Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
This is an incredible story of an incredible man. I still find it hard to believe. The most highly decorated German in the war and quite possibly the most successful pilot ever. Rudel makes no apologies for what he did and the just struggle, as he saw it, against the soviets. I find that refreshing. He believed in what he was doing, was a man of conviction and remained so...
Published 23 months ago by Green fields

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating look at a German pilots view of WW2
I enjoyed this book since it gives a personal insight into what it was like to be a Stuka pilot during the disastrous days when Hitler decided it was a good idea to invade Russia. This book suffers a little from translation with some passages a little stilted. In addition some sentence construction needs improving. However this does not spoil the book as a whole. The...
Published 9 months ago by Biglong


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuka Pilot (Kindle Edition)
A good book...in his own words of a NAZI stuka pilot!. From what you read he doesnt seem like a Nazi ...BUT HE WAS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuka Pilot (Kindle Edition)
Obviously written with best intentions, but not a lot of detail in lots of the tales. Just seems to be flew plane and dropped bombs or shot tanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't identify, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Kelpie (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuka Pilot (Kindle Edition)
I know the guy is German and this was probably written in German and translated to English so it's difficult to know where to lay the blame. The writing is awful with some very strange use of English. The details of what happened during the war are a bit sketchy too considering who he was, very repetitive. I couldn't identify with him at all, he obviously saw the was from the German viewpoint but he seemed totally oblivious of any of the real background and what Germany was doing. All he did was blame the Russians and complained about having to fight on his homeland against these monsters invading. What did he think he had been doing in the previous years? I didn't like him, I thought he came across as arrogant and there were parts which I honestly did not believe were true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough detail, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuka Pilot (Kindle Edition)
Having read this book, it tended to centre how the author was moved around the the various Russian fronts, with not enough details of the sorties, whilst appreciate after more than 1200 sorties it must be difficult to recall most of them, but just to say they took off from "A" bombed "B" and landed at "C" where they stayed until being moved to "D", also more information could have been written regarding the Stuka, The development, the upgrades, the overall performance, as anyone who has read books on WW2 aircraft knows that JU87s were one of the easiest of the Luftwaffe planes to bring down, was a bit disappointed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE STUKA ACE, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuka Pilot (Paperback)
YOU ALREADY HAVE MY VIEWS. THIS IS A DISASTER! RUDEL WAS UNIQUE, BUT NOTHING COMES ACROSS IN THIS SAD BOOK. IT IS SO OBVIOUSLY DESIGNED TO EARN CASH FROM HIS REPUTATION, BUT WE LEARN NOTHING ABOUT HIM AS A PERSON - OTHER SOURCES TELL OF HIM AS A NAZI FANATIC - NOR ABOUT HIS TACTICS ON THE EASTERN FRONT OR ABOUT THE STUKA IN ACTION..
VERY DISAPPOINTING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arrogant nazi, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stuka Pilot (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read of a world war 2 Stuka ace doing what he thought he was best for his country, but right at the end you you finally discover he was an arrogant nazi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab43bf30)

This product

Stuka Pilot
Stuka Pilot by Hans Ulrich Rudel (Paperback - 4 May 2012)
10.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews