Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
The story is fascinating but theres quite a bit of padding.
I would still recommend it as a good read.
Published 19 months ago by dizzi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story
Its an interesting story but can get a bit heavy on the detail. Something to look out for on the beach
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 bath Toys Lost at Sea (Paperback)
The story is fascinating but theres quite a bit of padding.
I would still recommend it as a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating. Wordy, but fascinating, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 bath Toys Lost at Sea (Paperback)
Sometimes, the most innocent and innocuous of things can have a very large story to tell.

One day in the 1990s, the seas ravaged a container ship. Several containers were lost overboard, one of which contained 28,000 bath toys destined for bathrooms of the United States. Those toys - beavers, turtles, frogs and ducks - caught the imagination of the world's press. But something strange happened: in garnering press attention, those 28,000 toys became 28,000 yellow rubber ducks; innocent symbols of childhood bobbing along on the surface of the ocean blue on the greatest adventures they would ever have.

Moby Duck is the true story of what happened on that adventure, from the plastics factories of Hong Kong, along the shipping routes of the Pacific and on to the coasts of Alaska, New England and the Northwest Passage, via Hawaii, California and Greenland. But Moby Duck is more than just a travelogue, for in the adventure of those innocent bath toys is a much greater story, one that delves deep into ocean currents, plastics pollution, oceanic gyres, beachcombing, clean-up operations, politics and blame scapegoating. It's the lesser-told story of what we are doing to our planet and its wildlife, its economic processes and trends, and how we are all responsible, but none of us are to blame. These innocuous items have a story to tell that will open your eyes.

As for the book itself, it is an enjoyable read. An English teacher before his voyages, the author approaches the science and politics of the incidents from the point of view of a humanities scholar, as opposed to a scientist, thereby taking off into flights of fancy and wonder, or literary comparison, at times when mechanical jargon could have otherwise overtaken. This provides a unique perspective from straight fact, but does make it overly wordy at times. As such it does take some time to get going. But these are minor quibbles given the effort the author has gone to to reveal a world that would previously have been forgotten. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A salutory read, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 bath Toys Lost at Sea (Paperback)
A most interesting text, enjoyable, fascinating and alarming all at the same time. A true story that highlights the need for us to be pollution aware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 bath Toys Lost at Sea (Paperback)
Its an interesting story but can get a bit heavy on the detail. Something to look out for on the beach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
By 
S. Scott (Aberavon beach, south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 bath Toys Lost at Sea (Paperback)
An excellent read - itis not just about the ducks lost at sea. Fascinating information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars book, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 bath Toys Lost at Sea (Paperback)
my fault but I thought it was a child's book. I should have looked closer. I gave it to my son
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 bath Toys Lost at Sea
Moby-Duck: The True Story of 28,800 bath Toys Lost at Sea by Donovan Hohn (Paperback - 1 Sep 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews