Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book !
This book takes a look at how the City works.

'So what' I hear you say, there are loads of patronising books that do that. This one , however , is different as it doesn't crawl to the industry or treat the business like rocket science. And its VERY well informed and a perfect blend of academic information, wry observation and downright sarcasm.

The...
Published on 2 Sept. 2012 by Bluesbreaker

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars leaves a lot to be desired.
I was expecting something more nuanced. Not to say that it is lacking in rigour. In fact it's full of interesting facts and background on the different players in different finance sectors. However, Buchanan makes really wide generalisations and drips enough condescension to take away from any of the insights he lays out. Besides his undisguised disgust for financiers,...
Published 1 month ago by Joy W


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book !, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
Bluesbreaker (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes a look at how the City works.

'So what' I hear you say, there are loads of patronising books that do that. This one , however , is different as it doesn't crawl to the industry or treat the business like rocket science. And its VERY well informed and a perfect blend of academic information, wry observation and downright sarcasm.

The book deals with the nuts and bolts of the daily activities of Investment Banks - brokers, clients, analysts,IPOs, mergers etc - and assumes the reader to be interested and intelligent.

I've been a retail trader for many years now , on the 'outside-looking-in' ,and I've been waiting for someone to spot the gap in the market for a book like this. If you trade then just get the book - you can use 'Look Inside' to get a taste. Even if you know it all it will raise knowing smiles as it confirms your suspicions. ( The narrative concerning Brokers is a hoot ).

It gives a wonderful account of the roles and motivations of all the players but avoids the 'War stories', 'When I was a lad' type of tired anecdotes and there are no 'City Boy' excesses either.

Finally, and importantly for finance books, its bang up-to-date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a tour de force, 23 May 2013
This review is from: The Game: How the World of Finance Really Works (New Edition) (Paperback)
Before I read this book - I now realise - I was benighted. Talk of the City left me confused: balance sheets bamboozled me; acronyms accosted me. With the most delicate of touches, this guy Alex Buchanan has demystified the jargon. It is as if he has opened the window in a fetid room and let in the sunlight. Anyone who wants a real, down-to-earth guide to every single job in the city - fund manager; stockbroker; corporate finance dude, you name it - need merely finger this tome, and emerge master of this gritty world of wheeler dealers. Buy it now, before they ban it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book for not-insighter, 3 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Game: How the World of Finance Really Works (New Edition) (Paperback)
It's a nice book for not-insighter of the financial industry, helping to understand the mechanism of the financial world. The author knows what he is talking about with a good part of humor. The book looks at what people actually do on a daily basis in the financial world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, Informative and Insightful!, 13 April 2014
This review is from: The Game: How the World of Finance Really Works (New Edition) (Paperback)
Three words:
- Insightful
- Informative
- Enjoyable

This book is a great starter if you're heading to work in the city or just want to learn about it.
It is clear that the author is very experienced in his domain and knows what he is writing about

Personally, it helped me a lot to start in the industry, as it gets fairly technical up to an advanced level (VWAP, dark pools...).
Moreover, overcoming typical myths and stereotypes it provides an overview of the City dynamics. It definitely gives you an idea on how to succeed and work your way up.

However, even though it is technical, the style in which the book is written makes it flow perfectly.
A lot of masterful comparisons that illustrate fairly complicated concepts in a sentence and regular insights into the daily City life with dialogues.

In a nutshell: If you don't want to get bored about the City with a technical book, then enjoy it with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 27 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Game: How the World of Finance Really Works (New Edition) (Paperback)
Having seen excerpts of the book online I was highly impressed. It is informative in a way no other book is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Buchanan a good writer., 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This writer deserves 5 stars for style content and knowledge of his subject.
He comes across as a keen observer and all round commmunicator.
loved the book and recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for anyone who works in the city or who wants to know more about the world of finance, 23 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Game: How the World of Finance Really Works (New Edition) (Paperback)
I cannot praise this informative book highly enough. Not only has it helped me to understand my friends' different roles better (before finance was another language to me), but it also gives a much needed objective perspective of the financial world.

It contains detailed, interesting facts, which are broken up by extremely comical anecdotes, and was a delight to read.

I strongly recommend this book if you want to find out more about the city (because of friends, family or general interest) but it has also been highly praised by friends who work in the city themselves.

Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great representation of working in the city- must read, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Game: How the World of Finance Really Works (New Edition) (Paperback)
A must read book for anyone aspiring to work in the city or even those who already do. This read gives an excellent representation of the city life from several different angles. Alex certainly has an attractive eloquence to his writing, which I am looking forward to reading more of in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars leaves a lot to be desired., 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was expecting something more nuanced. Not to say that it is lacking in rigour. In fact it's full of interesting facts and background on the different players in different finance sectors. However, Buchanan makes really wide generalisations and drips enough condescension to take away from any of the insights he lays out. Besides his undisguised disgust for financiers, his writing lacks the flow of an interesting narrative to pull everything together. There are barely any human stories besides short anecdotes and little quotes scattered here and there. Everything else is a long unfurling of practices and processes in different departments. It can be tedious. Best read when you have lots of energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very basic description of a day at work, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hoped for a behind the scenes look at how the system works but ended up reading far too many examples of mundane day to day activities and what people say to each other on the phone during a mundane trading conversation. I found the chap to be a little egotistical and shallow and not really going into the depths behind the financial system, but instead what he does in the office during the day. If you are about to start out as a trader and wouldn't know how to have a telephone conversation however, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Game: How the World of Finance Really Works (New Edition)
The Game: How the World of Finance Really Works (New Edition) by Alex Buchanan (Paperback - 16 May 2013)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews