Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Fry
Loved the previous Mrs Fry and loving this one too... Quite a fun stocking filler present for any Christmas reader.
Published on 14 Dec. 2012 by Josefa Lourido-Martinez

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have stuck to the diary format?
I bought this book because I had previously purchased Mrs Fry's Diary and found it to be clever and good fun, so I had high hopes for this. To be honest I think that the author has made a mistake by not sticking with the diary format. Mrs Fry is famous for her Tweets and she excels at that format with her quick and witty posts, this is why the diary was a good read...
Published 2 months ago by Skyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Should have stuck to the diary format?, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because I had previously purchased Mrs Fry's Diary and found it to be clever and good fun, so I had high hopes for this. To be honest I think that the author has made a mistake by not sticking with the diary format. Mrs Fry is famous for her Tweets and she excels at that format with her quick and witty posts, this is why the diary was a good read because she played to her strengths by giving us bite-sized morsels of fun. Unfortunately here she has moved away from that format and the book suffers as a result.
A lot of the humour you can see coming a mile off and after a while that starts to get annoying and destroys any sense of fun. Don't get me wrong every now and then she does come up with a good gag or observation which makes you laugh out loud, but these are few and far between. The book makes me think of those successful sitcoms which get turned into feature films and fall flat because they are designed to work over 30 minutes and not over hours. The same applies here, there seems to be a lot of padding in the book to get it to the right number of pages and there appears to be a desperation to try to fit in jokes - even if they are not very funny......or original.
In short, if you get it for a bargain then it is worth a read as it can be entertaining. But don't expect too much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Fry, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Have an Almost Perfect Marriage (Hardcover)
Loved the previous Mrs Fry and loving this one too... Quite a fun stocking filler present for any Christmas reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun reading, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book as a wee present to cheer mydelf up. And by heck cheer me up it did. I am not going to give to much away but every married person should be given a copy of this on their wedding night. This will enable them to see what is ahead and how to handle it when it arises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars if you like Stephen Fry's humour, 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a Stephen Fry fan, this is definitely worthy or a read. However, if you're not a Fry fan you may find the factual creation of an Unbound writing works to be 'tongue in cheek' whilst filled with intermittent humour that often gets lost in its own interpretation and translation. A comic genre specifically geared at the over 30s. As mentioned, if you like Stephen Fry's humour, it is well worth the purchase, it is certainly fresh, new and creative. This is an unbiased review and I recommend the purchase, try the book for yourself, for it's attraction is subject only to the reader. An enjoyable book, yet for me, not a book for one sitting, but many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love Steven Fry but book isn't as personable as he ..., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Steven Fry but book isn't as personable as he is. I expected sharp wit and charm but book is a bit hum drum and predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly amusing and different., 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rather a weird story of a fictional marriage. Something along the lines of Edna Everage or Mrs Merton. Mildly amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read this it's a laugh, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's one of the silliest quickies I've read. It was funny throughout and had me giggling in the middle of the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly funny, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was an absolute joy to read, I could not put this book down and read it in a day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real pick-me-up and a bright ray of sunshine., 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book had me giggling to myself and laughing out loud. I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very ammusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Have an Almost Perfect Marriage
How to Have an Almost Perfect Marriage by Mrs. Stephen Fry (Hardcover - 25 Oct. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews