Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely baking book for an incredibly worthwhile cause
This is a wonderful baking book with a wide range of recipes from across the baking spectrum. I believe that this book would make an excellent gift for someone who has in interest in baking as the recipes range from the simple to the somewhat complex. Many of the recipes in this book are ones that parents will enjoy making with their children.

The range of...
Published on 3 Oct. 2012 by Mrs. E. Preval

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I tried out recipe for the lemon squares by Emma Forbes page 82. Ingredients list for toppping does not include flour, yet method says add lemon zest and juice and fold in flour . Have these recipes been tried out ? Also method says dust squares with 40g of icing sugar and base says cream 40 g of icing sugar with 100g of butter . Surely 40g to dust with, is excessive...
Published 21 months ago by Macbeth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Celebrity Bake Book (Hardcover)
I tried out recipe for the lemon squares by Emma Forbes page 82. Ingredients list for toppping does not include flour, yet method says add lemon zest and juice and fold in flour . Have these recipes been tried out ? Also method says dust squares with 40g of icing sugar and base says cream 40 g of icing sugar with 100g of butter . Surely 40g to dust with, is excessive ? Linda Morris and Mary Berry have endorsed this book but have they tried out the recipes ? Ingredients for cakes are far too expensive to be making mistakes. Finished product was very sweet. A disappointing start ! Book could have included photos and contributor's reasons for selecting the recipe .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a Kindle Book, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
UkMoose (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Avoid on the Kindle.
The kindle version contains scanned images of each page of the book so things such as changing the Kindle Text size do not work. Even worse, the scans are contain compression artefacts making the text fuzzy. So the text is fuzzy and you can't zoom ;-(

I know its "In support" of a charity, but the team that published this should be ashamed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrity Bake Book, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celebrity Bake Book (Hardcover)
This is a really great bake book and also for a good cause. This book has many different recipes ranging from simple to complex, so no matter what your cooking ability is there are recipes for everyone. There are different chapters in the book which are Cakes, Biscuits, Chocolate, Tarts, Pies and Puddings and Gluten Free/Healthy Options. The celebrities range from Chefs, TV presenters, Actors and many more. The pictures in here are amazing and beautifully illustrated on each page so you can see what the recipes will turn out like, and I can't wait to start baking my way through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good cause and good baking ideas!, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although there are no photos of delicious baked items, this book stimulates the interest enough to encourage one to bake celebrities' favourites.
I made the chocolate and beetroot cake which was even nicer the day after baking.
Helps the Ben Kinsella Trust which fights knife crime. Go for it, extend your repertoire and and make a different celebrity's favourite bake each week!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet yummy recipes, 30 Sept. 2012
By 
S. beaufoy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celebrity Bake Book (Hardcover)
Have tried a couple of these already and they are fantastically simple. There's also gluten free recipes too. Jam packed with lots to try with the kids on a rainy day :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baking Heaven - So much choice - YUM!!!, 18 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Celebrity Bake Book (Hardcover)
A fabulous book with so many different types of recipes, it has already inspired me to cook (my own variant!) a ginger cheesecake and I am even tempted by one of the vegan recipes(unheard of!).
The mix of celebrities makes it even more fun - and it has the incredible Mary Berry to introduce it - so i trust it!
Definitely definitely worth getting - it will have you cooking,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad download, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have downloaded this book and it is not readable, all the ingredients are over the instructions. Please can you try again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY TO USE ON YOUR KINDLE, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointed in you Amazon - this doesnt work on a kindle - appears to be a lovely book - what I can make of it :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Illegible text, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was completely illegible on my kindle. I couldnt read the recipes as the text was jumbled up together, therefore recipes were useless. Total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting recipes, especially the gluten_free ones. I am now inspired to do more baking. This is worth a look. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celebrity Bake Book
Celebrity Bake Book by Hayley Okines (Hardcover - 6 Sept. 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews