Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent combination of genealogy and crime detection
In the advent of so many excellent genealogy sites on the web, genealogy has become an absorbing pass time for thousands of people. If you are one of those people then you should definitely read this book and if you aren't, you should still read it because it will intrigue from beginning to end. Genealogy is seldom used as a subject matter for a book and Steve Robinson...
Published on 23 Jan. 2012 by Jaypee

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull book with a daft plot
Contains spoilers:
I'm a big fan of historical novels, murder mysteries and time-hopping narratives, and this series has a great premise which combines all three, because the protagonist is a genealogist researching the past.
But apart from that, nothing about this book worked for me: it was hard to care about any of the characters, including the dull hero, and...
Published 14 months ago by Bookwoman


‹ Previous | 155 56 5786 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, couldn't put it down. I really recommend it. Looking forward to reading the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this first book about JT and looking forward to many more. Story moved along really well without losing you when jumping between timelines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Using his ongoing theme of genealogy running as a thread through the book, I didn't find this story as gripping as the Last Queen Of England. It tended to plod along and relied too heavily on the stereotypical straw chewing Cornish community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great easy reading page turner, 20 April 2014
By 
J. Jarvis (Wirral England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. There is a good character in the genealogist and the story is a nice change on the usual murder mystery. Parts were a little far fetched but a great book for a holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Genealogy the hard way, 20 April 2014
It held my interest and was a genuine thriller but...
I had some difficulty imagining a girl writing up her diary whilst the ship she was on was being wrecked in a storm. Especially with a quill pen and an inkwell !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could not put this book down-I am looking forward to reading the rest of the trilogy-I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the blood, 19 April 2014
Excellent read. Couldn't put it down. It's a new direction for me but fascinating. Want to read aother book by Steve n Robinson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In the Blood, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite a good book but a bit confusing in places, but when you get in to it relatively easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody good book, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed it I just couldn't put it down,the genealogy and the personal aspect made it more readable as did the criminal lnvestigation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enough to make me want to read to the end but not enough to make me want to buy another in the series.

Too many cliches and grand coincidences coupled with underdeveloped characterisation made it feel too contrived and manufactured. It was a nice idea though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 155 56 5786 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In the Blood: A Genealogical Crime Mystery
In the Blood: A Genealogical Crime Mystery by Steve Robinson (Paperback - 30 Oct. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews