Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler's Angel - the action packed, yet historical, adventure
Hitler's Angel is about a girl called Leni and a boy called Otto. They had fled the Nazis, to England, but then they are recruited. Recruited for a secret operation -- they have to kidnap a girl and take her to England. She could destroy Hitler's regime.

It's an amazing story, woven with intrigue, telling the whole terrifying adventure.
It all comes down...
Published on 1 May 2012 by Topazia

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not for me
The historian in me cringed through everything page of this. I couldn't get further than the first 50 pages before having to give up. It's not to say it isn't well written but not for me.
Published 18 months ago by Kirsty at the Overflowing Library


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler's Angel - the action packed, yet historical, adventure, 1 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
Hitler's Angel is about a girl called Leni and a boy called Otto. They had fled the Nazis, to England, but then they are recruited. Recruited for a secret operation -- they have to kidnap a girl and take her to England. She could destroy Hitler's regime.

It's an amazing story, woven with intrigue, telling the whole terrifying adventure.
It all comes down to one question: who is Angelika, the Hitler's Angel? What is her real identity?

A thriller.
Expertly written.
Something unique, that you can't put down.
Hitler's Angel -- a future hit among twelve year olds.

Reviewed by Emily Green, 10 yrs old, 1st May, 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking adventure for young adults, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this adventure for early teenagers. The premise of the book is utterly preposterous, the plot creaks a bit and the language and attitudes are often more 2012 than 1941, but I really didn't mind. It's a great adventure story which carried me along very well.

The plot involves two young teenage refugees from the Nazis living in Britain who agree to return to Germany undercover (after two whole weeks training) to take a child out of captivity and into Switzerland. This mission is vital to the British War Effort at a time when the war was being lost. So far, so unlikely, but it's an exciting adventure not a historical documentary so you need to forget your scepticism and just enjoy the ride. The storytelling is fast-paced and exciting, the lead characters (one male, one female) are engaging, the villain is very villainous and the historical background is well sketched without weighing down the narrative. There are constant narrow escapes and exciting action and I'd have loved this aged 12. I still liked it a lot aged...well...a lot more than 12, and I'm sure it will appeal to young adults of both sexes.

I have one criticism - the map at the front. It is very helpful to know the geography of the area, but it also clearly shows their entire route which acts as a rather large spoiler in places and I'd recommend not looking at it first if you can avoid it. Otherwise it's tremendously enjoyable - perhaps not an enduring classic, but a cracking read nonetheless and warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 1 Aug 2012
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
Hitler's angel is the best book my daughter have ever read. its about 2 refugees (Otto and Leni) on a mission back to Germany to kidnap a girl and bring her back to England. this book shows the strongest loyalty and friendship. it shows how cruel some people can be and how good they could be even risking their life. through their journey Otto and Leni also try understand who this girl is. it's a great page turner right from the start and i recommend it! risking their lives with a false identity can they do it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-Speed History, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Otto and Leni are two teenagers sheltering in Britain during WW2. Both are far from home, both are outsiders and both are grateful to be safe. So when the British Government come to call, wanting to send them back to Germany on a top secret mission, they have a tough choice to make.

And yet it's easy too. With so many already sacrificing so much, and with their own reasons to hit back at the Nazis, both say yes. After all it's only a small mission - parachute into Bavaria, retrieve the parcel and escape to Switzerland.

Except the `parcel' is a young girl and Leni soon starts questioning why both governments want her so badly. And then everything starts to go wrong...

From the chaos of the evacuation of Dunkirk to the suspicions of wartime Bavaria, this story sits firmly in its historical setting. Of the two young spies Leni is the stronger and more well-rounded character. She's brave, smart, determined and protective. True, she has a ruthless streak, but it's balanced by her care of Angelika.

Otto does not stand up well in comparison. I found him a bit feeble and lacking Leni's courage and determination. He does well enough when under pressure, but otherwise I found him dull. As for Angelika, the mysterious package, she is sweet, infuriating and braver than the others.

Racing to escape, they make a good team - especially when certain injuries seem to be forgotten. As the peril builds and their escapades become more desperate and dangerous, you can't help willing them to succeed. Heydrich makes a very convincing foe amidst other historical monsters, and the constant cat and mouse game adds to both the tension and the action.

Dramatic, tense and exciting, this is a good dose of historical fiction - be prepared to read it quickly, because you won't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hitler's Angel - Girls, Boys and Adult Readers Too, 25 Jun 2012
By 
Alessi Lover "C.A.D." (Knightley UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Lenni and Otto have a secret operation they must preform and one that brings about what true friendship means.

I originally ordered this book for our 10 year old son, but it looked so inviting to myself I had to read it first. So agewise anything from 10 to 45. Also suitable for both girls and boys that like adventure stories.

It gets five stars from myself as it is full of adventure but believable adventure, the parts about the Second World War, Dunkirk etc were all told as though you could imagine yourself there. Makes a change from mythical legends and vampires.

Not going to give any of the plot away as enough on the blurb has already been said and any more would spoil it for other readers, but once got hold of you do find it hard to put down, hence me reading it over the weekend.

The book title did make me wonder if it would be suitable for son, as at primary school they don't tend to do much about the war and books with some titles don't get allowed out on the school library bus. Saying that he has just started it and even though the girl has a main character part in the story he still thinks it is a great book. Interesting to see the reaction when taken into school as a reading book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and just about believable, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Caroline (Roxburghshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
I was reading this book to see if it would be suitable for upper primary school children. I got completely gripped by it and stayed up half the night to finish it! Action packed and well paced throughout, there is not a wasted word or deed in the book. Every bit is exciting and relevant and I found the characters well drawn enough to make me suspend disbelief at what they achieved. An excellent action adventure with a clever and ultimately satisfying ending which I wouldn't dream of giving away. I'm not surprised to read that the author is a screenwriter - it would make a good film!
But perhaps for teenaged and upwards readers rather than under twelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really really ripping yarn, 5 Sep 2012
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wow what an amazing ride this book was, I could barely read it fast enough to keep up with the non- stop action. In the footsteps of John Buchan and Ian Serrailier William Osborne's "Hitler's Angel" is deliciously old-fashioned and delightfully non PC with lovely Nazi villains including the monster, Adolph, himself.

Two unlikely heroes are chosen for a mission that put me in mind of Ira Levin's great "Boys From Brazil" and every step of their perilous journey is recorded in this wonderful narrative ; heart-stopping rescues, shoot-outs, nail-biting suspense ~ it is all here in spades. Just wish there were books written like this for us Big Folk.

Towards the end of my reading I desperately wanted to put my reading brakes on to savour the climax but of course I couldnt and so crashed headlong into the conclusion (no spoilers this really is one you should read)

A great tale for young adults (and old ones)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWII ripping yarn, 16 July 2012
By 
catherine "Catherine" (poole, dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I REALLY don't want to give away the plot of this barnstorming book. Suffice it to say that the atmosphere of the 1940's is well and truly evoked,and the use of real life people like the vile Reynhardt Heidrich, is brilliantly woven into the fabric of this book.
I absolutely could not put this book down,and it's slipped into my top 10 books of the year very easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great adventure story, 18 Jun 2012
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
getting my son to read anything is a challenge, but this book certainly got him going, even found him with the light on under the duvet. Only discovered him because of the burning feathers. He is 11 years old and loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, fabulous read. We loved it!, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitler's Angel (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter and ended up reading it to our three children together. It was recommended to us by a friend and I have to admit that all of us, grown-ups and children alike were completely enthralled. Although aimed at the younger market, like all the best children's literature it has something for everyone and easily holds its own with other great adventure stories we know and love. You also get the impression that Osborne knows his stuff - the detail about life in WW2, both in London and in Germany is riveting and immensely appealing.

It's essentially about two children who are dropped behind enemy lines in Germany at the height of the war with a dangerous, secret mission to kidnap a girl whose identity is such that if they succeed, it could change the course of the war. The roller-coaster that ensues is by turns thrilling, heart-warming and even funny. We all loved it! When's the sequel coming out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitler's Angel
Hitler's Angel by William Osborne (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews