Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good handful, 22 Jun 2013
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
I was impressed from the moment I clapped eyes on this book, and the contents didn't disappoint, with a substantial amount of well-researched information about the fiddlers, the tunes they played and the dances they played for. Importantly, the author demonstrates that, historically, in County Down the fiddle was played by both Protestant and Roman Catholic, Unionist and Nationalist and what we now refer to as traditional music was not just the preserve of one community. If you are interested in traditional music, it's well worth investing in a copy. I have a lot of fiddle music books and there are many tunes here which I have not previously seen written down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Buy!, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
Nigel has really done his homework and has not just handed on some great tunes, but has shone a light on an unjustly overlooked area with a rich musical tradition. It is great to see some versions of tunes which are played differently not 20 miles away in South Armagh! This is a very comprehensive collection with some fascinating stories on the people who played; placing the tunes in their context as part of the social fabric of Co. Down. The author's knowledge and love of the fiddle shines through in this meticulously researched and compiled volume which should ensure the resurgence of some lovely old tunes too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - delighted, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
If it was possible to give more than 5stars, I would. This is a really excellent book, and as a fiddler, probably one of the best regarding Irish traditional fiddling I've come across. There are many tunes included, but what makes this book more interesting than a lot of "tune-books" is the way the lives of hundreds of long-gone and largely unknown fiddlers have been brought into focus and accompanied by witty stories about their lives, with great black and white photos, and meticulous detail on where they played, died, and how their music played a role in society.

Regarding the notated tunes included, most are not commonly known in Ireland and quite a few owe their origins to Scotland. The author has taken the trouble to link a lot of the tunes all the way back to the Irish and Scottish collections of the 1700's and 1800s. Lots of quadrilles, highlands, waltzes..not just the jigs and reels that fill many other books. It isn't a "how to play" book and as well as the musician and music aspect there is much information on the types of dances that the fiddlers played for.

I was surprised at the large physical size of the book and the wealth of mainly unknown information included. An excellent book and excellent value....delighted with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for traditional Irish music lovers!, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
It is a lovely tome and it refers to musicians from the area in which I live. I know Nigel who is a wonderful banjo player and fiddler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting and Informative every musician should have a copy of this charming collection!!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
This is an amazing, insightful book beautifully put together the photographs alone are a treat. Nigel Boullier has presented a wonderful archive of the very rich, and expressive music of County Down, which up to now has been little known and uncelebrated.
Thanks Nigel for this significant addition to traditional Irish music literature. A fascinating read !!

D.Quigley
Toronto,Canada
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book ., 8 Jan 2014
By 
D. P. Hanna (Co down Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
The work that went into this book is unbelievable, and a credit to the author, the people who supplied the photographs, and music super and well worth purchasing if only for the history. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent teaching and research tool with amazing detail., 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
I found this book to be all I expected and hoped for with mighty research and thought and an obvious love of the area and the people involved in the historical process. Amazing that someone like Nigel, found the time and the patience to do all of this. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
Brilliant book. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Brilliant Books and equipment for a beginner and learner of the violin like myself, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down (Hardcover)
I would recommend these products to any beginner wanting to start off playing the violin correctly as I found them a fantastic help to get started properly, ie :- reading the music correctly, holding the violin and bow correctly, standing properly, so as to give the professional and confident impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handed Down: Country Fiddling and Dancing in East and Central Down
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews