Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It is the true story of a horse Warrior and his friend Jack Seely and their adventures together. It is a beautifully written book about a time and way of life which does no longer exist. I would say read it and weep - in the sense of the bond between Warrior and Jack and the empathy between them and also for the...
Published on 30 Oct 2011 by Rowena

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too sad for horse or people loversp
Too sad for me. Horse lovers won't love it. The story written from the horses point of view and if you like a happy story don't choose this
Published 11 months ago by Adrienne Prendergast


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My book of the year, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. It is the true story of a horse Warrior and his friend Jack Seely and their adventures together. It is a beautifully written book about a time and way of life which does no longer exist. I would say read it and weep - in the sense of the bond between Warrior and Jack and the empathy between them and also for the story of Cinderella (Warrior's mother). I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone horsey inclined or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Amazing Book that deserves to be a Bestseller, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
It's a long time since I've read a non-fiction book that is so completely unputdownable. 'Warrior' is first-hand WW1 history but is so much more than that. It is an incredible account of a man and his horse's experiences on the battlefields of 1914-18 and their against-all-the-odds survival. General Jack Seely writes in a down-to-earth but moving way of the many incidents that made his horse, Warrior, a legend in the trenches. The sensitive illustrations are by the renowned artist, Sir Alfred Munnings who had a huge respect for Warrior. Many accounts of war horses are sad and depressing but this one is not. Warrior's courage, intelligence and his close relationship with Seely, plus at times unbelievable luck, enable their survival and return to the Isle of Wight at the end of the war. This is my favourite book of the year. A 5 star strong buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
Warrior is a lovely book although tinged with a lot of sadness. It talks about how horses suffered during the 14-18 war, (it is estimated that over 8 million horses, donkeys and mules died in this war)but also how their riders looked after them as best they could.I guess the Spielberg film will be more dramatic but this is a real story about a real horse.
I think this is an informative read for anyone whether they are involved with horses or not. People can decide whether to fight each other or not but horses do not have a say in the matter.
It is also interesting to note that this book was originally written in 1934 and there are comments in there which relate very accurately to the communucation between horse and owner, so once again it is clear natural horsemen have been around for a long long time.
A very enlightened quote from the book "The soul of a horse is a great and loyal soul, above all courageous and affectionate. But let there be one cruel blow from a human and you have ruined the horse's fine soul and spirit for ever." The dream of the writer, General Jack Seely, is that anyone who reads the book may vow never to beat a willing horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 17 Oct 2011
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
A touching and heartwarming true story. Fascinating insight into WW1 and the relationships that were forged between man and animal, which all to often are overlooked or not even acknowledged.

Beautifully illustrated and compiled - Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Warrior, 4 Jan 2012
By 
D. J. Barton Smith "DBS" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
This book was a very interesting, enjoyable but all to short read. If humans exhibited more of Warrior's qualities, what a better world we would live in. Once I started to read it I could not put it down. Many of the sentiments and turns of phrase are from a time with different values and outlook but were well received by me. Munnings drawings and nice little pieces from the wonderful Sir Peter O'Sullevan and the ever readable Bruogh Scott made this little book one to keep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warrior, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
I'm so glad this book has been reprinted. It is an inspiring story - could hardly put the book down once I started reading it.
Anyone who has seen or read the fictional "War Horse" should read this true account of a remarkable horse.
Born on the Isle of Wight, served in France and Belgium throughout the First World War and returned home to win the IoW Pont to Point in 1922 ! Remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Christmas present, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
The cover of Warrior invites you in to learn the real story of War Horse. This is a wonderfully written book in the way that Sassoon or Robert Graves brings to life the first war. The added bonus for me was the amazing story of the devoted partnership of Jack Seely and Warrior the horse that took him through four years of war. For those who ride, hunt or love horses or military history this is would make an excellent Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warrior, 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
Read various book reviews and details of stage show, all sounded interesting. The book about the "real" horse lived up to it's reputation. You have to admire the bravery of both men and horses. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Book, 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
This is a great read,could not put it down,for me a sad ending but i will give nothing away.Did not realise what horses ha dto do in the great war.very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read for all the family, 24 Dec 2011
This review is from: Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband but my horse mad teenage daughter and war mad sons also enjoyed it. We will also be going to see war horse soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse
Warrior: The Amazing Story of a Real War Horse by General Jack Seely (Hardcover - 10 Oct 2011)
Used & New from: £8.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews