Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful rock memoir and compelling read
This book was a gift from an Irish friend who sent me the hardcover version with the orange-y photo. Trusting that there is no material difference between this Jawbone paperback version and the one I read (other than the cover), I have written my review for anyone who is considering buying this book.

When I read that Mike Scott was going to publish his...
Published on 16 Aug 2012 by Dolphin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only half way there
The first two thirds of the book were pretty much about the trials and tribulations of being in the Waterboys, and I commend his honesty in describing some of the cock-ups made along the way. I found it more interesting when Mike found himself at Findhorn and his discussions about religion and what it means to him and how he came to the realisation that 'I am God' (You...
Published 14 months ago by Michael Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful rock memoir and compelling read, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Dolphin (Stuck inside a cloud) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adventures Of A Waterboy (Paperback)
This book was a gift from an Irish friend who sent me the hardcover version with the orange-y photo. Trusting that there is no material difference between this Jawbone paperback version and the one I read (other than the cover), I have written my review for anyone who is considering buying this book.

When I read that Mike Scott was going to publish his autobiography, I was intrigued. As well as being one of my favourite musicians, his refusal to play the media game has made him a figure of mystery and unexplained contradictions. Also, rock star memoirs tend to be a very mixed bunch, but it's not often that we get the straight goods from the pen of the concerned individual and, as in this case, from someone who seems born to write.

This book is a fascinating read. The style is charming: introspective, intense, lyrical, humorous, self-deprecating but with a kind of proud integrity. The structure is intriguing: each chapter begins with a flash-back in the present tense. Imagine flipping through a photo album, looking at a snapshot (or perhaps a short video-clip) of a particular occasion and then reading about the circumstances surrounding it. This is not a continuous narrative and each episode is deliberately selected but I felt Mike did not shy away from prickly subjects, such as the logistics of taking a band on the road, the difficult decisions he had to make involving contracts, other band members, managers, booking agents, musical choices. It's amazing to see how much influence some of these support players have on the success of a musical release.

I really enjoyed the glimpse we are given into the passion which drives the music, often to the obliteration of everything else. It was fascinating to read the story behind some of the songs: the lengthy evolution of "The Whole of the Moon" from a look at the sky for inspiration and a couple of lines on the back of an envelope to a charismatic, unforgettable musical creation; or the tensions building to boiling-point and erupting in the first draft of "Fisherman's Blues"; or how personal turmoil produced the most exquisite compositions about love and its dramatic demise. The Spiddal sessions and the months in Galway read like a true otherworldly adventure then the book becomes a page-turner. An unexpected bonus: as I progressed through the book, I listened again to the songs mentioned and found that the knowledge gleaned from the stories added so much to my enjoyment of the music and helped me appreciate its deeper layers.

During the promotional drive, Scott gave numerous readings and interviews, and emphasised that this book was all about the musical journey that started with him at a very early age and continues to shape his destiny to this day. I was, therefore, surprised by the personal nature of the narrative and the honesty with which Mike bares his soul in recounting salient points in his life, even when this candour doesn't flatter his image. I think he actually relished the chance to shed some light on his personal spiritual journey and to dispel the misconceptions that inevitably arose. However, there are limits to the disclosure. Mike Scott is clearly a private person and respectful of the people in his life, so it's not surprising that there is none of the usual gossip about kiss-and-tell groupie romps. His two wives, naturally, make an appearance but are not discussed in tabloid-style detail. Tucked in the middle are a few (too few!) black-and-white photos and at the end, a quirky appendix.

For me the disappointing aspect is that the book ends around 2000, leaving a substantial portion of his story untold. While this could point to a possible sequel, Scott himself has been non-committal, saying only that these missing years are still too raw to become book material. Perhaps he wants to wait and see if there is something sensational to write about after he moves back to New York later this year. After all, he has said in interviews that the current Waterboys are hungry for recognition, so perhaps with a fire still burning in his belly and his creativity apparently in full flood, his mature self will manage that most elusive of musical miracles, the come-back with new material. Already his "Appointment with Mr Yeats" has been remarkably well received by critics and public alike. The Waterboys in their new incarnation could well be the breath of fresh air that the currently dismal music scene so badly needs.

Meanwhile it will be interesting to see what kind of havoc this fun-loving, but formidably-focussed master of his trade can wreak with the wind back in his sails. Because one thing is clear: for Scott the music always came first and his perception of what his Muse required to manifest herself has shaped his life and philosophy. If you enjoy a fascinating real-life story, exquisite prose, original turns of phrase and vivid pictorial descriptions, as well as an insight into the mind of one of the most gifted and unorthodox musicians of our times, this book will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for the waterboy lover, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures Of A Waterboy (Paperback)
I preordered this book when I came across it on amazon and then immediately forgot about it. Two months later, and the morning before taking a road trip through france, minus children, with my honey, it arrived. My road trip had got off to a good start.

When ever my partner and I get some quality time together we always read a book together. Three days in a windy shack in Cornwall two months earlier we had read Oscar Wilde's Dorian Gray and this trip we had D.H Lawrence warmed up as we headed down to Dover. I started reading Mike's books when the misses was off doing her own business but soon suggested to her that we might take a quick break from Lawrence to read Scott.

I've been a fan of The Waterboys since 1990 when I discovered a song called Golden Age on the back of a Whole of the Moon 12 inch. I soon had a collection of albums which I played to death. My closest friends also got involved. It was Fisherman's Blues that taught me and my mates how to play guitar.

A few years past and I was listening to James, Hothouse flowers and the Saw Doctors and living in a Bethnal Green commune. Cycling to Uni one day I cam across a poster which stopped me in my tracks - Mike playing solo in Hackney. I readily informed the others and off we went.

The solo stuff became a backdrop to my experience during the nineties - bring em all in and still burning mirrored what was going on in my own inner life. I found myself in Findhorn workshops via these albums.

The impact Mike's music and lyrics have had on me as a person have been immense. And I should imagine there are thousands like me, who found something common to them through these songs. And so, of course, the book gives you insight 'behind the scenes' of these lyrics ans melodies.

Reading the autobiograpgy with my partner as we camped through France was a highlight of the trip. Of course whilst I was able to pick up on text lifed from lyrics ("I knew she was the one for me, 'I could feel it in my guts'") for both of us it was primarily an engaging read about someone's experience in the world. My partner and I had suggested we might go through the book and highlight similies and metaphors - there are hundreds, practically every sentence has one attached to it! But we found this amusing and perhaps suggestive of the songwriters art.

The thing I got from the book is that the music has always come first in the life of Mike and the Waterboys. His musical experience in Ireland is articulate and profound - although references to looking in a mirror and seeing Pan will make some people's arse twitch. And there's personal tragedy here too. Broken friendships and marriages. The fall and rise of the person of Steve Wickham and the remake of their friendship is moving.

It is a shame it finisihed in 2000. I wanted to read on and on.

I saw The W'boys in Luton in May this year and everything has been transfered to my ipod since.

As Alan Mcgee says of Mike's music 'beatiful and genius'.

Long may it continue...xxx

R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, revealing, thought-provoking and inspiring read!, 19 Aug 2012
By 
D. HAMMOND (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures Of A Waterboy (Paperback)
Mike has a way with words and writing that I find very engaging. His reflections on the challenges that face the frontman of a band are insightful and honest and reveal a man who clearly has grappled with these on many an occasion. It's fascinating to learn some of the origins of his songs, and to take in what it must mean to have music in your head from a young age and be guided by that so strongly throughout your life, as Mike has. I imagine most people who would be interested in this book will already be a fan of his songwriting, music and live performances, as I am, and I think this book shares with us even more of the inside/outside world of a man who continues to break new ground with his work, with intelligence, warmth, humour and sheer aliveness. I loved this book and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to add., 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't add anything to Dolphin's review as that pretty much covers it. The feeling of candour and delight in each episode's retelling makes a way better autobiography than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It came like a comet...! A brilliantly written memoir of inspirational days!, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures Of A Waterboy (Paperback)
Mike Scott's music has been a constant companion since my youth. Mike is one of two artists who's music has accompanied me along the path of life. As you would expect from a person who's own love of books and poetry so often punctuates his songwriting, this book is brilliantly written. As a fan, this book colours in those periods between records, the much documented, but sketchily known times of creativity and personal enlightenment. But it is a book for any rock fan, there are few so eloquently written by an artist themselves. Mike's description of his early attempts at recording will strike a chord in anyone who bought a guitar and formed a band in their teenage years and the descriptions of discovering Ireland clarify exactly what the craic was in those emerald years. It is a wonderful memoir, as entertaining as the records themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant autobiography - fascinating and revealing, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adventures Of A Waterboy (Paperback)
Following his inner musical and spiritual instincts rather than the road to commercial gain, a personal account of the career of Waterboys mainman Mike Scott was always going to be a fascinating read. Quite a lot has already been reflected upon and revealed in the sleeve notes of reissued albums as well as an excellent unauthorised biography by Ian Abrahams though none of this is a substitute for a summation by Scott himself. And what a fantastic and fascinating autobiography he has produced.

Mike Scott is an avid reader and has always been considered as one of the more intelligent rock stars so it's no surprise that Adventures Of A Waterboy is extremely well written. An excellent mixture of imaginative and more factual chronology works well in a very honest and revealing read about Mike's musical and personal relationships, the highs and lows of his career and his machinations with the music business - despite his instinctive, often spiritual musical moves, his drive for success and uncompromising dealings with those not part of his vision also comes through. Even so, most of the musicians and managers he's spurned at various times don't have lasting bad words to say about him.

Back to the book itself, Adventures Of A Waterboy is episodic for the earlier years before becoming a more continuous biography for the mid-period from third album This Is The Sea (1985) onwards - mid-period only though as the book finishes in 2000 as Mike is still trying to assess the later years himself. Focussing at times on some of the lesser-known parts of the Mike Scott story, AOAW is an excellent read, highly recommended for fans or anyone interested in the workings of the 80s and 90s music business. Always destined to be a fascinating read, the great Scott has surpassed all expectations with this highly literate and honest musical story. Brilliant and well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for rock fans, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures Of A Waterboy (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book. In the last 6 months I have read autobiographies by Keef , Eric , Ozzy, Mark E Smith and Peter Hook. Mike Scott's is the only one which is a fantastic piece of writing as well as a rock piece. The really interesting aspect of the book is Scott's spiritual journey as a man as well as the trials and tribulations of a muso. Having watched them deliver a brilliant performance on Jools last year, I was really looking forward to the section leading up to the present, but alas the book finishes at about the turn of the century. I really hope that the next volume is in process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars men with insight, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great read of mikes journey from boy to man.an insightful story full of mystery and joy. the waterboys are a magnificent band and mike is the captain of the ship.thank you mr scott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only half way there, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first two thirds of the book were pretty much about the trials and tribulations of being in the Waterboys, and I commend his honesty in describing some of the cock-ups made along the way. I found it more interesting when Mike found himself at Findhorn and his discussions about religion and what it means to him and how he came to the realisation that 'I am God' (You have to read it to understand).
However please be warned the book stops at around 'Rock in a Weary Land'. Has nothing of interest happened since then or do we have to wait for part two?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a must read, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures Of A Waterboy (Paperback)
Re lived my teenage years by reading through the creation of This is the Sea... I couldn't put it down, Mike Scott has so much energy and this is an energetic interesting read, I loved it. My own complaint is i could have read another 10 chapters!!!! If you like the Waterboys, it's a must......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures Of A Waterboy
Adventures Of A Waterboy by Mike Scott (Paperback - 16 Aug 2012)
10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews