Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sparkling and scurrilous portrayal
This is a biography of John Nathan-Turner, producer of Doctor Who from 1979 until 1989. With detailed research and interviews with many of those who knew him, this book builds up a picture of a gregarious man who epitomised the "life of the party" but found the aftermath harder to deal with. As with all good biographies, the character that emerges is complex and...
Published on 1 Jun. 2013 by Sussex by the Sea

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gary Downie came off a lot worse, as I dare say so did Script Editor ...
This book is OK, though a lot of the material seemed to be rehashed to me, except for the titillation and 'scandal' of course. JNT was promiscuous, if he came onto a guy and said guy wasn't interested, he wouldn't press the issue, partner Gary Downie was said to be another kettle of fish however, and the author describes his experiences. Equally there was just as much to...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. J


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sparkling and scurrilous portrayal, 1 Jun. 2013
By 
Sussex by the Sea (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
This is a biography of John Nathan-Turner, producer of Doctor Who from 1979 until 1989. With detailed research and interviews with many of those who knew him, this book builds up a picture of a gregarious man who epitomised the "life of the party" but found the aftermath harder to deal with. As with all good biographies, the character that emerges is complex and contradictory but also was clearly deeply loved by many.

It it must be emphasised that this is an adult book, not a Doctor Who book suitable for children, and one that does not hesitate from turning over stones that undoubtedly some may think were better left as they were. It pulls no punches and confronts issues with the health and lifestyle of the subject in a reasoned manner, but one clearly not afraid of creating a scandal or two itself. The world of Doctor Who fandom is laid bare in a way not previously seen and it doesn't benefit from the experience.

Occasionally the style and constant quotation from interviewees does grate a little, and at one point I found myself wishing that the writer had adopted an authorial voice separate from the need to recount his own experiences. But these considerations are minor, and there's no denying that this book is both a riveting page-turner and masterful at bringing to life a character who would have loved the staring role that this book affords him. The final chapters are very moving, and this biography should deservedly find an audience beyond those interested in the world of theatre, TV and fandom it describes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'It's the BBC that got small' as Norma might say, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
Pleased that this was not merely a mix of scandal and Doctor Who regurgitated information. A lot of the Doctor Who stuff was told from a new slant and I couldn't help thinking JNT was his own enemy though not his WORST enemy. Also felt he was maligned and a fair part of criticism of his Who tenure can be heavily shared with the script editors as can the good stuff,
I was interested in his life before and after Doctor Who and it was sad he ended up as he did. I was interested to hear what went on at the BBC - breaking up TV Centre has its pluses I think, too cosy by half - but not shocked particularly.
A well put together biography which will probably be judged by it's OTT title for good or ill in much the same way it's subject was judged by the public image he projected - for good or ill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well researched and revealing, 7 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
There's not much I can say about this fascinating biography that hasn't already been said in lots of other reviews. It's a book for DOCTOR WHO fans, but it's not about DOCTOR WHO.

Whether you loved, hated or were indifferent to John Nathan Turner's long tenure as producer of the programme - and few people fell into the last category - there will be something here to interest you. Inevitably, newspapers seized on the "sex scandal" aspects of the book, but I put these in inverted commas as there really wasn't any scandal. Having said that, people who knew nothing about JNT may raise an eyebrow at some things in the book. Those who had heard rumours will find the clarification and debunking of many stories both revealing and highly readable.

The book doesn't seek either to lionise or demonise JNT, but presents a fair, well balanced and thoroughly researched account of what, in the end, was a tragic life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stay tuned!, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. S. Hopper "SteevTH" (The UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
Could this be one of the best television biographies ever written? I think possibly so. John Nathan-Turner was the producer of Dr Who throughout the turbulent 1980s, as the programme hit the high notes of Peter Davison's first year or so and then slowly limped to a death painful for all concerned. For years JN-T has shouldered the blame, but now at last another version of the truth can be told.

Ah, but if you're not a fan, what then? Is there anything here for you? Well, yes. All it takes to find this fascinating is a love of people, their flaws, their flair and an interest in television and particularly the massive cluster of badly-run amateur nonsense that was the BBC in the 1980s.

All the faces are there- Johnathon Powell (widely quoted, doing himself no favours) Michael Grade (as obnoxious as you'd expect), Peter Cregeen, the fans- Ian Levine, Gary Leigh, all of them praising or slating the man as the situation demands. There are chapters of knuckle-biting horror, as we follow a vulnerable tv producer on the slide to alcoholism and death, utterly shocking sexual stories that only shock us utterly because we live in a different age now and such things are frowned upon, all coming together into a sprawling document of JN-T's life.

It's well-written, gossipy at times, but maintains a decent, fair, distance that never paints the man as the monster others have claimed. Well, not really. The book eventually settles for showing us a picture of one of the most incredible, fascinating, complicated, vulnerable, predatory, monstrous, sweetest, most fabulous, loyal, demanding characters in television history. John Nathan-Turner's life did not have a happy ending- there's no valediction at the end, and he didn't live to see Dr Who back on the tv and loved. All the story lacks is a decent ending, as the one it has is so massively unfair to all concerned.

If JN-T had not existed, someone would have had to invent him- his character, as depicted here, was so larger than life, this book will have you roaring with laughter and swearing at the page, slapping your forehead and screaming "you IDIOT!" , while wincing at his evident self-destruction- all the while thanking him for giving us all that he did. And, of course, being grateful your paths never crossed in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about 'Doctor Who' I've ever read/, 10 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
JN-T remains a divisive person in Doctor Who fandom and this book provides a gripping insight into why. You can almost smell the Dunhills and vodka wafting off the page with the rise and fall of the larger than life producer. The book is not without its faults as Mason has occasional lapses of subjectivity and the chronology jumps all over the place, but the comments that Russell T Davies makes about how JN-T was treated and how the show was allowed to decline by the BBC is cover the cover price alone.
I could barely put the book down, and it's a must for anyone not just interested in "classic" Doctor Who but how British TV was made in the last century. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any Classic Who fan, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
A wonderful read - for someone on the periphery of organised fandom in the 80s this summoned up such nostalgia. JNT's life & work are handled sensitively, brutally honestly and with great affection. Treat yourself, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Not So Surprising Times of JNT, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
Firstly, a brilliant book. I suppose, from everything fans learnt and heard about JNT during his tenure, not much came as a complete surprise. But what did strike a cord was probably the more human side of the man we loved to hate; looking after sick parents etc.

Yes, there were a lot of revelations and incidents that might shock or just turn the stomach of fans, but it does become much clearer of how much an influence Gary Downie was. In retrospect, Downie comes off as a rather malign influence at that.

If you've not read it yet I would recommend this as one of the essential reads of behind the scenes 80's WHO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A poignant read, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
I have to say I found this book unputdownable and read the whole thing in one sitting. I dont often read biographies, but the rise and fall of such a larger than life person was a riveting read that has in stages had me, laughing (at the absurd things he got up to), pained (at the awful judgement he showed at times), saddened (at the way he seems to have alientated people he cared for), appalled (at the terrible way the BBC treated him), and crying (at the sad and premature way his life ended)in turn.

A book well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining stuff about a complicated figure, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
Great book about a different era of TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gary Downie came off a lot worse, as I dare say so did Script Editor ..., 9 April 2015
This review is from: The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner (Paperback)
This book is OK, though a lot of the material seemed to be rehashed to me, except for the titillation and 'scandal' of course. JNT was promiscuous, if he came onto a guy and said guy wasn't interested, he wouldn't press the issue, partner Gary Downie was said to be another kettle of fish however, and the author describes his experiences. Equally there was just as much to say how supportive JNT could be as a friend, and I suppose the book is fairly balanced, if you were wanting an assassination of JNT then this isn't it, he had enough of that from the world of fandom particularly from the mid to late 1980's. Gary Downie came off a lot worse, as I dare say so did Script Editor Eric Saward, and a few names from the world of fandom at the time. JNT was a complex man, thought of badly by some and not so by others, I think the book let's you make up your mind, so for that I commend it. I think JNT is given a lot more stick than he deserves, not everything was brilliant in his era, but there are some gems right the way through his tenure as producer 1980-1989.

At times I felt the writer puts in swear words for the hell of it, I am not offended by it, but not all that impressed either, I mean come on the Sex Pistols were almost thirty years ago, it doesn't sound rebellious to use swear words these days, and it seems like someone trying to hard to sound edgy, when this kind of book hardly calls for it.

As I say I feel sure that much of the book was rehashed from interviews previously available, that isn't to say that there is no exclusive material because there is, I think perhaps the book is fleshed out a bit to justify the high price tag, and padded with things like pointless swear words on the part of the author, also there are a few instances were information is repeated, which irritated me a bit. There are some nice photographs, some of which are rare and unseen. For all its fault this book is a page turner and I would say essential reading for anyone who is a fan of the JNT era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner
The Life and Scandalous Times of John Nathan-Turner by Richard Marson (Paperback - 31 May 2013)
Used & New from: £13.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews