Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful cross stitch book
I am thrilled to own this delightful cross stitch book by What Delilah Did designer, Sophie Simmons.

It is of excellent quality, a paperback with it's own dust-jacket and even a small kit to stitch one of the designs. The storyland theme is genius - each chart has it's own little story, and the theme draws all of the charts together making me want to stitch...
Published 15 months ago by Amanda Kennedy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars really disappointed
This book is Nothing like I was expecting. I wouldnt recommend it. Hardly any colour. Basic designs. So unexciting! The small free gift was welcome but other than that this book will gather dust sadly. Not for me.
Published 7 months ago by Sue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful cross stitch book, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
I am thrilled to own this delightful cross stitch book by What Delilah Did designer, Sophie Simmons.

It is of excellent quality, a paperback with it's own dust-jacket and even a small kit to stitch one of the designs. The storyland theme is genius - each chart has it's own little story, and the theme draws all of the charts together making me want to stitch them all!

Various projects are suggested for the charts, ranging from simple hoop frames to a pencil case, bag and beautiful cushion. Simpler charts for beginners (or a quickly made gift) are presented at the beginning, followed by intermediate and larger, complicated designs towards the end.

For me, the charts are all of reasonable size to stitch from though I suspect a couple of the larger designs may be a tiny bit small to see easily.

A classic, contemporary book, I'm sure this will appeal to beginning and seasoned stitchers alike. It is a joy to read and own, no doubt I'll be using these beautiful charts for all manner of projects and gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
Cross stitching is a new-found love, but what with me being slightly odd, a lot of the widely available patterns do not appeal. I have been searching for various books and patterns that are 'a bit different'. I found the blog (What Delilah Did) written by the author a while ago and loved her designs so was really pleased to see that she has written a book! It is perfect as it contains lots of non-twee designs, such as silhouettes of jackalopes and unicorns, keys and a beautiful owl, which I can't wait to sew. Also, the Bow - swoon! The starter kit included is much appreciated and will soon be used to stitch the Frog Prince. The illustrations and photography are beautiful and really add to the 'fairytale' theme. Im so glad I bought this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mainly for beginners, 5 Sep 2013
By 
Ms John - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
This is a well produced book with many cross stitch charts and a small kit comprising of a piece of cotton evenweave, skein of black thread and a needle to stitch one of the designs.

Most of the patterns are small and easy enough for beginners. My two favourite charts are the cat mask and the owl cushion which has such lovely colours. The majority of the designs use mainly black as in silhouettes, except for the fox pincushion and the sampler.

Another good feature is the description and step-by-step instructions on various finishing techniques.

All in all a good buy but experienced cross stitchers may be a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty little book, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
The designs in this book are very interesting and I really like how it makes each project so simple and also gives you an expected time that it should take for each design. Very good book with lots to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
This book is beautifully presented. The illustrations are of high quality and the book is made of lovely paper, good enough to leave on your coffee table. Delilah's stylish designs would make a welcome addition to your home, as they can be made into useful items rather than just something to hang on the wall. The stories add to the charm of this book. There is also a small kit included to get you started on a simple design. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
Love this book! Exactly the type of designs I have been looking for for ages. Good value and didn't expect there to be a kit included!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 14 Aug 2014
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
I love this book! It is packed full of beautiful, modern designs that are rewarding to complete. I have so far stitched the wise owl, enchanted forest hoop cluster and the embroidered buttons. I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute of each project and live my finished products.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
Lovely ideas, clear and easy instructions. My little sister and I love the projects in this book. We like cross stitching but hate anything too twee (like cats with vases and bouquets in baskets) so this book was right up our street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a beautifully written book., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
This is beautifully constructed Cross Stitch book. The illustrations are clear and precise, the wording is gentle and considerate of those not too familiar with Cross Stitch. I would recommend this for anyone, obviously those who are already cross stitch enthusiasts but also for anyone wanting to get into the craft. The kit provided is lovely and will get you started nicely.

I hope there will be other books to follow from Sophie Simpson ('Delilah') who clearly knows her craft inside and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did) (Paperback)
I was so excited to receive my storyland cross stitch book and it didn't disappoint beautifully laid out with good instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Storyland Cross Stitch: 15 Projects and a Kit for Your Stitching Pleasure (What Delilah Did)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews