Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R.E.S.P.E.C.T. to Uwe
As a Brentford fan, the chapters charting his time as Bees manager were really what I purchased this for. There are some interesting insights on his time so far at Griffin Park but nothing too shocking. This is understandable given the fact he is still employed there. It should however give non-Bees fans a good idea of what the club is trying to achieve. The end of last...
Published 17 months ago by Luis Adriano

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Honest account of his career
Interesting read from his Brentford days especially when he describes losing Alexander and the penalty misses that cost promotion !
Published 3 months ago by Neil.britten


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R.E.S.P.E.C.T. to Uwe, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Brentford fan, the chapters charting his time as Bees manager were really what I purchased this for. There are some interesting insights on his time so far at Griffin Park but nothing too shocking. This is understandable given the fact he is still employed there. It should however give non-Bees fans a good idea of what the club is trying to achieve. The end of last season, especially 'that penalty', will also show why some fans resign themselves to disappointment and the phrase used whenever things go wrong of, "it's Brentford Innit?" The personal tragedy the Roslers went through just before the Play Off final does help put such football disappointments into perspective though.

'Knocking Down Walls' should appeal to football fans of all clubs, not just Manchester City, where Rosler is still much loved, or Brentford. Uwe has faced many challenges in his life and comes across as an intelligent man with good values and a clear devotion to his family. He deserves to do well as a manager over here and hopefully he will be able to finish off the project he is currently involved in and take Brentford to the Championship, ridding the fans of that horrible, self-deprecating phrase and allowing them to really 'Beelieve' that it is now a case of New Brentford.

The product summary gives a good overall indication of what to expect with this autobiography which is written in an easy to read, informal tone. By the end of the book, all readers should be left with a great deal of respect for Uwe Rosler, not just for what he has achieved in the game but also for the personal battles he has won.

Unlike the autobiography for a certain different manager based in West London, there shouldn't be anyone questioning the content of this book either. Respect to Uwe Rosler. Keep knocking those walls down and please take Brentford to the Championship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly open and honest, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some footballers write, or more accurately have their autobiography written for them when they really have very little interesting or original to say but Uwe Rosler has lived a life jam packed with incident and emotion.

Growing up in East Germany and falling foul of the Stasi, making his way in the Bundeslega, becoming a folk hero at Manchester City, his brave and successful fight against cancer, learning the managerial ropes in Norway and his current exploits at Brentford culminating in the penalty heartbreak with almost the last kick of last season against Doncaster.

What shines through is his passion, intelligence, honesty and originality of thought. Uwe is certainly one of the new breed of manager and the book provides a fascinating and tightly written account of a life that encompasses so much more than football and still has so much to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Legend, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great book. I had a season ticket at City during Uwe`s time and wow he was good.It had made me want to read this book and his story really touched me. I had known about his cancer but not how serious it was. Also when he was manager of stavanger I wrote to him to ask him to write to my sister who had just been diagnosed with non hodgkins lymphoma and he did an ended his letter with "once city always city" this and the fact he had bothered to reply helped inspire her recovery. Like uwe my sister had not been told how ill she really was and this as well as the type of cancer he had came as a shock when I read the book.The letter to my sister showed like the book does what a LEGEND this man is and that some hero's are not just in football for the money.I wish him every success in his management career and for how happy he made me feel every time he scored a goal and I chanted his name to the go west tune.Thanks Uwe and to anyone city fan or not read this book it's fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book from a fantastic guy, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
C. P. Whiting "G Moonwalker" (Ipswich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Uwe Rosler Knocking Down Walls PB (Paperback)
A great read for any football fan, not just those who support City, or other clubs that Uwe has played for or managed for that matter. Brentford and Wigan fans in particular will also find this an interesting read. His story is a very touching and interesting one, told very honestly. This book is so good, it could easily be adapted into a movie (had he played for United, it may well of been!). The book follows Uwe's life and career from growing up in East Germany's communist regime, right up to his promotion/play off disappointment with Brentford. As we all know, Uwe has since moved onto Wigan and once again had the disappointment of missing out on another promotion, this time to the Premier League. We also saw his Wigan side meet and beat City at the Etihad in the FA Cup. As a City fan myself, I was of course disappointed with the result that day, but there was some consolation in seeing a fairy tale result for him, especially after all he has been through in the game and more so, in life it's self. I was genuinely pleased for him. He is one of the game's true fighters and an absolute gentleman. This is just the beginning of a long and fantastic career in football management, I have little doubt that the Premier League awaits Uwe Rosler's Wigan. I hope one day he will return to City as our Manager and I'm sure that day will eventually come.... This is just his story so far and I have no doubt he will have plenty more to tell, so I look forward to reading part 2 years down the line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understanding our new manager!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Wigan Athletic fan I thought I would read this to get an idea of who our new manager is and I wasn't disappointed. I suspect Uwe has had a far more interesting and difficult path than most of today's football managers and I think this has shaped him to become a great manager of the future. He is sure to be around for a long time and successful with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uwe Rosler, 15 Nov. 2013
What a legend. One of the most honest books written about a footballer. This man was loved by fans who can tell when a players heart is in the game. No frills just a cracking read. Hope he is a success whatever he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For All Sports Fans, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uwe Rosler Knocking Down Walls PB (Paperback)
Absolutely fantastic read. Not like a lot of other sports books, with a boring start about their prerty usual upbringing. Instead we are given lots of very interesting tales from his time in East Germany. Written in a very casual and easy to read format, where he doesnt shy away from any issues. Enthralling from beginning to end, leaving you with agreat respect for a man who went through so much.
Wel Done Uwe, Come on Wigan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A born fighter, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is not just about football but life under a communist regime-pros and cons. A man who is driven in pursuit of his career in football. This was to aid him in his later fight against cancer. This man was born to succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Story, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Wigan Athletic follower I was curious about Uwe's early life - brilliant story. Explains his approach to the game (and life in general) and maybe why Germany has an excellent national team!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an icon, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't usually go for autobiographies, especially those of young people, which I fear are ghost written marketing tools, with a shallow catalogue of achievements. However, this man has experienced & endured so much in his short life; he has captured the respect & admiration of so many across all walks of life, not just the footballing fraternity, & his utter determination to excel, & the personal benefit it has secured him through a very sudden & difficult illness, becomes very clear as the story unfolds. The utter cruelty of the lottery of life is never more clearly portrayed & I would recommend anybody looking for inspiration & needing to come to terms with coping with life's difficulties, to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uwe Rosler Knocking Down Walls PB
Uwe Rosler Knocking Down Walls PB by David Clayton (Paperback - 2 May 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews