Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary explanations from psychology
This book argues that the best way to understand communism, is to understand the psychological make up of many of its followers. As long ago as the 1800s, psychologists identified a type of person they called a 'mattoid'. This refers to an individual with various fascinating behaviour traits. They are egotistical. They disdain meaningful employment and prefer to sponge...
Published 18 months ago by M. McManus

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars can you now write a similar book about rightists and centrist?
if i'd read his bio first, I wouldn't have read his book, pretty dodgy poltics himself by all accounts, that said I learned alot from the book and there are alot of snippets which give an insight into the flawed characters of many on the left. I think the fatal flaw in the book is that makes leftists out to be right nasty bunch and that simply is not the case, there are...
Published 12 months ago by Brendan Moohan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary explanations from psychology, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
M. McManus - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book argues that the best way to understand communism, is to understand the psychological make up of many of its followers. As long ago as the 1800s, psychologists identified a type of person they called a 'mattoid'. This refers to an individual with various fascinating behaviour traits. They are egotistical. They disdain meaningful employment and prefer to sponge off others. They are often sexually licentious, and despise the conventional sexuality encouraged by religion. What is unique about the mattoid is the political action they take based on their proclivities.

Psychologists noted that mattoids are frustrated by the rightful condemnation of their personality by society, so will be drawn to political movements that aim to completely dismantle the society which they see as unfairly oppressing their tendencies. Given that communism promises to completely change society and public morality, people who have 'mattoid' tendencies will be disproportionately found in the ranks of far-left movements that seek to do this. Indeed, in parts of the world where communists did take power, churches and other organisations that condemned mattoid type behaviour were often viciously persecuted and targeted. Furthermore, these parts of the world often saw bizarre personality cults spring up to feed the egos of mattoid leaders, and the establishment of parasitic mattoid ruling bureaucracies that sponged off the labour of the toiling masses in salt mines and collectivised farms. All of this is easily explicable once we view these countries through the lense of mattoid behaviour theory.

The book then looks at the profiles of several far-left figures in history. The letters of Karl Marx reveal he had no interest in meaningful employment, preferring instead to parasite off his wife and other family members. This is completely in line with mattoid behaviour. His ghoulish, gloating letters celebrating the death of elderly family members who had left him an inheritance are also examined in depth as further evidence of this tendency. Other figures in communist history are analysed, all of whom conclusively show signs of mattoid personality traits. This includes various French Revolution and Enlightenment figures. For example, Jean-Jacques Rousseau showed clear signs of egomania, and wrote that the only thing stopping him from committing suicide was he did not wish to deprive the world of his genius. He also once mentioned that he felt God would be so impressed with his work that God might let him into heaven on the basis of its brilliance.

The author notes that, ironically, the fact mattoids are drawn to far-left groups often condemns most far-left groups to failure. Such an unusually high concentration of egotistical, parasitic control freaks in one organisation will inevitably lead to personality clashes and defections. This explains the slap-stick comedy levels of splinter groups on the far-left, who are formed after one mattoid loses patience and sets up his own group; only to then find other mattoids are drawn into this new group, and the cycle begins all over again.

This book is easy to read for someone with no background in psychology. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth Hurts Doesn't It?, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Psychotic Left (Paperback)
The detail and analysis within this book is just absolutely fantastic! Critical, detailed and informative, I highly recommend that everyone, regardless of political association or orientation, purchases this book and reads it very carefully and with a relaxed, open mind. I learned a great deal and I will recommend it to everyone I know - Good Job, Dr Bolton! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
K. BOYLE "kbo_wakeup" (Croydon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Psychotic Left (Paperback)
Psychological profiling of the monsters of the left is a revelation. Devotion to mother and contempt for father is a trademark of a long line of criminal mass-murderers whose 'love of the common people' translated, in practice, into mass slaughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit that if I had researched the author before buying this book I wouldn't have bought it. His wikipedia entry detailing associations with borderline satanist and white supremacist groups would have entirely put me off.

I'm glad I didn't though as the book was a well researched and mainly balanced look at a range of important left wing revolutionary figures. The mainly balanced rather than balanced is because the introduction and the odd comment in the main text made clear this was written from a very right wing perspective. I took a star off this review for that.

I thought this book was well worth reading and would recommend it as as an informative and interesting view on some very interesting historical figures, albeit written by someone who in my view appears from his wikipedia entry to be coming from another corner of the same deranged and hateful place as the subjects of this book.

The author is clearly intelligent and his research balanced and thorough. I am considering buying more books from the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars can you now write a similar book about rightists and centrist?, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if i'd read his bio first, I wouldn't have read his book, pretty dodgy poltics himself by all accounts, that said I learned alot from the book and there are alot of snippets which give an insight into the flawed characters of many on the left. I think the fatal flaw in the book is that makes leftists out to be right nasty bunch and that simply is not the case, there are good and bad in any political movement and often the thing that drives people to leadership is a narcisitic personality left right or centre. still it was an entertaing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The New Rights Attack On Modern Liberalism & Left Through Half Truths & Concoction., 19 Oct. 2014
By 
Nobel (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
Although this is a very entertaining book and well researched through the gossip of Tabloid style slander, it is written in the style of a loaded gun; out of context half truths and the subjects and people it discusses in a vacuum to what's happening in the surrounding world and in the context of the subject, discipline they are dealing with/being dealt with.
You'll find quirks and eccentricities within many political trends and groups and people involved making and doing many subversive things, however this has little to do. with the holistic picture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Psychotic Left
The Psychotic Left by Kerry Bolton (Paperback - 29 Jan. 2013)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews