Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty knits make great presents.
It's tough being a knitter who wants to share, when the shops have such great chunky hand-made-looking jumpers on sale for less than it costs to make at home. But you can still wow your friends and family if you get creative. I'm always looking for ideas for mad wool-based projects and this book is stuffed with them.
The patterns are enchanting - from the Giant...
Published 14 months ago by S. Lancaster

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed.
The animals do not look very good. They are suitable for a lucky- dip or similar, but not to sell as fundraisers. If I had not to pay more postage I would have sent it back. Very disappointed.
Published 8 months ago by Sandie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty knits make great presents., 23 Oct 2013
By 
S. Lancaster (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
It's tough being a knitter who wants to share, when the shops have such great chunky hand-made-looking jumpers on sale for less than it costs to make at home. But you can still wow your friends and family if you get creative. I'm always looking for ideas for mad wool-based projects and this book is stuffed with them.
The patterns are enchanting - from the Giant Anteater to the irresistible Meercat family the animals are uncanny tiny likenesses with a wooly twist. Ideal for crafty presents and if you think your loved ones are too sophisticated to love a knitted creature just whisk up the Fruit Bat. Guaranteed showstopper. Even teenage boys want one to dangle from their bedroom light.
And unlike chunky jumpers, these little creatures can be made at home for a fraction of the price of similar cute craftworks found in galleries and Interiors shops, so you can still enjoy that traditional smug knitter's warm glow when you see big price tags.
These patterns are not for raw beginners, they are small, but also pretty intricate (the armadillo has different stitch patterns on his body, legs and tail for starters) which makes them a lot of fun for anyone who enjoys a bit of a challenge.
The witty text packed with whimsical facts about the animals makes it entertaining to read as well, which isn't something you find in your average knitting book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I want for Christmas, 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
Once you've seen the knitted urangutan it is hard to imagine anything else you want to have for Christmas. Then you see the armadillo and the meerkat and it gets really tough. I find this book inspiring, funny and utterly charming. Can't wait to get going....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original animals, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
Wanted a pattern for a bat, this was the first book I had seen with a bat. It was not difficult to knit, but felt the instructions for making up were limited. Had difficulty getting the arms and wings correct, an inexperienced knitter would struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knit your own Zoo, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
The book arrived very promptly and I have already knitted the elephant and panda which were very enthusiastically received by the recipients. Although I would consider myself an accomplished knitter I have found the Americanized instructions a little unusual, 'bind off for cast off' and I have found the meercat tricky but I will have another go. As stated in the book these are not toys and the fillings, pipe cleaners and lentils to stiffen out the stuffings mean that they are probably not washable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knitting, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
I love these books and would highly recommend them, I have all of them and have successfully made many animals, everybody loves them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great patterns but, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
The instructions had been photoreduced and so were not usable by a knitter until enlarged! I had to photograph and reprint it. Super patterns though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely animals but difficult instructions, 4 Jun 2014
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
I was given this book by my mother, when I was laid up for a few weeks following a foot operation. The photos are amazing and I didn't know where to start! I began with the bear which was described as one of the easier animals to knit, and then did the camel. Both were successful although I did find certain aspects very tricky - for instance, how do you cast on at the end of a row? (I got round this by casting on at the beginning of the next one instead). And it was difficult to get the animals to stand up - pipecleaners and stuffing were tricky to get right! however I persevered and managed to get them to stand up after a fashion. Now I am knitting the lion and to my annoyance, there is a typo all the way through the pattern, relating to the wool colour (ca instead of ta). That is OK once you get used to it, but the most disappointing thing is that I have already run out of wool. The pattern states that it uses 45g, but I have already used a 50g ball and have hardly started on the head and neck - despite using exactly the wool specified. it's a shame that now I will have to buy more and run the risk of the shade not being the same. All this said, I still like the book very much and will definitely carry on knitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
thought the patterns in this book were fantastic there is a wonderful collection of unusual and exotic creatures to choose from
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knitted Zoo, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
Easy to follow instructions. Certain animals look easier to knit than other animals, but we will see when the time comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars animals, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) (Hardcover)
all my grandchildren picked an animal still knitting but enjoyed all of them.im waiting for my great-grandson to see them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show)
Knit Your Own Zoo (Best in Show) by Joanna Osborne (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
£7.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews