Customer Reviews


108 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Package, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
Stephen Green (Uttoxeter, Staffs. UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
My purchase of this book results from being impressed with hearing the author speak and signing up for two of his courses. A weekend course (in my experience) covers about one book , so to get the most out of the course, I bought the book. It doesn't always work because there are some great speakers who write very dull books but I am pleased to report that I am so glad I bought the book.
I understand that the price of the book may be off-putting, as it is more expensive than most property books. May I suggest that these books are more commercial and that they are sold to people who are "interested" rather than "committed". The author is really addressing a niche audience of people who want to grow their capital through property trading. This is very rewarding but also requires focus and strategy.
The author describes how you need to dominate your ground, by carefully selecting your chosen patch which will be around 4000 houses. This is where you concentrate your efforts so that you understand supply and demand and why one street is more popular than another which seems to the outside eye to be identical. The way you do this is via leaflets because in the way he prescribes, firstly you deliver and then you recruit "seasoned" deliverers whilst you are out. Having built up and sold a leaflet distribution company myself, I can vouch that he knows what he is talking about and that he has walked the talk.
The book is well written and easy to follow but remember that there is a difference between simple and easy. He will tell you how, but will you do it? If you do, then the book will deliver results. Again , I know from seeing what others have achieved by following similar methods that this works. The ultimate goal for the author is building a network of local partnerships so that he can feed deals out to a large audience of property buyers.
The author is good at picking techniques used in for example sales and marketing and demonstrating how little "5%" distinctions make a difference to the whole result which readers of the compound effect will understand.
The Compound Effect Combo - 6 CDS & BOOK
You may cringe at the idea of filling in a "self assessment" form at the end of an appointment but it is things like that which will have you standing out from the crowd.
Another reviewer suggested that this book would work for people starting out in property without financial muscle of their own. This is spot on and again I have seen this done with people rising up from minus zero to becoming huge deal-makers.
You might expect property to be an aggressive, ruthless, secretive world but the truth is many people are open and willing to share. For somebody new to property I suggest partnering up with somebody that possesses something you don't have, be it money, experience, credit-worthiness etc. as this will bring you faster results.
This book gave me practical strategy refinements that should transform my results to the extent that I am prepared to follow the advice. It has also motivated me and motivation is key since the results are not always predictable and inevitable.
As has been pointed out elsewhere, the book does have a sprinkling of typos but given the number to be found in my previous reviews, I won't start throwing stones in the greenhouse. The tone of the book and the demeanor of the author is more James Blunt (and yes at times it is blunt) than Andy McNab, so whilst fortune favours the brave, the timid can get a piece of the action too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A valuable book, 3 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
I've met Mark a few times over the last year at property meetings, so please note that I am not a close friend who is helping him to promote. The book has been written as I would have expected by him: friendly, personable & down-to-earth with nothing complicated or pretentious. What also comes over is his integrity and desire to help. Patently he was a trained salesman, but he doesnt try too hard & he is not one for hype or unrealistic expectations.

As a sales trainer myself, I can say unequivocally that his explanations, questions to ask and networking principles are excellent. In fact he even uses one of my favourite questions that I thought I had exclusive use of; "on a scale of 10, how happy are you with xxx? What would take you from that to 10 out of 10? This along with his infantry work in getting mailshots delivered is where he excels & this content isnt covered by others who work the property networking/presenting circuit. In fact its why I got the book - his B2C training is more recent than mine & a few months ago he recommended a different room layout when discussing a deal in someone's home, & how to position yourself. I would therefore have liked more information on this area & to make the book even more helpful perhaps some scenarios/ body language to be aware of.

There are a few typo errors but I am a bit pedantic about this, and some of the sections seem a bit disjointed and perhaps needing more of a "signposting" at the beginning of each chapter.

Nevertheless, its a valuable book and one that I would recommend to anyone new to the industry or anyone who wants to improve at lead generation.

Ian Muir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent practical advice, 19 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
Just finished this book and was really impressed by it. Mark I'anson gives detailed practical tips as to how to market for, and convert, property leads. The book is layed out in an easy to follow step-by-step journey. A lot of property coaches give fluffy, high level overviews with very little content that you can go away and actually 'do'. This book is different and gives a detailed action plan to follow. Like some of the other reviewers I'm going to go back and go through the book again and use it to develop a specific plan of action.

Would definitely recommend this book to someone looking to get started in property.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attack! Attack! Attack!, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
OK enough of the military references. Dominate Your Ground is not as ferocious as it may sound. It is a very readable book written in a no nonsense style. I have heard Mark speak live and he is very entertaining as well as delivering quality content. His book is the same. Want to move your BTL property interest to the next level? Buy the book! Roger. Over and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for someone starting with low funds, 12 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
Dominate Your Ground is easy and enjoyable to read with valuable information.

Aside from the title speaking for itself, this book also shows you how you can generate money out of property without needing huge amounts of cash. I recommend this book to anyone who thinks they can't get into property with limited funds. It has really opened my eyes to a world of opportunity in property. It is also a great book for sales techniques.

I admire Mark's values when dealing with motivated sellers and it's great to know that you can make a lot of money by helping motivated sellers move on with their lives. If you want to make money off of property but also add tremendous value to people's lives, read this book!

I've decided to spring into action by using a few of the strategies mentioned by Mark I'Anson. We'll see how I get on!

Thank you Mark for sharing your knowledge and experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong on the marketing, lead generation and sales., 9 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. C. James "Honest Music Follower" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
Dominate your ground is written in a very down to earth friendly manner. You can tell that Mark knows his stuff and his approach is very good. If you have a sales background, or a keen interest in sales - this book will resonate.

I won't write a long, laborious review - but more a succinct overview of my thoughts.

Pros:
- Marketing, sales & lead generation info is great
- Common sense approach to selecting your target area
- Helpful appendix w/ vendor questions and agreements
- Helpful task section at end of each chapter
- Helpful scripts
- A strong focus on taking action

Neutral
- Quite a short book
- Up-selling to courses & deal provision

Cons
- Typos and more typos!!
- Negotiation section falls down at the last hurdle (i.e. how to actually deliver figures to the vendor).
- Book was pricey @ £17.80 inc delivery

Having read an excellent property book on trading before this one (by another well know name on the speaking circuit - Paul Ribbons) maybe it is a little unfair to compare, but i was expecting a lot more with regards to the actual trading side of things along with the marketing. In essence the trading aspect in this book is actually how to become a deal provider/sourcer. This does not take away from the core of this book - and the on-the-ground marketing information is second to none.

For a first book, it's a good start and I hope to read more of Mark's work in the future should he choose to write more.

Mark, please please do invest in a proof-reader for the next book though. The typos take away from an otherwise professional book.

I give this 3.5 stars - but as there is not halves i'll round up to 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book for anyone looking to source and convert your own BMV leads, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. Jc Coleman "Josey Wales" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
I first came across Mark I'Anson on a BMV facebook group where he commented. Someone endorsed him on there and then I liked his facebook page, which showed very down to earth pictures of someone clearly doing well from property. Then I searched for some of his videos on Youtube and after watching many other webinars I found Mark’s to be a new angle. The others have excellent advice on the overall strategy but Mark’s goes to the next level – a more in depth “how to guide.”

So I bought the book and finished reading it in 2 days. It’s incredible simple to read and I am not technically clued up. Mark’s writing style enables you to understand every step of the way without needing to reread pages very often.

As Mark says at the start of the book he is a “do-er”. If you like to get things done then this book is for you. It gives marketing tips that really get you started down to the specifics, including the style of leaflet and helpful tips about the content and where to market them.

My partner and I plan on having a go at this and from what I can gather, this book is well worth the £15. For nothing else, it is an interesting easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately one for the property newb and those thinking about getting into property., 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
I have seen this book mentioned on several discussion groups and thought I would give it a try. I'm glad I did. I came home late from work the other night and checked my e-mails to find one telling me how for an upfront fee of £4,999 I could learn how to source property deals and make thousands a month selling these deals on. As a property "newbie" I get few e-mails like this. Then I checked the post and this book had come, I started reading and couldn't put it down. Easy to follow, clear and concise and written in a very matter of fact manner that makes you think, "yes that's so obvious when you think about it". An absolute mine of priceless information, with other ideas thrown in on how to develop further your property journey. All this for considerably less than the "bargain £4,999 deal " I was offered in the marketing e-mail! I would thoroughly recommend this book for anyone starting out in property or even thinking about starting out in property.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great practical know-how, 3 July 2013
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
I found the book really useful as it gets right into the mechanics & practicalities of buying & trading properties. As the book suggests it explains the importance of choosing an exact area to work in order for you to get very familiar with that neighbourhood so that you can begin to know exactly how much those properties are worth & building a "power team" to best service that district.
He then gives some great tips on negotiating deals either for yourself or to pass on. The expert advice can only come from someone who has been there & done it & for his experience, Mark is one of the most respected property professionals in the UK today & his book explains the essentials that you need to know to make trading properties in your chosen area a success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No brainer!!!! Make the small investment!!!! Purchase the book!!!!, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dominate Your Ground (Paperback)
‘Dominate your ground’ was very good book in my opinion it covers all the processes step by step to get you up and running legally and ethically. I had previously done a generic property course, in which sourcing was covered as a potential property income stream. However, the course never went deep enough to get you up and running and left me feeling like I needed more guidance on the technicalities of sourcing specifically i.e. selecting a town, buying an OS Map and targeting a certain number/type of houses plus many more technicalities. Since reading the book I now feel ready and confident to get the ball rolling applying Mark’s step by step process.

The book is easy to read, and uses simple language. I finished the book within 7 days, easily do-able in less depending on how busy you are. There are a few minor errors in the text, but nothing to scream and shout about. The amount of value this book offers easily compensates for any errors within the text. The format of the book is designed to prompt readers into action, with a step by step process and also the various low/no cost tasks at the end of chapters. Examples of some of the tasks are to buy an OS Map, design a leaflet or join up to Facebook property group etc.

The book in my mind offers excellent value for money, and will act as a good reference point should anyone ever become stuck in their property journey. I have already recommended it to a few of my friends, so if you’re stuck on the fence about whether you should purchase this book. It’s a small investment in yourself that could potentially reap unlimited amounts/benefits should you take action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dominate Your Ground
Dominate Your Ground by Mark I'Anson (Paperback - 2013)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews