Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smegging good time for all with this book!
This is a terrific "behind the scenes" book for all of us Red Dwarf fans, especially the ones here in the US. Wonderfully well written, this book takes you into the stiff plastic world that is Kryten, and the touching, funny world that is Robert Llewellyn. Some highlights of the book are the "American Pilot" of Red Dwarf that never took off, see...
Published on 22 April 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars nice and interesting.
A nice easy read for anyone who wants to see behind the mask. Gives some really interesting detail in to a fab show.
Published 12 months ago by Nick Adamson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smegging good time for all with this book!, 22 April 1999
By A Customer
This is a terrific "behind the scenes" book for all of us Red Dwarf fans, especially the ones here in the US. Wonderfully well written, this book takes you into the stiff plastic world that is Kryten, and the touching, funny world that is Robert Llewellyn. Some highlights of the book are the "American Pilot" of Red Dwarf that never took off, see how different the American actors were from the British ones, feel the pain of having to get up early to become Kryten..and learn about the koala that "kacked" on Robert's shirt. There's just too much to say here, but it is all very interesting! One of my favorite books from one of my favorite actors!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Llewellyn tops the lot!, 25 April 1999
By A Customer
Robert Llewellyn is a pure genius. A new fan to Red Dwarf, I was immediately captured into reading about the behind the scenes look at the hillarious television show. Llewellyn writes incredibely well and his jokes hit straight to home with me. I found I couldn't put down the book as soon as a started reading it. Onya Rob!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you like this sort of thing, then this is the sort of thing you'll like., 14 Jun 2013
By 
Brian Johnson (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... but that's in no way meant as disparaging. It simply means that this is a good example of the 'behind-the-scenes' genre. If you like Red Dwarf, this is a no-brainer purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of Red Dwarf by someone who nearly remembers nearly all of it, 12 Mar 2014
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man in the Rubber Mask (Paperback)
Robert Llewellyn has played Kryten since Series 3, so for the full story of Red Dwarf, you'll have to hold out for the Danny John-Jules Magnum Opus (because let's face it, Craig Charles won't remember much of it), but while we wait, there is much to enjoy in this updated memoir. For one thing, Llewellyn is the only member of the UK cast to take part in the ill fated US pilot, and this gives him a unique insight into the workings of the Rob Grant/Doug Naylor partnership.

Being the wishy-washy liberal that he is, Llewellyn forever apologises for things that aren't his fault, gives due warning when a luvvy moment is coming up (I saw the back of Keira Knightley's neck. Twice.) but thankfully knows his audience well enough to know when to talk about certain things, and when to stop.

There are generous nods to Scrapheap Challenge, Carpool, How Do They Do It?, i Camcorder (I remember that), and many other side projects, also sideswipes at his long suffering family, but this is firmly a Red Dwarf book. If I were to criticise at all, I would say that the extra 43.17% extra smeg spends too long on Series X and not enough time on previous series, but that's hardly a problem. It would have been easy to go back and listen to the DVD commentaries and bodge together a book off the back off them, but Bobby has a huge amount of respect for his fans, and any fan of Kryten will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man in the Rubber Mask, 22 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was an excellent read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting behind the scenes info, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book interesting & amusing. I like Robert Llewelyn's style of writing & it was a gr8 insight into what he went through to be 'Kryton' - my fav Red Dwarf character :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It - Great holiday read, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just read this book on holiday and loved it. Every spare moment I had I was intrigued wanting to know more. Red Dwarf is one of my favourite tv series & it was great finding out more about the filming of some of my favourite episodes. Definitely worth a read for Red Dwarf fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Martin 09/05/14 Basingstoke, 9 May 2014
Was going to wait till my summer hols to read this book but glad I didn't !!! need more from boys from the dwarf
Cool book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars amusing and fun, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man in the Rubber Mask (Paperback)
Well written autobiographical account of Robert llewellyns time as kryten in red dwarf.

You have to be a fan of the series to appreciate the book, if not, don't buy it. But it is very amusing and has numerous interesting insights into the making of red dwarf

I really like the authors easy, matter of fact, writing style, he comes across as a very affable and modest chap, this is born out by his video blogs on you tube.

The book covers the making of all the series including the red dwarf X. But it does feel a bit short for the avid fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Funny Book, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From start to finish I found this to be entertaining and interesting. If your a Red Dwarf fan then this will be money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man in the Rubber Mask
Man in the Rubber Mask by Robert Llewellyn (Paperback - 14 May 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews