Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really lovely book
This book is beautifully presented both in content and even the look and feel of the cover. Although I have been knitting professionally for years there are still tips and methods with which I am unfamiliar and how wonderful it is to have it all in this lovely book. As the title suggests, the masterclasses and patterns are reprinted from The Knitter and it is great to...
Published 17 months ago by Clare M

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very technical!
I am a knitter of many year's standing - but I found this book extremely difficult to follow.I am in awe of those who could make head or tail of this. I think an inexperienced knitter would find it daunting. Choice of patterns poor though there are some very nice cushion patterns!
Published 3 months ago by M. C. Verrall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really lovely book, 6 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully presented both in content and even the look and feel of the cover. Although I have been knitting professionally for years there are still tips and methods with which I am unfamiliar and how wonderful it is to have it all in this lovely book. As the title suggests, the masterclasses and patterns are reprinted from The Knitter and it is great to have them all in one place. Perhaps not for the total novice but then I suspect it was written with the more experienced in mind. This is a big plus as so many technical books start with the absolute basics, which is great if you are a beginner - but thank goodness this doesn't. It would make a wonderful present for any keen knitter and even contains some lovely patterns to try out your newly learned skills.Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book illustating advanced knitting techniques, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
This is a very detailed book which gives detailed instruction on very advanced knitting techniques. Although I have been a knitter for many years I have not heard of some of the technique described and illustrated. More suitable for a competent knitter than a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book but needs clearer instructions for masterclass, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
What a joy. I couldn't wait to make something so tried the socks at chapter 12. I've knitted lots many years ago when we didnt have the internet to help provide tips on advanced skills and only to intermediate level and i love challenges. This pattern attempts to show how to create a seamless toe using a technique they call "Judy's Magic Cast On" but fails pretty abysmally to show clear steps enough to learn the technique from the book. Luckily an Internet search found me a video on on Youtube so I followed that.
A page that made me smile was an item about 'combination knitting'. There are two photos there. The first purports to be of 'eastern knitting' and the second 'western knitting'. Eastern, the book says, is supposed to produce a thicker fabric. So I study the photo which I could swear was a photo of somebody creating a Knit stitch. The 'western' photo showed what looked like the purl side of the same piece. Maybe I'll go look that up on YouTube too.
Generally though, the book is exciting, but I wished it gave more patterns as some of the photos show lovely stuff that's only there to show techniques. I'm hoping those techniques are more clearly explained when I come around to needing to learn them.
Be prepared to spend much money on some of the items. I really wanted to make up their double sided scarf until calculating that the specified materials would cost well over 100 to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advanced Techniques well explained and illustrated, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. F. Huxley (Rugby, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
Both the techniques and the projects in this beautiful book are for experienced knitters. There are other books where the masterclass info can be found but what makes this book special is the projects that feature the techniques in each masterclass.
There are thirteen masterclasses each with at least one project illustrating the technique.
The masterclasses are choosing and substituting yarns, casting on & off, different styles of knitting, cables, liberating lace, Fair Isle techniques, shaping & fit, steeking, slip stitch colour work, reversible knits, stripes in the round, Kitchener stitich and creating curves. These masterclasses were originally published in the Knitter magazine but its useful to have them in one place and in such a well presented book. I've only given it 4 stars as the title says 'over 20 tecnhical workshops' but there are only 13 chapters and 14 projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully done!, 6 Feb 2013
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
OK, so at the outset, let's be honest - I don't know my slip stitch from my cable needle, and the only stockings I care about aren't knitted ones (!) nuff said? BUT I do know about books (I mean the real physical things) and the amount of work that goes into them by authors, editors, layout designers, printers, publishers and all - and this is a real beauty! It really does scream quality - the cover is great to hold, and the illustrations and layout are simply fantastic - and if you can knit too (which I obviously can't) then with a book like this, you would surely be in heaven!

OK - so why (I hear you ask) if you can't knit, are you writing this - you great pudding? Good question! Truth is she-who-must-be-obeyed is an absolute champion whizzo knitter and it was her copy that I picked up for a casual flick through and was so impressed (and said so). "OK" says she, "if you like it so much, YOU write the review" - and so, dear reader, I did! Like the nice little meerkat used to say "simples!"

With regard to the knitting knowledge side of things, which I'm going to guess is of far more interest to a potential purchaser than my ramblings, I am reliably informed by herself that it is pretty amazing on that front too - though she does echo the first reviewer's comments that it's probably not one for beginners. But then, I suppose, 'master classes' rarely are.

A lovely book, and would grace any coffee table, or knitting bag too, I suppose. So if your lady loves her knitting - buy it for her! It'll make a great pressie (and maximum brownie points for you too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knitting Masterclass, 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
I really love this book. It is a really useful guide to all the techniques you need to make professional looking garments. From lace to chunky, scarves to intricate lace, this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book with lots of useful information for knitters who have moved on from the basics. I particularly like the features on fixing mistakes. The photographs are clear and the instructions are easy to follow. I just wish there was more of it, maybe a second volume...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very technical!, 14 April 2014
By 
M. C. Verrall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
I am a knitter of many year's standing - but I found this book extremely difficult to follow.I am in awe of those who could make head or tail of this. I think an inexperienced knitter would find it daunting. Choice of patterns poor though there are some very nice cushion patterns!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thank You, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
In a commercial world full of 'How to' books aimed at beginners this is a much needed book for experienced knitters.
So much helpful information. I'm knitting a lace shawl now and it's so nice to have a 'masterclass' on easy methods of correcting errors a few rows down without opening complete rows. Opening rows in lace knitting is not a pleasant occupation!
Other chapters on 'Steeking' - I've aways been too scared to try it. 'Slip stich colourwork' - interesting effects. 'Stripes in the round' - without the awful step. Etc. etc.
It would have been 5 stars except for one thing. The size of the book should have been bigger by about 50% - making the pages bigger. The print chosen is very small - even with glasses I have difficulty reading the patterns. And, of course, this affects the charts making them near impossible to see each very small symbol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great content, only not 5 * due to small factors, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Natalia (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns (Hardcover)
Love the content, and as other reviewers have pointed out, this is the book you want if you are planning on taking your knitting 'to the next level'. Two quibbles
- Wow, the print is really small! Like hard to concentrate on in certain lighting small.
- I would LOVE an ebook version of this.

That's it. Otherwise a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitting Masterclass: with Over 20 Technical Workshops and 15 Beautiful Patterns
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews