Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book of treasures!
I was very pleased with this book,its not only pretty to look at but contains great and simple ideas of how to transform every day objects into something unique and special..i have even saved my sons baby fruit jars to make the wire hanging jar idea featured in this book......cant praise this book enough!
Published 19 months ago by Lee Osbourne

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Really Nice Cover!
Unfortunately this book was uninspiring as most of the projects were a bit too simple and very similar to each other - a bit diappointing !
Published 6 months ago by Louise Cton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book of treasures!, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Lee Osbourne "Ozzie Ozzie" (Enfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
I was very pleased with this book,its not only pretty to look at but contains great and simple ideas of how to transform every day objects into something unique and special..i have even saved my sons baby fruit jars to make the wire hanging jar idea featured in this book......cant praise this book enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully fun, 6 Feb 2013
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
I recently received a new book to review, and I must say, it's delightful. As a follower of Elyse Major's blog, I was aware of her love of paper, flowers and glue. But what's so wonderful is to see her projects in book form. And what's so inspiring is that her crafts aren't expensive or difficult. She simply gives you the excuse to gather some ordinary little things from around the house and make something adorable. The book is 'Tinkered Treasures', and it really is just what it says.

My favorite project in her book is the bookmark made from paint chips. A little punching, some decorative-edged scissors, a ribbon and a string tie for the top and you're set. If you have stickers, it's even better. I've used paint chips as bookmarks, but have never embellished them. I figured I was doing pretty good by sticking the plain, old chip in a book---but now I'm inspired and perhaps even a bit challenged to go to a bit of trouble for a change.

That's what's so fun about the book. I first skimmed through it, noting the wonderful colors (she's stuck on pastels like I am) and flowers. But as I got to really reading it, noticed that ordinary things around the house---like empty spools of thread, matchboxes, Mason jars, babyfood jars, and even cupcake wrappers can be rejuvenated into something cute and special. And her directions are so simple to follow. I'd recommend this book to anyone who enjoys making something out of nothing.

(i received this book free to review from CICO books)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Architects, 25 May 2013
By 
Vincent A. Zandri "Noir Novelist" (Albany, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
I write a lot of building and design journalism and rarely do I come across a book that features something as rare as hand made crafts that compliment any home, restaurant/cafe or even a boutique hotel. But this book is one of those rare "treasures" that will make you whisper, "Gee, why didn't I think of that?" again, and again, and again. Beautifully photographed, written, and published, this cleverly put together publication is much more than an attractive coffee table book. It's a tool that you will use often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pretty florals, 25 Mar 2013
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
This craft book is full of charming makes. There are 35 easy-to-make but inspiring projects. The Getting Started section makes sure you know what materials and tools to use. Then it's straight into the projects with easy to follow instructions and photographs. The projects include decoupage, recycling and more. A variety of materials are used including pegs, paper, glass jars and tin cans. Most of them are decorative ideas and motifs. Cover cake tins, flower pots, stick motifs on painted tin cans to create useful containers. It's a pretty book with a floral theme. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very attractive book!, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
Full of unusual ideas! Haven't had time to put them into practice yet but hope to very soon! Until then, it will sit on my coffee table prettily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
This book is worth the money just for the pleasure of looking at it. However, the projects are very inspiring and make you want to begin right away with your own creations as well as copying Elyse's designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really inspiring book, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
Ordered this book on a whim and I'm so glad I did! Its full of really pretty projects using things that most of us have kicking round the house. All the projects look fun to make and not very complicated and would make lovely additions to your home or beautiful gifts to give. Ideas range from empty matchboxes covered in pretty paper to picture frames made out of 'lolly sticks' to glass jars painted on the inside and decorated on the outside. The hardest part will be deciding which to do first!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cutie of a Craft Book!, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Alison Britton (Darlington, County Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
The first thing that struck me (aside from it's very pretty cover) is that it is a lovely size especially for crafting. It is paperback & so much handier to use than a hardback book.
On opening I was immediately taken in a delightful fairy-tale world by the introduction & photos of craft ideas that were in the book. I knew this book was for me when I read the line 'measuring often gives way to estimating' I'm not good at following 'rules' so love this! Elyse explains every day tools & items are used for these crafts & there is a good walkthrough of materials/tools with a firm emphasis on cheaply sourced items ~ so no expensive trips to the craft store which is great! A lot of the crafts are made using recyclables so you will probably have items at home to use, things like match boxes, glass jars & bottle tops.
The book is filled with such pretty photos that it is just a delight to flick through & see the adorable items.
This craft book is pretty & cute from start to finish & would be perfect if you have never crafted before as the crafts are simple & easy to follow with helpful tips along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for dipping your tinkering fingers into, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
I'm a huge fan of Elyse Major's blog so was really excited she had a book coming out. Tinkered Treasures is full of little projects which will make lovely keepsakes or brighten your home. Most projects use things you will already have so it's a great book if you don't want to spend lots of money on materials you'll never use. I also liked the fact that you could apply the tips to lots of other household items so the book is great for those with little or lots of tinkering experience.
I've already made the little keepsake tins for my children and I can't wait to make more things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!!!!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinkered Treasures - 35 Simple Handmade Craft Projects for Transforming Everyday Objects into Treasured Items (Paperback)
I bought this book after seeing the beautiful peg dolls in Womans Weekly. I absolutely love the sweet little trinkets in it, and I have really enjoyed making some of the projects in the book. I have a stall at craft fairs and the little boxes with tiny trinkets in them are always admired.
The book is not only full of lovely ideas to create beautiful things from household items, its beautifully written and the photographs are stunning.
My Aunt is going to buy this book, for use in her school, so the children can create their own treasures.
I am waiting expectantly for another book, please!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews