Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2014
A huge book, not just an A-Z of names, but also tells you the most popular names for various countries, and helpfully points out things like watch out what your babys initials are going to be.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
This is a comprehensive book with 3 parts. Unlike some books that just give lists of names, the first part goes through registering a name, what was hot last year along with other advice sections. The other two parts are then boys and girls names.
Besides American and Christian names the book lists many ethnic names: Indian, Arabic etc
The good thing is that there are many many names both traditional and modern and some I'm sure you would just not think of yourself!
The down side is that although meanings are give I think the book would benefit from showing how to pronounce some of the names
All in all a well written and comprehensive book for baby names - in a market where there are so many this should be a first choice
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
I found this book to be very informative with lots of information. It doesn't just cover names and their meanings it gives lots of other information from registering names to the names that no one should be saddled with. I would recommend this book for it's use in choosing a name and also for the other information provided. A Barton.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Great selection of names split into alphabetical male and female sections, all of the classics and some really random names that maybe only celebrities should consider.

Nice that it is republished annually and felt up to date.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
This was a complete waste of money. Should have realised it's limitations as it had 2014 in the title. If it didn't happen in 2013-2014 it's not in this book. Useful if you want to avoid names that are currently popular.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
Brilliant has all different meaning of the names and different spellings even has traditional Scottish, irish etc. Names which I wanted even more unusual names as well definitely recommend this to any mum :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
This was only a couple of quid for kindle but all the information here is readily available on the internet on numerous baby name sites. I wouldn't bother with this book, I would just use the internet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
Very comprehensive guide that global trends and names for boys and girls. It underlines the fact children's names are important not just a chance to use careless names.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
This book is perfect if you plan to call your child Mungo, Kermit or Nimrod. If not, it is a complete and utter waste of your money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Read the book in an hour and no names jumped out on me. Probably because I am fussy. Great if you want a more traditional name.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.