Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, follow your dreams!
Inspirational! A great book! The massive highs and the painful lows, the view around every corner, the next checkpoint, the finish line, the support and supporters, team mates and family, the company of other runners etc.. Andy has said it all, each moment a fantastic memorie, this book certainly made be smile, feel the pain, laugh and dream a bit more, Hey! nothing...
Published on 25 July 2012 by SMcD

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not the best either
As an occasional ultra runner, this book didn't really do it for me. I was expecting a book a bit like Dean Karnazes' Ultra Marathon Man (an excellent read, by the way) with lots of tips, as well as the author's experiences. It got a bit monotonous, a bit like:
Chapter 3: XXXX race in 2009
Chapter 4: XXXX race in 2010
Chapter 5: XXXX race in 2011
So a...
Published 17 months ago by C. Norgate


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, follow your dreams!, 25 July 2012
Inspirational! A great book! The massive highs and the painful lows, the view around every corner, the next checkpoint, the finish line, the support and supporters, team mates and family, the company of other runners etc.. Andy has said it all, each moment a fantastic memorie, this book certainly made be smile, feel the pain, laugh and dream a bit more, Hey! nothing will happen unless we dream it 1st and my dreams are starting to scare me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not the best either, 19 Mar 2013
By 
C. Norgate (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic, Madness & Ultramarathon Running (Paperback)
As an occasional ultra runner, this book didn't really do it for me. I was expecting a book a bit like Dean Karnazes' Ultra Marathon Man (an excellent read, by the way) with lots of tips, as well as the author's experiences. It got a bit monotonous, a bit like:
Chapter 3: XXXX race in 2009
Chapter 4: XXXX race in 2010
Chapter 5: XXXX race in 2011
So a large part of the book is basically just the author's experience of how he ran the same race in different years, different conditions, etc.. Not really much about lessons he learnt in the process.
So it was an ok read, but not particularly riveting. Bit like a race journal, really, nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instantly engaged, 26 July 2012
Brilliant stuff! You know when you flick open a book for a browse? Well, I did that and read the introduction. Then the foreword and before I knew it I was on page 7 thinking I should really be getting on with some work! For a non-ultrarunner but keen mountain-biker I was instantly engaged - thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good overall read, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some great race reports. You can pick it up at any point in the book. I found it easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic, Madness & Ultramarathon Running (Paperback)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Been out of running for quite a few years, just waiting for appointment about heal pain but this has inspired me to carry on nd to go further than before many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just couldn't put this book down. Exceeds all expectations of what one body can endure and live to tell the tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good first hand account of what it's all about ! As an ultra runner myself I could hardly put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfying Read, 19 Feb 2013
Got to respect the man and his achievements, but the book lacks characterisation. There is a loose collection of notes barely strung together with no apparent theme. For a great read on ultra sports, I recommend Marshall Ulrichs book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lapped it up., 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic, Madness & Ultramarathon Running (Paperback)
Love books on runnind and endurence and buy most of them so I may be biased, but tales of long nights on the fells and mountains pull me in everytime. Stirring stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic, Madness & Ultramarathon Running
Magic, Madness & Ultramarathon Running by Andy Mouncey (Paperback - 1 Aug 2012)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews