Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stand up sits down and delivers a grown up punch
If Dominic Frisby was as good a comedian as he is a writer and thinker, then he would filling arenas but I worry that a proportion of his audience will not like what he has to say. By his own admission, the author is no financial 'expert' - but let us not forget how many of the 'experts' foresaw the financial meltdown of 2007? Gordon Brown anyone, lionising the City of...
Published 13 months ago by d holland

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic & unrealistic view of life with less government
I bought the kindle version of this book as soon as I had finished Frisby's other title 'Bitcoin: The future of money', a thoroughly interesting and well researched appraisal of the emerging cryptocurrency.

Frisby's comfort with economics and money were evident in the Life After State. The book started strongly with convincing arguments about how the State's...
Published 20 days ago by Lord Buckles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarity at Last, 18 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Life After the State (Paperback)
We all know that the world is going to hell in a handbasket but we feel pretty powerless about it, not least because so much is wrong that we are at a loss to know what needs doing to put it right. The singular achievement of this book is to cut through all this confusion and bring the situation into sharp focus. Frisby explains how the printing of money by banks and governments is at the root of many of our problems because it allows them to surreptitiously steal the wealth of ordinary citizens. He astutely observes that without this they wouldn't be able to afford wars. The main aspects of state activity such as taxation, healthcare, social security and education all come under scrutiny and are shown to be unfair, wasteful and unsatisfactory. It's one thing to criticise, but Frisby also comes up with some solutions that may seem radical at first, but he manages to be persuasive for the most part. He's not advocating us forgoing all the things currently done by government, but rather having the useful things done by private enterprise and community, which he argues are far more effective, efficient and responsive. It might sound like Tory propaganda but he makes a very convincing case for anyone open-minded enough to put politics aside and hear him out. This is a well-researched and referenced work, and despite its radical thesis deserves to have a place alongside other serious books on economics and politics. Unlike many of them though, it is readable, entertaining and inspiring. I would even go as far as to say this is a book that could change the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very though-provoking, 16 May 2014
By 
A. GLEN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as an audiobook, read rather brilliantly by Dominic himself. It presents an extreme laissez-faire right-wing economic view very clearly and, although I did find myself questioning his logic on several occasions and he does, as he admits himself, take a few liberties with facts in order to make his points, it is provocative and informative. A good introduction to the basic principles of Austrian economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and timely book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After the State (Paperback)
A really interesting, easy to read and understand, book on the subjects that will be dear to the heart of every free-thinking individual. Dominic writes well, uses plenty of well-researched anecdotes, and delivers to every reader a much better understanding of our history and gives a valuable insight into the near future. The greatest tribute that I can give to Dominic and his book is that my darling wife, who usually falls asleep as soon as the subject of economics comes up, read his book from cover to cover in a single sitting and was most impressed by it. Thank you Dominic and I look forward to reading your next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first exposition of the antidote to runaway government, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... and how to end war, poverty and waste of taxpayer money.

Dominic Frisby presents a lucid and well written book that decomposes everything wrong with our current systems of democracy and why curtails our freedoms, and prevents our being a stronger society.

This book is not about the individual for selfish self-serving. The author has laid out ideas that the current political establishment, of all hues, is unwilling to acknowledge for what they are, all the right solutions.

Here is a blueprint for society that we can all understand and embrace.

Some of the negative reviews of this book left me wondering whether they had actually read the book at all, rather that just spout out canned objection that is heard and read everywhere in defence of the status quo.

Good job Mr. Frisby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After the State (Paperback)
everyone should be forced by the government to read this book :)
but seriously though a truly belief changing read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book will open your eyes like no other., 11 Mar 2014
By 
B. M. Wiener (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life After the State (Paperback)
The most important book I have read in a long time. I've just bought five extra copies, and plan to force it on all I meet, in the manner of a Jehovah's Witness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very thorough argument for libertarianism, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a hugely enjoyable book that every school child and student should have to read before completing their education. Once I started it I couldn't put it down.
However, I would have liked more finished detail on the links between natural law and justice for all human beings
All humans are only 'passing through' so how can the Earth or bits of it be privatized by individuals or communities or nations ? The freehold estate in land was an English 17thC invention and has caused as much harm to humans as the benefits declared of it by its beneficiaries. And all prevailing ideology can be demolished properly following this line of thinking.
But the book's demolition job on the inadequacies and incompetences and corruptions of the state as we are forced to pay for it that this book outlines so well almost makes up for that omission. A great big thought provoking read ! Thank you Mr Frisby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After the State (Paperback)
So many things that are wrong with our country are highlighted here by the state's intervention. Political parties beware - those comments you make about decentralisation might well be coming to haunt you! People take back control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a book that truly explains why our country is in such a mess, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After the State (Paperback)
A fascinating insight into how excessive government interference has resulted in Britain's demise since the start of the 20th century. A book that all politicians should read before calling for more government power. It is unlikely that Dominic's sensible suggestions will ever be introduced but what a wonderful country we might live in if they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well written, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After the State (Paperback)
this is a thought provoking book and I liked it as I agree with a lot of the sentiments the writer promotes, wish the politicians had to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life After the State
Life After the State by Dominic Frisby (Paperback - 7 Nov 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews