Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting look into Bellamy
Brilliant book, it gives everyone a better idea of who Craig Bellamy is under all of the snarls and controversies. Recommend to all football fans especially Liverpool and Cardiff fans.
Published on 10 Jun. 2013 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confirms what we already know
I have supported Craig Bellamy throughout his career, especially through his two stints as a Liverpool player, due to being a Liverpool fan. I have always liked him as a player, and have met him a few times, and always thought he presented himself well and was am extremely nice guy.
However, this book confirms everything people suspected. He has been childish in...
Published on 29 Jun. 2013 by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting look into Bellamy, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, it gives everyone a better idea of who Craig Bellamy is under all of the snarls and controversies. Recommend to all football fans especially Liverpool and Cardiff fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craig Bellamy: GoodFella (Hardcover)
This a good and honest biography with, thankfully no repetition to pad it out.
Written in a tight format. He's very kind to Souness but I still can't stand Chop Souey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never really liked Bellamy, he's a controversial figure and he doesn't hold back in this book. But it's an exceptional read. Never read a more honest and open autobiography. Best footballers book I've ever read. It's a man coming to terms with being a man and not a daft footballer living in a bubble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent summary of a footballer's life on and off the pitch, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. C. M. Wood (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Craig Bellamy: GoodFella (Hardcover)
Sport will always have its heroes; and it will also always have its villains. Often the dividing-line between the two is only about public perception, about one individual who is idolised and another who is vilified. In the sport of football there have always been men the crowd loves to hate ... an Eric Cantona, a David Batty, a Joey Barton; men who are usually lauded by the supporters of the club they play for yet disparaged by everyone else's supporters. Possibly Craig Bellamy falls into the same category. But is it really fair to judge a man purely by what you have read or heard about him ? No, it is clearly not right to do that. Because the man has a right of reply. He has the right to give his own side of the story. He has the right to prove that the public's perception was wrong.

Craig Bellamy has had more clubs than most and that is not including the number eight iron he once used to attract John Arne Riise's attention! Of the eight different clubs in the English Premier League or Football League that he has played for, only at Norwich City, Newcastle United and West Ham United did his stay last two seasons or more. However, having helped his hometown club rise into the top division of the English league system for the first time in fifty-one years, it is unthinkable that he will not have one final swan song in the Premier League. Achieving promotion with Cardiff City was one of his proudest moments : "I always wanted to be a hero here more than anywhere else".

At Coventry City, Blackburn Rovers and Liverpool (twice) Bellamy moved on after just twelve months. If outsiders thought this was because he was a disruptive influence and had fallen out with a club's hierarchy, that is far from the truth. Each time he moved on ... and this includes the two loan-spells with Glasgow Celtic and Cardiff City ... there were good reasons for him doing so, reasons that were nothing to do with his footballing ability because most of the managers that he played for recognised that he had a remarkable talent. "I have always been restless" partly explains his wanderlust but it isn't the whole story. High-profile sportsman and women are "wired differently" and it was quite early in his career that his talent meant that he had moved up into that category.

Yet it wasn't a smooth start. Leaving Cardiff and moving to Norwich on the other side of the island at the tender age of fifteen must have been incredibly difficult emotionally, akin to being sent away to boarding-school possibly with all the homesickness that comes with it. He acknowledges that "the first year of my apprenticeship at Norwich was the hardest year of my life" but that during it he learned to be "emotionally detached". Away from the familiar sights and sounds of his upbringing he had to grow up quickly, so quickly that he became a father before he had even made his first-team debut for Norwich City. The player acknowledges that he was educated well in the game at Norwich and that they shaped his blossoming professional career.

During his one year at Coventry, the astute and tactically-aware Gordon Strachan encouraged the twenty-one-year old to "run past players, not with them" because the manager recognised that Bellamy's biggest asset at that age was his pace. Relegation from the top division forced the player to look for a more suitable home for his talents and he found that at Newcastle where he was hugely impressed by Bobby Robson's philosophy about how the game should be played : "All our training was about how we were going to win, not how we were going to avoid defeat". He knows how fortunate he was to play under Robson, partly because his boss made him feel "invincible".

Through all his moves, there is one constant and one constant fear ... a bad injury and the concern that it will recur or that a different injury will happen. The position he played in and particularly the searing pace that he had in his early-to-mid twenties meant that he was always going to suffer more than most in a contact sport : "Injury is every footballer's secret struggle and the fight is made harder because it is conducted away from the limelight", Even when on loan at Cardiff from Manchester City in the twilight of his playing-career, the injuries did not relent. But he coped, as he always had with injury, by "locking himself into his own world" but always with the focus that however tough the rehabilitation was, he would find a way through it. "People simply don't understand how an injury can take over a player's life and dominate everything" is a statement that reflects how hard it can be to recover time and time again.

Having followed Liverpool FC's fortunes as a boy growing up, he knew that the prospect of playing for them would be "hard to resist if they maintained their interest", which they did in 2006. But despite his love for the club, one year under the Rafa Benitez regime was enough. He could not "take another year of continual uncertainty about whether I would be playing or not". Returning to Liverpool with Kenny Dalglish now in charge gave him a much happier experience. It was too good an opportunity to turn down, partly because he felt he had unfinished business to attend to : "One way or another, I knew I'd be back".

Away from football, two aspects of this complex character's life stand out ... his absolute devotion to his children and the aftermath of his visit to the African country of Sierra Leone during the close-season of 2007. Even though "The poverty I saw made a huge impact on me", he also felt "inspired and energised by what I saw". His determination to follow this through on his return to Britain led to the setting up in his name of a Foundation Academy for disadvantaged children, a project which is now flourishing and which will keep him occupied long after his playing days are over.

Maybe Craig Bellamy's acerbic attitude made him a few enemies on the pitch or even away from it. Even Steven Gerrard in writing a foreword to this excellent book admits that by reputation alone he was expecting "a bit of a hothead" when this new arrival turned up at Liverpool in the summer of 2006. It was a judgement that was quickly dispelled by the new recruit's quick integration into the group but particularly by how hard he worked in the gym. But within his own world this proud Welshman definitely made more friends than enemies, none more so than the much-missed Gary Speed, whose early death at the age of forty-two had a massive impact on his fellow countryman, an impact that left him needing and unashamedly accepting professional help to deal with this loss, help so effective that his "people skills have improved beyond all recognition" even though Gary's untimely passing also forced him to take a long hard look at himself.

I finish as I started with the heroes and villains analogy. Indubitably, experienced and respected journalist Oliver Holt has got into the heart and soul of Craig Douglas Bellamy and proved that far from being a villain this particular professional footballer is in fact very much a goodfella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT READ WARTS AND ALL, 21 May 2014
This review is from: Craig Bellamy: GoodFella (Hardcover)
This was one of the best football autobiographies I have read for a good while. Craig Bellamy is like marmite you either love him or hate him.This book is an honest assessment of his life in all its different aspects. The obvious emphasis is on his football career, but you cannot read an autobiography about Craig Bellamy without wanting to find out the other controversial aspects of his life. Bellamy writes with honesty and candour about the major issues in his life, and how football dominated it. What was a change from the usual football biographies is that Craig disliked people and says it, he also had a lot of respect for people and tells you.
Bellamy writes well and does not end up giving you a blow by blow account of every game that he played in. His respect and love for Gary Speed comes out very strongly, and obviously he was a motivator behind Craig Bellamy's later footballing life.
A very good and worthwhile read strongly recommended for football lovers everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this insight into the life of Craig. A very honest book describing a very troubled and tormented man. He talks with such passion about his career and the people he has crossed paths with and the impact the death of Gary Speed had on him and how it turned his own life around. As a Cardiff City supporter I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Truthful and Well Written Book, 2 July 2013
By 
F. A. Fulcher (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craig Bellamy: GoodFella (Hardcover)
This book reveals all it can about what can happen to a footballer on and off the pitch. As Craig said when the book was published, I have told the truth, because there is no point in writing a book without doing so. It is an absolutely fantastic read, very absorbing and is a must for every football supporter - it does not matter who you support. It also highlights his involvement in teaching the boys of Sierra Leone about football. He also ensures that they receive a good education and I really hope that his charity goes from Strength to strength. The book has been ghost written by the Mirror's Chief Football Writer, Oliver Holt and is extremely well written, which again ensures that the reader is kept interested from the first word to the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Great read... Very open & honest., 16 July 2013
This review is from: Craig Bellamy: GoodFella (Hardcover)
Great Book, Great read... Very open & honest. I read quite a lot of autobiographies and this one is up there with the top ones. It was also delivered very quickly by amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to read this book to get an understanding of what makes Craig Bellamy tick and I certainly got that. A great read and a MUST for any football fan, whether you love him or hate him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Open, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read. As a Liverpool fan I obviously supported Craig through his two periods at our club. Before he joined us he came across as a aggressive big mouth who was,always looking for trouble. Read this book and you will realise that he is a rare breed these days in football. A footballer who actually cares about his peers, his job, the club he plays for and the game. He has his faults but haven't we all? A good read for a football fan and as I say honest and open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Craig Bellamy: GoodFella
Craig Bellamy: GoodFella by Oliver Holt (Hardcover - 3 Jun. 2013)
£18.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews