Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A visual guide to the wealth of London in 1889
In this pack, two maps are included, representing west London and east London in 1889. Booth was a remarkable man who set out to assess how wealth was distributed across the main residential areas of London. His undertaking was staggering. Appalled by the poverty he witnessed in the dockland areas he set about colour coding every house in every street according to how...
Published 22 months ago by A. Byrnes

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information for family history
I bought this to find out just where my ancestors lived using it in conjunction with the Census information I have. I found it really interesting to see their progression from the poorest parts of the East End, gradually moving out and into the better areas. I needed a magnifying glass to see some of the names of the roads, especially the smaller ones and an A to Z to...
Published 17 months ago by toshygibb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A visual guide to the wealth of London in 1889, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
A. Byrnes "Andie" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
In this pack, two maps are included, representing west London and east London in 1889. Booth was a remarkable man who set out to assess how wealth was distributed across the main residential areas of London. His undertaking was staggering. Appalled by the poverty he witnessed in the dockland areas he set about colour coding every house in every street according to how well off the families who lived in them were. His lowest rank is "Lowest Class. Vicious, semi-criminal, going up to "Upper Middle and Upper Classes. Wealthy." Between the two he identified five classes to represent the "general condition of the inhabitants." The maps he created as a result of his research were used to tackle social problems derived from poverty, and to plan reforms.

The maps in this edition are presented in a card folder, each with its own envelope to protect it, connected by a spine. When you open the folder, the interior surfaces contain an introduction to Booth's maps, giving brief details of what London was like, what motivated Booth to create the maps and how they were used. It also expands on the keys shown on each map.

When you lie east and west side by side it is daunting to see how polarized they were in terms of poverty, with the east showing great areas at the blue (impoverished) end of the scale, whilst the yellow (the top end) are confined to the west (albeit with some blue patches crowded into nooks and crannies)

The maps are reproduced on good quality slightly shiny paper, with all-importantly good quality colour reproduction so that it is easy to make out which colours are which (Booth used incremental shades of blue and red, which could have been very difficult to distinguish from each other in an inferior quality edition). Road names are easy to pick out and a grid sits over the top (the space between the horizontal lines representing half a mile). This is a really excellent pair of maps and essential to anyone interested in late 1900s London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information for family history, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
I bought this to find out just where my ancestors lived using it in conjunction with the Census information I have. I found it really interesting to see their progression from the poorest parts of the East End, gradually moving out and into the better areas. I needed a magnifying glass to see some of the names of the roads, especially the smaller ones and an A to Z to get an idea of where they might be. The colouring is not wonderful so it was tricky to assess what socio-economic group they fell into sometimes. I found it fascinating and very glad I bought it. I would recommend it to anyone tracing their family history in London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. John F. Marcham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
I bough this to find out about where my great grandfather lived who was a master bricklayer in the 1880's and was very pleasantly surprised b the "social grading" of his house.
Comes in two maps on good quality paper in a well presented folder. My only query is that I thinks the maps may have been slightly cropped at the edges and do not cover the whole of the original Booth's map. However a very useful document.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesst that grew out of family history research, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
I've become very interested in Victorian/Edwardian London and was pleased to find these maps. They had to cram in an awful lot of detail so the details are printed extremely small. You need a strong magnifier but the detail is fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A WONDERFUL MAP ., 2 May 2014
By 
B. Moulds "Barbara.Johnson....Longtonlass" (Leicester.England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
THIS IS A MUST FOR ANY ONE WITH A GLIMMER OF ANCESTORS IN THE EAST END OF London.
IT IS A DREAM TO USE, MANY MANY THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ancestors, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
For anyone interested in London Ancestory this is fantastic look at how and where poverty was in London East and West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 May 2015
By 
JoMaynard (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
Packed with really useful and interesting information for the Historian/Family Historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and interesting, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
Very good and interesting. However the print is really small even with my glasses on! Good tool for family tree research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
Extremely interesting. Invaluable for the family historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) (Poster)
Handy for family tree research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House)
Booths Maps of London Poverty, 1889 (Old House) by Charles Booth (Poster - 10 Aug. 2013)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews