Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars115
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2013
I bought this thinking that as it was recommended by good housekeeping it would be worth having. It wasnt. Pages of useless info, like every breakfast cereal on the market, when all the nutrition information including calories is already on the box and no space left for the ordinary storecupboard items. There is also a worrying recommendation to a website that advises a diet for elderly people of under 800 calories a day, this is not good, and I think good housekeeping should maybe check this out before they continue to recommend it. Its also very cheaply bound, and difficult to get the pages to stay open. I wouldnt recommend this book.
0Comment20 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This book is in small format, so good for the handbag. It has the foods categorised and gives information on other factors as well as calories. The lines of text are alternately coloured to make following accross the page easier. It does all that you need to be able to monitor the sometimes surprising content of everyday things - for instance, some fruit is scary rather than especially healthy or low in calories! It's not just the usual suspects you have to watch out for!
0Comment50 of 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I know that this is a small, handbag sized guide, but really, they do need to fix their priorities. There are 7 pages given over to a food diary, more to a BMI chart, useful websites etc. The pages are well laid out, but the first thing I ate today and wanted to refer to it for was BOILED HAM - which isn't in! Neither is Jam, Honey, Marmalade - stuff we all have for breakfast. I've looked in every conceivable place. I think they could have saved the 20 pages they saved for "useful" information we could have got from somewhere else and put some of the (what are actually pretty basic) foodstuffs in there. I have a really old guide that I wanted to replace, which is as thick as it is long. Looks like I'm going to be carrying that around a whole while longer. The two stars are for the accuracy of the items that are in there - (around 1100 items) including "everyday" items such as Chocolate Orange and uncooked Arborio rice! Why anyone seriously counting calories would honestly need to know the calorific value of a Mars bar (other than to see how big a bullet they had dodged by not eating it) is beyond me.
11 comment39 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
i BOUGHT THIS LITTLE BOOK TO COMPLIMENT THE TWO DAY FASTING DIET, WHEN ONE IS ONLY ALLOWED 500 CALORIES PER DAY. IT IS EASY TO UNDERSTAND.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Not comprehensive, would have expected more e.g., just one entry for Lloyd Grossman pasta sauce, and not even the most popular one: Tom and Basil.
Basic foodstuffs are not given much attention.
Difficult to find what you want.
Book format is unwieldy. Can't keep the page open where I want.
I have had better calorie counters in the past. After all most processed food has nutrition values on the package. They should concentrate on those foodstuffs whose values are hard to find. No mention of Aldi or Lidl!
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
I have bought other calorie counting guides which have not been half as good as this one. It is up to date with a lot of ready made products.
0Comment20 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2014
This is a handy guide to help monitor how healthy your diet is: I especially liked the at-a-glance guide to reading food labels, and the easy-peasy BMI table where you can simply read off your height and weight to get your BMI without all the calculations.

Most food stuffs now come with counts but this is very handy for places like Starbucks (over 400 calories for an almond croissant!) and Pizza Express.

Fat, saturated fat, carb, protein and fibre counts are attached - I'd like salt counts to be included in the next edition.

So whether you're trying to lose weight or just be able to make healthy choices, this is handy to have.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
It does what it says on the tin. Good range of items with calorie levels for fresh and prepacked foods.
0Comment19 of 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
At last an easy to use calorie counter. Some books make it really difficult
to find a calorie value but this one is perfect.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
it's helpful but could have more charts with more info for everyday foods, like bread/rolls/pittas/wraps all in one section etc.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse