Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!
I love this book! At last someone has written a guidebook to the Scottish mountains that is FUN. All the information you could ever want is here, with bang up to date route descriptions of all kinds, from simple walks to hard scrambles. Also, unlike many guides, it doesn't confuse a scramble with something you need a rope on. The attention to detail is impressive, but...
Published on 19 Dec 2008 by Sandi Phillips

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Munro ultimate guide Vol 1
I read the book when I bought it and was disappointed. I've not looked at it since. It it smaller than I thought, designed more for taking with you than for reading in the house. It contains too much information for it's small pages. It has maps but they are hard to read.
I wouldn't recommend buying this book, much better taking an Ordnance survey map with you up the...
Published 10 months ago by GCR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 19 Dec 2008
I love this book! At last someone has written a guidebook to the Scottish mountains that is FUN. All the information you could ever want is here, with bang up to date route descriptions of all kinds, from simple walks to hard scrambles. Also, unlike many guides, it doesn't confuse a scramble with something you need a rope on. The attention to detail is impressive, but what makes this particular guide special is the way it is presented.

It's in full colour and has tons of photos overlaid with the names of the mountains and other features so you don't have to check the map to work out what is what. I haven't seen this done since Poucher's old books and it really is a useful feature in a rucksack-friendly guide that you can carry. Best of all, the book `pretends' to have been written by the Go Take A Hike mountaineering club, whose members all have their bit to say about a route. For instance, Needlepoint points out any routefinding problems if cloud should fall, Chilly Willy tells you about winter route conditions. My favourite is Baffies, who is `allergic to exertion' and is a fund of knowledge about nearby tea rooms.

One drawback is that, being chock full of stuff, the book only has room to cover the Southern Highlands, but it is called Volume 1 so I assume more are on their way. Ralph Storer has written a number of guidebooks but this is by far his best one yet. Can't wait to see what Baffies makes of Glen Coe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This great series continues, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to the Munros, Volume 4: Cairngorms South (Paperback)
The other books in this series contained more information and detail than any other guide book to the munros. This book continues along the same theme, with the only noticeable difference is that the book is quite thin! The book is only 135 pages long, compared to the other volumes which are 230 pages long! I guess this is because there are not very many possible route options for some of the Munro next to the A9. The guide book is also the cheapest. One good difference from the other guide books, is that Ralph Storer has started adding talking information (this started in Vol.3, but not in any detail), which is quite useful. Overall I give this book the benefit of the doubt, as it is still the most detailed Munro guide book for the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Munro ultimate guide Vol 1, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the book when I bought it and was disappointed. I've not looked at it since. It it smaller than I thought, designed more for taking with you than for reading in the house. It contains too much information for it's small pages. It has maps but they are hard to read.
I wouldn't recommend buying this book, much better taking an Ordnance survey map with you up the mountains and buying Cameron McNeish's 'The Munros' for the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Sep 2013
This series is fantastic. Every escape route is shown, notes on winter conditions, etc. I'm not going to use any other guidebooks again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book for helping you conquer the munros., 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to the Munros, Volume 4: Cairngorms South (Paperback)
Im already familiar with the walk highlands website by paul and helen webster and decided on this book to help me on my missions. Gives great in depth directions on all munros so in my eyes a must to have in the house or car. also allows you to start off with easier routes.. Hardback mite have been a better choice though! still great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best munros guides in existence, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Guide to the Munros, Volume 4: Cairngorms South (Paperback)
All of Ralph Storer's books are incredibly detailed and full of extremely useful information. Also amusingly written! Can strongly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious but flawed, 25 Feb 2009
Ralph Storer wrote "100 Best Scottish Mountain Routes". That book is close to perfection. Unfortunately he pretty much said it all in that book.

It's hard to see who this current book is aimed at. For the inexperienced, it's got too much information and a lot of it's highly subjective. For the experienced, his judgements and omissions will irritate.

He doesn't rate the Glenartney approach to Ben Vorlich. Well that route gives a great perspective on Ben Vorlich / Stuc a Chroin on the walk in and also allows combination with Meall na Fearna.

He's far from comprehensive. The Ben Lomond approach via Comer, the only one you'll have to yourself isn't mentioned. The Cairn Mairg group is inevitably treated as four hills which must be done from Invervar - you can have more fun and privacy doing them in pairs from Fortingall and Camusvrachan (from where you can throw in Beinn Dearg.)

Go on, treat yourself buy "100 Routes" then start working out your own way round the hills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, 23 Dec 2008
I agree with the above reviewer. Unlike some guidebooks I could mention, Ralph Storer writes about the mountains as though he's talking to you as a friend, with refreshing honesty, humour and irreverence. From the Life of Brian lettering on the front cover to the last sunset picture, this has the makings of a cult guidebook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the rest of the books, this is an all round winner!, 26 April 2009
By 
Tony Muldoon (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
I've got all books going and i'd say that this is my favourite all rounder. Some of the others will provider a better read at home by the fireside but for sticking in your pocket as a reference guide on the hills, this one just hits the spot.

I've got Ralph Storer's "100 Best Scottish Mountain Routes" and i'd agree with Weedavie in that it is an excellent read with all the info you need to plan things from home but out on the hills you gladly sacrafice this info for the OS map routes and photos with simple hill names superimposed on them (a simple idea that no one else seems to do that much?).

OK, the purists out there aren't going to like the little sub-characters in the book like "F-Shot" who tells you about the views or "Chilly Willy" who'll tell you what the winter conditions are like but I think it just adds to the whole charm of the thing.

I like to think of my self as one of the younger generation of hill walkers (just...) and though I love the hills I just find some of the other books a bit dry and bland. The ultimate guide is great, it has all the visuals you'll need for route finding under normal conditions (remembering though that you should always carry a map!), spotting other hills from the top and it makes a good guide along with some of the others for planning your trips. Most of all, it fits in your pocket which is something that many of the others won't.

Roll on the next few volumes...

Happy walking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Detail, But Low Quality Manufacture, 25 July 2011
Very good effort from Storer, but there is just so much detail and so many (sometimes low quality) routes and variations, frequently spread over a number of pages with multiple x-references to route numbers on small and fuzzy OS maps covered in red lines, that it can be hard to see the wood for the trees.

The binding is very low quality. These books will not last. The pages are glued in individually rather than sewn in sections like the SMC and Cicerone Munros guides. 14.99 retail should buy you better quality than this.

Expect the pages to start falling out soon. At least this means you can save weight by taking pages on the hill rather than the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Guide to the Munros, Volume 4: Cairngorms South
The Ultimate Guide to the Munros, Volume 4: Cairngorms South by Ralph Storer (Paperback - 1 Nov 2012)
9.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews