Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walks for softies with a pub to visit
This is one of a series of Top 10 Lake District walks. I have now been on 5 of the walks, they have all been fairly easy walks incorporating a visit to a well known Lakeland pub with local beers. If your idea of a Lakeland walk is the Fairfield Horseshoe then this is, perhaps, not the book for you. However if you like low level walks of 3/5 miles then it is. The thing I...
Published 21 months ago by StuartPB

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Expensive for a rather slim volume. Other walks missing.
Published 8 months ago by Steve Hamblett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walks for softies with a pub to visit, 21 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
This is one of a series of Top 10 Lake District walks. I have now been on 5 of the walks, they have all been fairly easy walks incorporating a visit to a well known Lakeland pub with local beers. If your idea of a Lakeland walk is the Fairfield Horseshoe then this is, perhaps, not the book for you. However if you like low level walks of 3/5 miles then it is. The thing I have learnt on these walks is that the views from the valleys looking up at the mountains can be every bit as good as looking down from the top. On all the walks I have been on the walk instructions by the author have been spot on. This series of books are in a small handy size that you can easily carry or stuff in your pocket. The maps are clear, though it is sensible to have an OS map with you as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you need to find a good walk, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
Well produced and informative - an excellent guide to anybody looking for easy walks in the Lake District and all ther better because it includes useful references to good pubs - an essential place to finish any lakeland walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, packed with information and photos, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
S. A. Gordon (Enfield, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
Purchased this one plus two others in the series, Walks with History and Woodland Walks, just before my wife and I went on an eleven day tour of the Lake District.
Excellent little books, packed with nice bits of information about the walks with great pub recommendations.
Of the three books purchased, we used this book for three walks, Troutbeck, Grasmere and Loweswater. The three walks were very good, around 5 miles in length. We were able to do all the walks in the morning and ending up at the pubs for lunch.
Special mentions for the pubs Mortal Man at Troutbeck and Kirkstile Inn at Loweswater. Wonderful lunches, ales and beer gardens.
As for the walks, the directions were very good. The walk at Grasmere had quite a climb but gave views of 4 lakes, Windermere, Rydal Water, Grasmere plus Conniston Water in the distance. However, a special mention for our favourite walk at Loweswater which went around Crummock Water. My wife and I have visited the Lake District on numerous occasions but had never visited this particular lake. This is one walk that should not be missed - what a wonderful lake, so still and beautiful.
The only slight problem we had was finding the parking area for the Loweswater walk but we parked at the pub and started and finished there.
We look forward to going back to finish off the rest of the walks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars friend delighted, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
says she is gonna try out the walks ...but more importantly gonna try out the pubs ...might just join her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... present for a family member and he was very happy with it, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
It was a xmas present for a family member and he was very happy with it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
Great little book. Handy for keeping in the pocket whilst walking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
Expensive for a rather slim volume. Other walks missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
By 
M. Vant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
Well, had to have the pub one as a break from others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
Great product and swift delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks) (Paperback)
will enjoy the walks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pub Walks: Walks to Cumbria's Best Pubs (Lake District Top 10 Walks)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews