Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in a Day!
Touching, opinionated and insightful.
A great read and a real rags to riches tale.
I would imagine anybody with mining in the family will appreciate the true merits of Willie's tale.
I wonder how many would-be footballers could get signed by a top flight English team playing in second hand boots that were three sizes too small? Wow.
Published 9 months ago by Henbury

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vain and egotistical guy...
Hard to really take a shine to the author. he has a high opinion of himself professionally. I recall him as an above average player - but also a pretty weak one at times who seemed to not like a battle. This is at odds with the profile he tries to nurture. He's obsessed by George Best throughout and, believe me, he wasn't in George's league. It falls into being an 'ok'...
Published 2 months ago by El Hombre


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in a Day!, 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: Willie Morgan - On the Wing (Hardcover)
Touching, opinionated and insightful.
A great read and a real rags to riches tale.
I would imagine anybody with mining in the family will appreciate the true merits of Willie's tale.
I wonder how many would-be footballers could get signed by a top flight English team playing in second hand boots that were three sizes too small? Wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie Morgan - On the Wing (Hardcover)
An honest and thoughtful insight into the life of a true soccer legend. I found myself transported on a wave of nostalgia to the bygone days of my youth before mega wages and the diving culture so damaged football. Beautifully written and crafted, a must read for anyone with a passion for the game regardless of which team they support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into a great player, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie Morgan - On the Wing (Hardcover)
I am not a fan of autobiographies but this was an exception to that rule. On the wing was a great insight into the world of football of my youth. An enjoyable read which let me into the world of Willie Morgan.
Great read, great player, great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a humble man's story, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a tale of an interesting life told warts and all. It gives an insight into the wonderful world of football as well as an honest look at the drker side. The story of a lad from humble beginnings who rose to the top. Well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vain and egotistical guy..., 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to really take a shine to the author. he has a high opinion of himself professionally. I recall him as an above average player - but also a pretty weak one at times who seemed to not like a battle. This is at odds with the profile he tries to nurture. He's obsessed by George Best throughout and, believe me, he wasn't in George's league. It falls into being an 'ok' read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars will buy from again and again, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willie Morgan - On the Wing (Hardcover)
many thanks .one of the best books to read,i would use again to buy from first class service,spot on,on time,everthing was what they said would be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read, it was interesting and told the story of a rise from a very poor background to playing football at the highest level.Well worth a read even for non Manchester United fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When you've watched a great player and then get to read the background to his career, you start to relate your memories to his recollections. A fascinating read and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great footballer who entertained the croud, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is entertaining and brings back fond memories of watching United in the sixties and seventies when football was more about entertaining the fans than making money. I read the book whilst on holiday and it was fun to read about Willie's life and experiences and the characters around in this era. An enjoyable read for any football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morgan the mighty, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great story about a great footballer
And the great life he had.
A guy who never forgot his roots
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Willie Morgan - On the Wing
Willie Morgan - On the Wing by Willie Morgan (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2013)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews