Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential book on fellrunning, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Deep Reader - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: It's A Hill, Get Over It (Hardcover)
In addition to its charming title this book informs and entertains. It is surely a 'must have' for all athletes as it is the first comprehensive history of fellrunning, itself an eccentric enough sport but one that calls forth great character from its participants. 'It's a Hill, Get Over It' is beautifully produced with many fascinating historical and contemporary photographs, all kinds of tables and records, a highly readable narrative, and interviews with living protagonists. It will take its place among the classic running books and be used for reference for decades to come. Steve Chilton has done a great job. Born to Run: The Hidden Tribe, the Ultra-Runners, and the Greatest Race the World Has Never Seen Eat and Run: My Unlikely Journey to Ultramarathon Greatness Feet in the Clouds: A Tale of Fell-Running and Obsession
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, motivational and an insight into what it takes to be a great at this sport!, 21 April 2014
This review is from: It's A Hill, Get Over It (Hardcover)
Its when Steve Chilton starts to talk to and about the true greats of the sport that this book comes alive for me; Kenny and Pauline Stuart, Helene Diamantides, Rob Jebb and of course Joss Naylor and more..they all feature here. Steve interviews a lot of them at home, many in their native Lake District. As a cartographer and runner himself, Steve understands both the discipline needed to reach such heights in the sport, and the joy of running through the breathtaking landscapes that host the sport.

Yet this isn't just about the greats. For a female runner originally from the North who lives mostly in the South now this is a truly motivational read! I find myself on the Fell Runners Association website most days..planning my summer races for 2014..where to start?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book great Christmas pressy for any runner !!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Hill, Get Over It (Hardcover)
great book great Christmas pressy for any runner !!My hubby is going to love this i know go and enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired title, interesting and informative read, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I am an accomplished runner I am no expert when it comes to fell running, but this book kept me interested from beginning to end, with facts and figures, interviews with characters and champions and plenty of photos. There's something for everyone here. I know I will read this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent birthday prezzie (says 80 plus ex fell runner), 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Hill, Get Over It (Hardcover)
Purchased this book for my dad who used to be a fell runner he is really enjoying this book and reminiscing names and venues from the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Hill, Get Over It (Hardcover)
A brilliant and informative read about probably the most underrated sport, very well compiled and interesting, covers all the major races and athletes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for any fell runner, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It's A Hill, Get Over It (Hardcover)
After the iconic 'Studmarks' I wasn't sure what to expect. Although I think the contextual historic content about the birth of fell running is a waste of good space, the general feel of the the book is good. I'd have preferred more contemporary content about fell runners of the 90s and millennium onwards as the story telling of some of the pro's went on a bit much for me.

All in all a good read and addition to any fell runners library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It's A Hill, Get Over It
It's A Hill, Get Over It by Steve Chilton (Hardcover - 19 Sep 2013)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews