Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, documenting a time gone by.
I received the book as a Christmas gift and found it to be a very interesting and entertaining read. The strength of the book is the people it features and the stories they have to tell. It gave me some faith in that whilst modern football is a sport which is dominated and run by souless buisnessmen, it still remains as something that is owned by the fans.

The...
Published 22 months ago by Sean

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why bother
Where to begin? Regarding the text, i'd award it two stars. The anecdotes are vaguely interesting but would be more effective if there was a wider narrative and background weaved around them. Instead, readers are left with a series of disjointed recollections, some of which are mildly interesting, others dull - none rivet. Even without personal quotes and memories, Simon...
Published 14 months ago by webber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, documenting a time gone by., 31 Jan 2013
This review is from: Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will (Paperback)
I received the book as a Christmas gift and found it to be a very interesting and entertaining read. The strength of the book is the people it features and the stories they have to tell. It gave me some faith in that whilst modern football is a sport which is dominated and run by souless buisnessmen, it still remains as something that is owned by the fans.

The writing is excellent and provides a warm, sepia tone effect to go with the great selection of photographs which feature famous football grounds in their heyday. I recommend it to any fan of football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for any football fan, 16 Aug 2013
This review is from: Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will (Paperback)
I was delighted to have the opportunity to help Chris write the part of his book about The Dell in Southampton. My eldest son made a contribution as well. The book is an absolutely fascinating look back at football stadia that are no longer either used or in existence. The memories still linger though and Chris brings the atmosphere, sights and smells flooding back with his style of writing. A must read for any fan with an interest in not only the game but the culture and sociology of the game as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Field of Dreams, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will (Paperback)
My husband has had his nose in it since I gave it to him for his birthday! What better recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something a bit different for footie fanatics, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will (Paperback)
This book is the ideal present for the football fan who has all the books available about their team. It is a nostalgic read for a person of a certain age or an informative read for the younger fan who has a deep interest in the history of football. It has been well researched and the pictures evoke the atmosphere at football games of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why bother, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will (Paperback)
Where to begin? Regarding the text, i'd award it two stars. The anecdotes are vaguely interesting but would be more effective if there was a wider narrative and background weaved around them. Instead, readers are left with a series of disjointed recollections, some of which are mildly interesting, others dull - none rivet. Even without personal quotes and memories, Simon Inglis manages to capture the spirit of football grounds purely through a wildly brilliant pen. This book fails in that respect.

However, the greatest failing is the standard of photography. Were it possible, I would give that a zero mark. By in large two photographs are set aside for each ground. As an example of the choice you have a kid in a jesters hat (Leicester), no sight of the ground. Two pictures of footballers (fellows park), but none of the ground. A house (highfield road). A picture of a blue brothers tribute band (maine rd), and a pic of people walking down the street (highbury). When the author does bother to source pictures of the actual ground, many are blurred or out of focus. Those that don't meet his eccentric criteria lack any magic. The grounds featured in this book are among the most charming, charismatic grounds in the history of the sport, but you would never guess that. I had looked forward to receiving this book, not least on the basis of the other reviews. Unfortunately, I can't help but feel a little cheated by the end product. What next? Well, with winter approaching, I might chuck into the fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fields of Dreams, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will (Paperback)
This was bought for me for my birthday by my son (at my request). Am really pleased with it. Excellent photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyable book, full of nostalgia and interesting facts and figures. Highly recommended to fans of all ages , but especially those with memories of the grounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my papa loved it, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will (Paperback)
Brought these books for my papa who had the list breweries by chris so I then bought this one along with the cricket book by chris. Being in his 60s he was thrilled with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will (Paperback)
brilliant!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fields of Dreams: Grounds That Football Forgot But the Fans Never Will
£16.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews