Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2014
Having studied the Galatians for You book, I thought I'd give this one a try and loved it again! Really looking forward to the forthcoming titles in this series. Dr Keller expounds on the passages in Judges in manageable sections that provide excellent insight into the passage itself, how it fits into God's bigger plan of Jesus coming to earth and a clear picture of the nature and character of God. Also absolutely brilliant for personal application which is something I haven't always found some other reading plans obviously provide
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
God is good and man needs him desperately, Keller holds the Vince of scripture so faithfully. The tensions of sinful man and a just God, a loving God and a rebellious people. Jesus is the only answer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Timothy Keller both explains the passage in it's original context and at the same time applies it to our lives today. Judges is normally thought of as one of the dullest and meaningless books in the Old Testament but Keller dispels that idea especially in how it applies to followers of Jesus Christ in the 21st Century.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
This book is amazing. I was leading a bible study in which this was the first book we tackled, which we were all dreading, and this book helped us really enjoy it more than we ever expected to. It brings understanding to the context and the significance of certain things that are culturally obscure to us, as well as illuminating the relevance of each event. He wonderfully reveals a lot of God's timeless word in it and it is great for nurturing your personal relationship with God too, working as a good independent study not just in groups. The chapter questions allow you to reflect on what you have read thus far and encourages application too. If you want the book of Judges to become 3D and relevant, I would thoroughly recommend this commentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
This is good as far as it goes but Keller seems to take no account of what the Bible says elsewhere about some of the great men of faith. He overlooks the fact that Samson, though he was far from perfect is declared a great man of faith and a child of God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
I found this book incredibly helpful. Very readable, relevant and sound. I do not know of any better introduction to this often neglected book. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Very good service, thank you - and a great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Love the insight and breakdown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
God is good and man needs him desperately, Keller holds the Vince of scripture so faithfully. The tensions of sinful man and a just God, a loving God and a rebellious people. Jesus is the only answer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)