Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful perspective on Scotland's future
The Scots are notoriously ignorant about their own country and, by that measure, I found this marvellous book to be an eye-opener, changing my viewpoint and forcing me to reappraise my own attitudes. Lesley Riddoch, who for many years has been observing, writing about and getting involved in Scotland's communities, pinpoints the vast but untapped potential of the people...
Published 11 months ago by R. Woodburn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it seems
Heralded as an argument for Scottish independence in reality this is more of a collection of essays on various aspects of Scottish political life and an argument for grass roots politics, with a vague case for independence tagged on the end. It's an interesting read in parts as social commentary, but rambling and not well written, indeed at points it's really not clear...
Published 15 days ago by Lendrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic view of how a new Scotland could emerge, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Dr I.M Maitland-Hume (Berwickshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I suspect that if all those favouring a solution to many of our ills had this book as part of their essential reading, then Scotland would become a really vibrant country. The debate about land ownership is very contemporary, but perhaps Leslie Rhiddoch should extend her research a wee bit to bring in the very diverse patterns already existing. The constant reference to the Duke of Buccleuch rather belittles the scope and his peculiar example is also a very complex one, even when it comes to grouse moors. Generally the book offers a great challenge to those who regulate our lives. If only they would listen!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much-needed overview of what independence is for, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Andrew Bentley-Steed "Methvens" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We're all waiting for the London-based, foreign-owned media to actually start doing their job and analysing not just the facts but why we in Scotland are considering independence in the first place.

This is the book you should read if you're not a millionaire, have never used an accountant to dodge taxes and wondered why Scotland can sometimes appear so poor if we're supposed to have all the wealth we need to be able to run our own affairs.

This book overturns a lot of our misconceptions and will make uncomfortable reading for anyone who has ever voted Tory, Labour or LibDem (I won't be voting for any of these guys again) but it is a MUST READ. The wonderful thing about Lesley's arguments is that she's not shouty, she doesn't curse you for thinking differently from her but simply asks you questions and then leads you through the evidence.

Lesley's book isn't saying 'why' we should have independence but shows what could be done with available resources and that's important. We all know that things need to change - even if the London plutocrats win the referendum - we just don't always know how we can go about this or which of Scotland's many problems we should tackle first.

What I particularly enjoyed was Lesley's simple, family-first approach: housing, education, health and property-ownership. Why, for instance do the same 400-odd families still own more than 60% of Scotland more than 300 years after Union? Why do we not trust people in social housing to run their own affairs given that co-operatives are proven - yes, proven - to be able to do this more cheaply and more efficiently than when councils have direct control?

Each chapter has a comprehensive list of online references which you can read in your own time - many of them sourced from the same departments giving data to Cameron, Osborne, Darling et al. (which inevitably raises the uncomfortable question of why Gordon Brewer, Jackie Bird, Kirsty Wark - among others - allow Darling, Brown, Osborne, Alexander and Cameron to continue repeating their myths unchallenged. Doesn't the BBC do any research?)

By the end of this book, I was missing those pre-Andrew Neil days at 'The Scotsman' when what was once - and isn't now by a long stretch - Scotland's newspaper, would analyse all the arguments from all points of view and present them in a way that allows you to make up your own mind. And that's the thing, this referendum is about us making up our own minds and we can only do that with information. Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let Lesley Flourish, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wee need to see more of the author on our TVs and around the country, her take on where we should be going as a country is a must read and if you could sit her down with everone in the country the referendum would be a landslide for Yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blossom, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant vision of what Scotland could be once She is independant. Highly recomended for all sides in the debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who lives in Scotland and cares about their fellow inhabitants should read this book.

A real eye opener as to the "Scottish condition".

Once you've finished reading it pass it around everyone you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for 2014., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blossom: What Scotland Needs to Flourish (Viewpoints) (Paperback)
A fascinating, complex, very readable and informative book. Many anecdotal illustrations, which give solid credence to the text. Well done Lesley Riddoch, a timely book - have been promoting it widely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blossom was blooming brilliant, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blossom: What Scotland Needs to Flourish (Viewpoints) (Paperback)
This book is brilliant. It's an evidence-based look at Scotland - its past and its future. Where Lesley Riddoch is expressing her opinion, she clearly says so. Otherwise the facts speak for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We can change Scotland for the better., 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, covering important issues for Scotland. The land reform section of particular interest.Scotland with independence can flourish! Lesley Riddoch brings a new perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every Scot should read this book before making a decision on how they will vote in next years referendum! A thought provoking and extremely well written book, really highlights the differences and opportunities available to this nation...based on good research with great examples of how communities can work together to make it work. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put this on the national curriculum, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This should be on the national curriculum so that, no matter the situation on 19th Sept, so that the next generation can throw off the shackles of the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blossom: What Scotland Needs to Flourish (Viewpoints)
Blossom: What Scotland Needs to Flourish (Viewpoints) by Lesley Riddoch (Paperback - 30 Aug 2013)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews