Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars107
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2015
This is a fantastic book and gives a really interesting insight into what an amazing country Scotland is and could be if it was allowed to flourish. I found this far more informative than any of the newspaper articles in Scottish newspapers and Lesley Riddoch has done a grand job of pulling together her many years of research and observations. I wish her every success with this book as she is to be congratulated for championing Scotland's future with such enthusiasm and passion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
If only all books on the future of Scotland were this interesting and thought provoking we would be laughing! Get it and read it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
A stimulating and thought provoking study of what we in Scotland could do. A great lesson for citizens of other countries looking for new ways of living. Thoroughly recommended. We need far more books like these to lift our spirits and give us hope for a better future. Her talk on YouTube gives more examples of hope for the future ... And warnings about the present. http://youtu.be/sUmhqLS5NVY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
A fresh viewpoint on the Scottish Independence referendum from a seasoned observer of the Scottish media. Thought provoking and enlightening.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This book brings in to focus many questions and offers some possible solutions we could look at in a future Independent Scotland. It does not give definitive answers but it starts the discussion that will be needed. A must read book for anyone looking to learn more about the Independence debate and some of the issues that face us moving forward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
This book gave me a greater understanding of life in Scotland today and a feeling for the people, their humor, warmth and doggedness
in the face of adversity. The coverage on tenement living, land tenure and language I found revealing in ways that straight history books
do not cover. A book of the people and for the people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I have admired Lesley Riddoch as a broadcaster and campaigner for years, this is her view on how Scotland became the way we find her now and the alternatives for her future. She eloquently draws in many strands from history and the realities of other small countries. I found Blossem imaginative, inspiring and extremely well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
A very readable book. Lesley uses real life cases to illustrate the optimistic points she is trying to get across. I don't share her love of tenements having lived in one for 3 years but I accept her points about why they would appeal to some people. It's a very positive book looking ahead to how a future Scotland could develop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
The book looks at the prospect of independence from a different perspective. It asks the reader to consider the type of country they would like to build. The book looks at the approach taken by the Nordic countries and what can be achieved by empowered citizens who are given the tools to act locally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
This is a fantastic book which explores why Scotland, despite being one of the most naturally rich countries in the developed world, has some of the worst outcomes for her people. Lesley looks to the Nordic countries and land reform to offer some ideas for an alternative future. Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)