Customer Reviews


564 Reviews
5 star:
 (431)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


494 of 502 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain of the Century
When I bought a Kindle over a year ago, I swore I would never buy another tree book. Unfortunately, being a steam train nut and the fact that Amazon were offering two different reprints of the famous Bradshaw's Handbook used as the basis of Michael Portillo's television series, proved all too much for me. I simply had to have one, but which one?

I read...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by David Chambers

versus
116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Old House edition of Bradshaw's Handbook is very much a curate's egg
On the one hand, Old House is to be applauded for providing an exceedingly cheap facsimile edition, in hardcover, of the important and very rare 1863 edition of Bradshaw's Handbook (just 5 from Amazon). However, this venture is let down by the publication being incomplete and inconsistently so. While the illustrations listed in the indices of each of the four sections...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by David Gabriel


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

494 of 502 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain of the Century, 13 Jan 2012
By 
David Chambers (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
When I bought a Kindle over a year ago, I swore I would never buy another tree book. Unfortunately, being a steam train nut and the fact that Amazon were offering two different reprints of the famous Bradshaw's Handbook used as the basis of Michael Portillo's television series, proved all too much for me. I simply had to have one, but which one?

I read previous reviews noting comments that the more expensive version at 21.95 was only paperback and the paper and print quality were questionable. All the comments about this Old House version were 5 star and as a hardback at less than a third of the price of the alternative paperback I decided to take the risk.

Well, the risk paid off. This is a superb facsimile of the original with excellent paper, binding and print quality. A joy to own and what a fantastic bargain. I am adding my 5 stars and a 'Highly Recommended'.

By the way, in case you're wondering like I was when I ordered it, that yellow and blue banner shown in the picture is not part of the cover which is brown all over, but merely a removeable 'fly strip' for advertising purposes.

Dave.

p.s. I see that Amazon have now removed the 'fly strip' referred to above from their advertising photo. Someone must have read my review LOL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Railway Journeys, 7 Jan 2012
By 
M. L. Richings "m_richings2" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
Well here it is, a more faithfully sized facsimilie of probably one of the most famous tourist guides (albeit a little out of date) at the moment, until a few years ago the name George Bradshaw had all but disappeared from the national psyche, then along came Michael Portillo with a camera crew and a little, old, obscure book almost nobody had heard of, right from the outset I wished I could own a copy and searched the Internet for a copy of my own, I realised that originals like Mr Portillo has are extremely scarce and incredibly expensive costing hundreds of pounds, I should have realised that it would only be a matter of time before it was to be reproduced and here it is, a fantastic little book with a goldmine of information both trivial and historical about our country, some of which we didn't even know, the name Bradshaw was synonymous with the rail network as Beeton was with cookery but his memory was all but airbrushed from rail history in the beeching reforms of the 1960's, thanks to Mr Portillo his name has once again been restored, buy and read this book and you will see that, for all it's faults at the moment, the rail network has achieved so much and shaped who we are today, it's astonishing to think that a back street cartographer from Manchester, whose only aim was to help the Victorian traveller get from A to B more efficiently, awakened the true sense of us as a rail travelling nation, forget Michelin, lonely planet and the rest, this is the only informative guide to the UK that you'll ever need
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


135 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to Britain in 1863, 5 Jan 2012
By 
Steve (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
As I write these words, this book is number 39 in the list of best-selling books on all of Amazon UK. Not bad for something published in 1863! There is no doubt that great interest has been generated by the BBC showing Michael Portillo's 'Great British Railway Journeys', now into its third series, such has been the success of the previous two.

Portillo uses Bradshaw as his guidebook whilst travelling around Britain by train, just as Bradshaw himself did, and it's wonderful to be able to have one's own copy to refer to. The guide itself is substantial; most of Britain's railway network was in place by the 1860's, and somehow Bradshaw managed to compile a comprehensive guide to everywhere from great cities to small villages, taking interest not only in places of history (great houses, churches, castles etc.), but also in the industries of the time, such as wool, cotton, mining. There is real enthusiasm here, a reflection of pride in Britain when she was at the height of her world importance; there's a number of passing references to the great Empire!

It all makes fascinating reading, and what is most amazing is the quality of reproduction, given the age of the original, and the incredible value for money. And it's a hardback! Less than a tenner - an essential puchase indeed. There are even a few, admittedly small, town plans of great cities at the back.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 18 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
Having been charmed by the television series Great British railway journeys, I finally decided I had to have my own copy. This reproduction is fascinating, not just because of the extraordinary amount of information it contains but in the way it shows the evolution of not just Britain over 140 years but in the printed word. The book is most certainly not "user friendly" in a 21st century manner but once you work out how to navigate around the many different indexes it provides a wonderful insight into Victorian world which is both similar and totally alien to us now. One can only guess how on earth Bradshaw collected all this vast amount of information but we should be glad he did. I was particularly amused to read that the area which now contains Gatwick airport is stated to "present no feature of importance". You can/will lose yourself for hours reading about places you know and have visited as they were during the 19th century. This is the most delightful book and is heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid purchase, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
Received this book 2 days after placing the order. In my head there was a vague image of the typical large print early 21st century remake of a classic book complete with modern jargon and abbreviations.

Imagine my suprise and absolute delight to be presented with an (almost) exact reproduction of the original, complete with tiny victorian typeset and reproduction maps.

From a historical point of view this book is great, very informative about destinations and written in a prosaic form of english which, alas, has faded somewhat from our modernistic life. No celebrity goss or Text 4 U in this book.

Having read about my locality I now understand the reason why certain places and things have the weird and wonderful names thay have.

Its a really good read.

The book itself is square shaped much like an old type Bible - and just as thick - and the cover has been made to look like the original.

All in all - for the amount of money spent - its a splendid purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Amazing, 29 Jan 2012
By 
J. Vaughan (Worthing, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
I have been 'in and around' books for 60 years and I must say that this superb product combined with the truly amazing Amazon deal is a milestone in publishing. How do they do it? 5 including postage, I am flabbergasted. I have Bradshaws timetables back to 1861 and they are remarkable but for this 'in demand' Bradshaw Handbook, which in original form has escalated in cost to hundreds of pounds,the chance of ownership for the price of a pint must be the best deal ever. Well reproduced and nicely bound this book is a gem with truly remarkable old fashioned and much lamented English from 1863. I can do nothing else but highly recommend this product - I have had so much enjoyment from it already. GO FOR IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book of The Year ?, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
Recieved my copy today and it is amazing.I know it's only mid January but I'm sure this will be voted one of the best if not the best non-fiction books of the year,when all those lists come out in December.
A good solid book,print quality excellent,value for money unbelievable,what more is there to say!
Buy one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Old House edition of Bradshaw's Handbook is very much a curate's egg, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
On the one hand, Old House is to be applauded for providing an exceedingly cheap facsimile edition, in hardcover, of the important and very rare 1863 edition of Bradshaw's Handbook (just 5 from Amazon). However, this venture is let down by the publication being incomplete and inconsistently so. While the illustrations listed in the indices of each of the four sections refers to maps and town plans, only the plans of Sections 3 and 4 are included (at the back) and then reduced from foldouts to the size of a page (less than A5 in size) where they are unusable. The town plans of Sections 1 and 2 are omitted. Why? Moreover, none of the foldout maps are included in this edition, presumably for the reasons given by `Historystudent' on behalf of Old House, namely that the originals of the maps (and some of the town plans?) in the copy used for the facsimile are in poor condition. In that case, it would have been logical to fill these gaps with the maps and town plans of the 1866 edition, say (which are not significantly different). The mid Victorian maps and town plans are fascinating and an essential complement to Bradshaw's text. It is very frustrating that these are missing and `Historystundent' should not brush this omission aside so lightly.

For those who are interested in viewing (at a readable scale) the maps and plans from Bradshaw (apart from those that featured on the back of each title, which are not included), I can strongly recommend the on-line 1866 version of Bradshaw (including the indulgent supplements of advertisements that were not present the original 1863 edition): this can be viewed and downloaded gratis as four pdf files from the "hathitrust digital library", under "Bradshaw's handbook for tourists in Great Britain", as explained by another reviewer. For me the optimum solution is to possess the low budget Old House volume (which is well printed and readable) for the text together with printouts of the maps and plans magnified to a satisfactory scale from the pdf files available online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute bargain!, 20 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) (Hardcover)
I can't see how they've done this for the money, an absolute bargain! A nice compact size, like the original, but all the volumes in one book. The print quality is surprisingly good, OK it's cheap paper but what do you expect at this price. Maps and pictures are included as the original book and are of very good quality. I'm amazed they've managed to produce such quality from a facsimile.
The actual original books are almost impossible to find and if you could they cost a small fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good., 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Used by Michael Portillo to a wonderful effect.So much of Britain has altered since this Bradshaw guide.Bradshaws guide to Europe with Michael Portillo was also first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 257 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House)
Bradshaw's Handbook - A Facsimile of the Famous Guide (Old House) by George Bradshaw (Hardcover - 20 Dec 2011)
5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews