Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite Novel
In The Generation Game Sophie Duffy creates characters so real that long after I finished reading I could imagine them, in Devon, going about their lives. This beautiful and skillfully written novel takes us on the journey of Phillipa's life, her heartaches, her courage and her triumphs. The seemingly ordinary people around her do extraordinary things, their hearts and...
Published 23 months ago by Liz Ringrose

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good romantic story
The story was good, but I didn't like the style of writing. It jumps about from the present day to previous decades all the way through the book. It is the life story of a woman from birth to motherhood, with one or two surprises on the way and a lovely twist near the end.
Published 5 months ago by Reading lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good story., 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very enjoyable read - a bit different. Although I was born in the 50s I loved all the references to the TV programmes of the 70s. I liked the characters and the way the story was written. I didn't guess the ending but was very satisfied with the outcome of the plot. I will definitely look out for more books by Sophie Duffy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Believable characters in a topsy turvy world. Phillippa is left with an"uncle"when her mother runs off to Canada. Through all her trials and tribulations she makes her mark in the family and we end up with a Happy ever after story. Thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slice of family life!, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A perfect portrait of a wife and mother. Funny, sad, but always warm and embracing. Quite an uplifting read. It will appeal to those who like realistic novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just can't put it down, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can really relate to the characters and the era. Sophie brilliantly captures the small details of everyday life - most charmingly portrayed through the eyes of young Philippa....read on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable., 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Generation Game (Paperback)
I loved this. Read it over 2 nights and laughed and cried. Would definitely recommend, especially if you spent your Saturday nights watching The Generation Game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyabe, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great story, told really well, with engaging characters. Some very good twists. I really enjoyed the nostalgia as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. The author must be a similar.age to me as the passage of time was marked television programmes of my childhood and beyond. I literally felt sadness when I reached the end of the book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Generation Game, 17 Jan 2014
Beautiful written story. How all the lives intertwine is clever and reflects real life. Glad there is a happy ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Generation Game, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ti was recommend to me,and i enjoyed it so mush its a book for all ages and for me a lovely ending couldnt asks for more Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful read, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book - a gentle, quirky tale with a twist in the ending. It's beautifully written, and intersperses recent events with Philippa's childhood and youth, with (of course) a reference to the iconic TV programme that gives the book its title. As I grew up through a similar period to the main character, I particularly enjoyed the reminders of current events and popular culture. Witty, poignant and unputdownable, this entertains without falling into the 'chick lit' genre. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Generation Game
The Generation Game by Sophie Duffy (Paperback - 1 Aug 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews