Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM, 29 Jun 2014
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
With many schools and local authorities using the new CEM Test - designed to be harder to prep for and therefore fairer - many publishers are falling over themselves to provide practice books. Some, like CGP, are coming up with excellent revision aids, while Bond have rush released their new CEM books with mixed results. This is one of another series which attempts to provide practice tests in Numberical Reasoning, Non-Verbal Reasoning, Comprehension and Cloze Tests. This particular book is the first of two books which looks at Cloze Tests; passages where some words are wholly or partially removed and the candidate has to complete the passage so that it makes sense and is grammatically correct. The book contains three types of tests - Word Bank, Multiple Choice and Partial Word.

Obviously, these types of tests look at vocabulary, spelling rules and understanding, which are skills only built up over time. However, in order that your child has some idea of the tests they may face, this is a very helpful book. The answers are included at the back of the book and there is also a unique access code included. If you go to the website address and enter your results (anonymously) you can obtain very helpful feedback about how your child's results compare in comparison to their peers who have taken the test. This is unique to other workbooks and, although not a perfect indicator, it does give you an idea of how they are doing. These books are not age graded, so they are probably best used in the year children will be actually sitting the exam (10-11). The website itself is also packed with information about the 11+ generally, so is worth looking at even you do not wish to compare your child's results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally a test book, but with errors, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
We finally recieved this book, and whilst it's great to be able to purchase actual tests, there a number of errors in the book. I suspect that the words used in the first test are slightly harder than usual, which is a bit confidence shaking, but the rest seen about right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book for new Bucks 11+ exams, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
The book was delivered before the date it was promised. We found this book very useful in preparing new 11+ Bucks CEM style. It contains very good chapters which helps children to learn new vocabulary. Its is very well structured with answers. We found thiis book very very useful & contains different types of cloze passages eg passages with word bank, passages with words to predict and passage with words having missing letters. The books were released very close to the exam. We did not buy other books from the publisher however, seeing the content in this book on hind sight I felt I should have purchased other books from this publisher.

I recommend this book for parents who are helping their children to prepare for the 11+ Bucks CEM exams.

If your child is taking the exam buy this book ahead to avoid delays or disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good document, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
It seems a bit difficult than the other test papers, but the format is close to the CEM test, worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help with 11plus, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
An easy to read book for both parents and children. I would recommend it as I found it very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vocabulary aid, 5 Jun 2014
By 
J. A. Manisier "J.Manisier" (Croydon Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
It made learning vocabulary more interesting because the children liked the puzzles at the end of each page which were not too difficult for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, interesting historical topics that got my son ..., 16 July 2014
By 
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
Great book, interesting historical topics that got my son to actually do something 'Englishy' for a change. However, I fear if he takes after his mother no amount of prep will get him past the post first as I ahve absolutely no idea how to find the 16 digit code in the book to be able to compare results. Have 3 of these books and no envelope with code as promised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
Great practise book for 11+ preparation. Learned lots of new vocabulary and story. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good practice, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
provides excellent practice for cloze type questions. Some very challenging questions in here so make sure your child has other types of practice to go with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars recommended book for 11+ bucks, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) (Paperback)
its a great book for 11+. Tests are good.It tests the knowledge of the child and according to the exam style.
Amazon delivery was on time. Worked well for my child.
Would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post)
11+ Essentials Cloze Tests Book 1 for CEM (First Past the Post) by Educational Experts (Paperback - 30 Jun 2013)
5.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews