Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sewing is the new black
I'd forgotten about all the clothes I used to make and how to make them, but reading this beautiful book has reminded me how rewarding it is to spend time making things. If you're a novice, or like me you had the knowledge once upon a distant past this book gives you wonderful ideas and precise instructions. Can't wait to visit their new shop in Rye for their paper...
Published on 1 Nov. 2012 by Maggie Robertson

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
The old fashioned almost hand-made design of the book with some interesting (and what I thought not very difficult) sewing projects made me buy this book. Only when I tried to follow one of the projects I realised that it is very disjointed and lacking clear step by step instructions. In a desperate want to make this project happen I searched on-line videos and...
Published 16 months ago by Linda


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sewing is the new black, 1 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
I'd forgotten about all the clothes I used to make and how to make them, but reading this beautiful book has reminded me how rewarding it is to spend time making things. If you're a novice, or like me you had the knowledge once upon a distant past this book gives you wonderful ideas and precise instructions. Can't wait to visit their new shop in Rye for their paper patterns and beautiful haberdashery. Then, before long I'll have an entire new wardrobe. If you are looking for a perfect Christmas present, this is it. You can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 7 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. R. N. Lock "Ricky Lock" (Bexley, Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
I bought this beautiful book for a friend who has just starting sewing for a hobby and she thinks it's amazing - I showed it to a few other people before i parted with it who also fell in love with it too. It takes you back to when sewing was an art form and thousands of women loved to work creatively with their hands. There are great tips throughout; also the quality of the book is first class. Merchant & Mills have quality products and this book is no exception. I only wish my nan was still here to experience this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
It's a really beautiful book, I love the lay-out, the simple way , it's my cup of tea ( and I'm dutch), it "s almost perfect, but was really dissapointed that the patterns weren't full-size, you have to go to a shop and that takes time and money, and there's room for it so why not full-size, otherwise I'm really pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Finished Book, 28 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
I'm new to the sewing world, if you don't count a couple of home economics classes almost a decade ago.
This book is not only a joy to read and seems to include all the basics I could expect, it has also been beautifully crafted to be a completely contrasting experience to the multicolored hobbycrafting books that are all over the place.

This book looks and reads like a sophisticated piece of tailoring - a book I'm sure I will keep and use as a reference for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love, 2 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Sabine "Mark Sabine" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
Love everything about this - the styling, the projects, the advice/guidance. Have shopped frequently on their online shop since buying this book and products always scream quality. Brilliant aesthetic. Projects not necessarily groundbreaking, but well made, solid and quality. Almost feels like a whole sewing 'lifestyle' in a book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 15 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
Words like "Timeless" and "Classic" come to mind when describing this book. The Merchant and Mills philosophy of "Keep it simple and do it well" is amply illustrated in the text and content of this book as well as in their patterns. Their advice is brilliant: it is as if they distilled all the best traditional knowledge and practice in to these pages. It would be lovely for a beginner as the patterns start with easy things to sew and become more complex. I enjoy the weight, style and feel of the actual book as much as the content. It is well illustrated and timeless - no polyester or fashion statements - just pure quality and enduring style. I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very in fitting with the Merchant & Mills brand, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
If you love the style of Merchant & Mills haberdashery you will love this book too as it is very much in keeping with that style. The projects are utilitarian rather than decorative, rather like the packaging for their products. Their ethos is `keep it simple and do it well'.

The book is aimed at beginners with the first part of the book comprising of an introduction to the basic sewing supplies and what to use them for, followed by a chapter on sewing techniques and a chapter on working with patterns. You then get into the projects which include several differ styles of bag, a maker's apron, a sewing kit, a few different cushions and last of all the 2 paper patterns which come with the book - a tailored shawl and a fisherman's top. I have to say it is a shame to see that the paper patterns are not full size, they require enlarging by 175%.

Many of the projects involve sewing with heavy weight materials like oilskin, canvas, leather, wool cloth and denim, materials you don't often see in most project books. It may encourage you to experiment with fabrics you wouldn't normally use.

This review also appears on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pen pusher by day, pin pusher by night, 27 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
This book is to sewing what Brief Encounter is to railway travel! It takes you back to a nostalgic, romantic era where your senses were aroused, your imagination stimulated and your creative instincts mobilised! Back to a time when people uttered words like haberdashery and draper and when Gran or Mum would close one eye, lick the end of the cotton, and artfully thread the needle before embarking on a creative journey and emerging with a homemade garment. This is the perfect practical, yet beautifully illustrated and scripted, guide to sewing, for the modern busy individual who will value spending quality time producing a quality finished item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a handy reference book to have, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
i liked this book because it gave details about somethings as basic as pins and threads, and although i have been sewing for a number of years i found these details very useful as i never gave any of these items any thought before. it all helps with caring for your fabrics and your sewing machine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for sewing enthusiasts, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merchant & Mills Sewing Book (Hardcover)
Lots of ideas and helpful tips regardless of sewing ability. Some things included that I have never seen in other guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Merchant & Mills Sewing Book
Merchant & Mills Sewing Book by Merchant & Mills (Hardcover - 18 Oct. 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews