live in the other 5% of the country. The capital has the sense of being a cultural black hole, sucking in all the resources of the country, I resent that. CM's essay though shows London and Londoners as more than the bloated stinking sump it seems to the outsider.

This is an excoriating rebuttal of the capitalism which cloaks its self...
Published 21 months ago by Phill Evans

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellently written, but at times superficial analysis
This is undoubtedly and excellenty written essay. And note it is a short essay, not a book. It has become a book only by increasing font size, including plenty of whitespace, lots of margin space, and plenty of semi-empty pages. And a whole bunch of very poorly executed photos (dear editors, Melville is an essayist, not a photographer; get a professional next time). Which...
Published on 6 Nov 2012 by The Philosopher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thoughtful and beautifully written., 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't live in London, I live in the other 5% of the country. The capital has the sense of being a cultural black hole, sucking in all the resources of the country, I resent that. CM's essay though shows London and Londoners as more than the bloated stinking sump it seems to the outsider.

This is an excoriating rebuttal of the capitalism which cloaks its self in London's glory, a celebration of the city as a hoary old survivor, lurching from one apocalypse to another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I bought this in a hurry for a holiday and I thought it would be a story like his others, 16 Nov 2014
This review is from: London's Overthrow (Paperback)
Not at all what I expected. I bought this in a hurry for a holiday and I thought it would be a story like his others. It is nothing of the kind.It is a very small, in size and quantity of content, but very powerful book, in my opinion of course.
Based all around pre apocalyptic London it brings home some pretty strong home truths. I did not think I would enjoy it at first but never having been disappointed with the author I carried on and did enjoy it and the fact that it certainly makes you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mieville fan, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the imagination behind all his novels, if you've never read any then give them a try. Two words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellently written, but at times superficial analysis, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is undoubtedly and excellenty written essay. And note it is a short essay, not a book. It has become a book only by increasing font size, including plenty of whitespace, lots of margin space, and plenty of semi-empty pages. And a whole bunch of very poorly executed photos (dear editors, Melville is an essayist, not a photographer; get a professional next time). Which begs the question why it is priced as a book and not a short essay.

But while it is very well written (almost poetic) the content leaves somewhat to be desired, with a rather superficial analysis of contemporary London. Yes, some of the ideas are good, but they need more thought and more factual backing, as often they just come across as unsubstantiated opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expected revealing Insight, was completely dissappointed, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Overthrow (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of China Mieville and when i read the other reviews for this book i expected it to contain a view of london that offered a new perspective on current issues. what i found instead was a collection of basic opinions held by the majority of england about the last 3-4 years of economic decline and the widening rich-poor divide.

this would only be useful to someone who's lived under a rock or has been in a coma for the last 5 years, there's nothing in the contents that hasn't been endlessly discussed through every news medium available, i felt betrayed and misled by the other reviews and angry that i'd parted with £5.

and don't even get me started on the grainy pictures incorporated in the essay, i felt they were added to plump out the book, and add a few page numbers and had no really content or bearing.

Overall don't waste your money, stick to his fictional works (which are unparalleled in his genre)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An engaging read, 24 Feb 2013
By 
T. O'connell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London's Overthrow (Paperback)
Mieville doesn't make any attempt to give a balanced view of the situation in London towards the end of 2011, his prose is entertaining and gives a real sense of dread and desperation among certain echelons of British society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London's Overthrow
London's Overthrow by China Mieville (Paperback - 3 Sep 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews