Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtprovoking and different to what I expected
Review: There's a new drug going round. Death. Giving you a week to live, and an eternity to not. Adam's life is going very badly when he is given the chance to take it. Drawn in to a dangerous gang world, protesters, extreme violence and high stakes, Adam will discover what he has to live for.
I was really excited about this one. I've not read Junk or anything by...
Published 18 months ago by Nina (Death Books and Tea)

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars had potential
This isn't Melvin Burgess' best book.
Lines like "the vanguard at the front" seem unnecessary. Either assume your audience know what vangaurd means or leave it out. Don't go; ooh I know a long word but you're too thick to understand it.

The characters didn't appeal to me, especially the main character Adam. He's just a thoughtless, selfish teenager. Maybe...
Published 15 months ago by Rose


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty and violent at times., 15 April 2013
This review is from: The Hit (Paperback)
Originally published on Serendipity Reviews
This book is not for the faint hearted. Within the first few pages you are thrown into this world forty years in the future when unemployment is at its highest and the recession has taking full control. The book portrays an extremely realistic and frightening view of what the UK could one day become. On the death of the rock star Jimmy Earle from a recreational drug that gives you the best week of your life, followed by your imminent death, the country erupts into violence and revolt. Everyone wants to live like Jimmy and the drug Death, floods onto the streets via the cult organisation, Zealots. You get a chill speeding through your body, as the riots occur and spiral out of control, reminding you all of the violence and demonstrations that took place on the streets of the UK a few years ago. It makes you feel uneasy and uncomfortable, but you find yourself compelled to read further to find out what will happen.

The Zealots are a rather scary organisation with hints of present day terrorist groups flavouring their image. Suicide bombing is as natural to them as taking a stroll in the park; the group members are brainwashed and happy to die for the cause. With the added ingredient of gangsters, mob mentality and drugs flooding the market, you have a strong, gritty and determined contemporary thriller. A YA version of Martina Cole's adult novels.

I didn't like Adam to begin with. He came across as a desperate money grabbing hormonal teacher, intent on shagging a rich girl and making her pregnant. An instant turn off to any girl. I suppose if the world had turned in such a way, he would represent a major group of teenagers with the same mentality. Lizzie came across as a stronger and more likeable character. She wasn't perfect, she had that selfishness inbred in many teenagers oozing out occasionally but on the whole she wanted to the right thing for Adam.

The idea of a drug that would give you the best week of your life is an interesting one. As the story progresses, you realise the drug doesn't do a lot to create the exhilarating experience anticipated. A lot of it has to do with attitude and the drug takers overhaul the way they view their life - with one week to live they are determined to live it to the fullest and do everything they can. If you knew you had one week to live and you were feeling healthy, you would go utterly wild, it's human nature.

The violence in this book is hard hitting and graphic. Not a book I would let the younger readers of YA read. In fact the content is verging on a cross over novel. There were scenes that made me flinch, enough to give me nightmares. Christian scared the hell out of me; he was sick in his mind and attitude. His gruesome obsession with the spinal cord was extremely disturbing.

I do think this is a book you will either love or hate, depending on how much violence your stomach can take. Melvin Burgess is known for his hard hitting, no nonsense Young Adult books, well this one is a classic example that the author doesn't bow to niceties.

A fast paced, gripping story that kicks you right in the gut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hit (Paperback)
Quick delivery and good book but I would recommend this to teenagers due to the colloquial language used throughout the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hit (Paperback)
Book as described and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hit (Paperback)
As described and quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars had potential, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Hit (Paperback)
This isn't Melvin Burgess' best book.
Lines like "the vanguard at the front" seem unnecessary. Either assume your audience know what vangaurd means or leave it out. Don't go; ooh I know a long word but you're too thick to understand it.

The characters didn't appeal to me, especially the main character Adam. He's just a thoughtless, selfish teenager. Maybe this is the sort of book that's supposed to get teen boys reading. I hope there are teenage boys out there more likeable than Adam. I know didactic literature isn't the way forward but surely your characters should at least be likeable?

Then of course there's the psychotic villain who's stopped taking his meds. Of course in the real world mentally ill people are more likely to be the victim of crime. But hey let's not let facts stop us.
I think it would have been much more interesting if the protagonist struggled with mental illness and that's why he decided to take Death. The characters in Junk do foolish things but I felt I could understand them better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What would you do if you had 7 days left...?, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hit (Paperback)
The Hit was a really gripping read! I found myself late for work on a couple of occasions because I couldn't just leave it in the middle of a wild moment, described in the book.

It was pretty violent in places...and insightful too. Although for me, I wasn't sure if Lizzie's reactions to Adam's predicament were something I truly believed would happen. Still, it was just a little niggle and didn't stop me from enjoying each and every page.

I totally recommend this if you like reading about dystopia, revolution, first experiences and blood!

Happy Reading,
Karla Brading - Author of Whispers of a Reaper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vacuous Characters, 18 April 2013
This review is from: The Hit (Paperback)
Really didn't enjoy this book. There was no build-up, I had no empathy for the characters and couldn't care less what happened in the end. I'm not sure who this book is aimed at as I felt like a 13 year old half the time but the violence is far too graphic for young teenagers. Overall, a great concept which turned into a disappointing mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hit
The Hit by Melvin Burgess (Paperback - 4 April 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews