Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For everyone on the rockin scene
Very interesting read, especially if you are on the rockin' scene! Some great pictures old and new. I recommend it.
Published 17 months ago by margaret stutely

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teddy boys
some good photographs of the early teds but, i think the book dwells too much on the modern or neo Teddy boys. More could have been said about the early Teddy boys and their culture and the ways that they were a much misunderstood phenomenen of their time. Alli n all though a good book for those interested in fifties culture
Published 18 months ago by Dennis Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 24 April 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Harris (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Boys (Paperback)
Got this for my husband who enjoyed reading it and it brought back memories of our youth. Its easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For everyone on the rockin scene, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Boys (Paperback)
Very interesting read, especially if you are on the rockin' scene! Some great pictures old and new. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Ferris, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Boys (Paperback)
Lots of facts unknown to myself and pure historical value to anyone wanting to understand the psyche behind the Teds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book with attention to detail, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Boys (Paperback)
Born in the 1960's I was aware of the Teds. We had a Teddy Boy shop in High Wycombe called Goddards that sold all the gear and as a young Punk (!!!) used to go in and admire the brothel creepers and drapes (but could never afford such luxuries) and walk out having purchased fluorescent socks or a bootlace tie.
When I started secondary school there was a clear divide of Teds and Punks and all the 5th years wore leather (not suede) brothel creepers. One older kid wrote "teds rule punk" on my English book! They used to call us "Spunk" but we still admired the Teddy Boy style even though we were loyal to our Punk music.
All our icons drew influences from Teds and this is evident in pics of Johnny Rotten, Sid Vicious, Joe Strummer, Paul Simonon etc from the time.
I haven't seen many Teds around for a long time but I hear there's a revival - "good" I say! Let's hope they do it properly and not in a caricature Showaddywaddy style.
This book has helped me settle a 20 year debate with my wife (and she wins) that I have never seen a picture of a 1950's Ted wearing brothel creepers. But there is a pic from 1959 which a Ted appears to wear them.The attention to detail in this book is great but it would definitely have been even better with more and bigger photos.
Well done to the authors - a book about Teds written by Teds at last!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want know look here, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Boys (Paperback)
A great little book, only gripe, not enough pictures, something like the The Teds book from 30 years ago could be used as a template.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teddy boys, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Boys (Paperback)
some good photographs of the early teds but, i think the book dwells too much on the modern or neo Teddy boys. More could have been said about the early Teddy boys and their culture and the ways that they were a much misunderstood phenomenen of their time. Alli n all though a good book for those interested in fifties culture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teddy Boys (Paperback)
Just perfect i wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teddy Boys
Teddy Boys by Julian Lord (Paperback - 1 Dec 2012)
£5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews