Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful images, fascinating subjects
I pre-ordered this in March and it arrived a few days ago. It was worth the wait.

Having followed Rebecca Litchfield on social media for some time, I have been fascinated by her work, expecially the Urbex aspect. I am easily old enough to remember the days of the Soviet Union and its secrecy, so to have the remnants presented like this is quite poignant. I...
Published 3 months ago by flowersbloom

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, lovely photographs that pull you in. ...
Interesting book, lovely photographs that pull you in. A little bit more history to the locations would have made it a 4.
Published 1 month ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful images, fascinating subjects, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
I pre-ordered this in March and it arrived a few days ago. It was worth the wait.

Having followed Rebecca Litchfield on social media for some time, I have been fascinated by her work, expecially the Urbex aspect. I am easily old enough to remember the days of the Soviet Union and its secrecy, so to have the remnants presented like this is quite poignant. I think Litchfield has captured the subject matter beautifully and with a serene respect, taking photos but leaving no traces. I will enjoy leafing through this as a work of art in its own right, and also giving me some inspiration for my own photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic photography of amazing locations., 6 Sep 2014
By 
Denny "Denny" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
The locations in this book are amazing - huge pieces of brutalist architectural history, slowly decaying despite their incredibly solid construction. The condition these places are in now just highlights how impressive they must have been at their peak.

On top of that, the photography is absolutely excellent - Rebecca clearly has both a fantastic eye for selecting and framing a shot, and also the technical skills to get that shot from her mind, through her lens, and onto the page for you to admire. Not to mention the audacity to visit some locations that most of us wouldn't go anywhere near - whether that's because of the danger inherent in the decaying building/monument/etc, or the more dramatic danger of locations guarded by armed police or even Soviet military forces!

If you're at all interested in the Soviet Union, in urban exploration photography, or in finding beauty in unexpected places, then you should buy this book. Even at full price, it's ridiculously cheap for what it contains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning photos and fascinating narrative., 11 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
I preordered this book, and it finally arrived yesterday - it was so worth the wait! It is, quite simply, the best photography book that I've seen for anyone interested in Urban Exploration (Urbex), the beauty in decayed and abandoned objects and architecture, soviet history and the fall of the eastern bloc, or just great stories accompanied by unusual and beautiful photos from places most of us will never be lucky (or intrepid) enough to witness first-hand. At this price it's an absolute bargain - don't think twice, order yours today, you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book about the former derelict Soviet Union, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
Very nice book about abandoned places around the Soviet Union, now Russia.
But also places covered in Germany, Poland, the Baltic States and other countries.
A really good recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly Beautiful & Powerful Imagery, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
A fantastic and intriguing book with some hauntingly impressive images. This will definitely be a well thumbed book in my household! I have always had a strange and morbid fascination with imagery verging on the post apocalyptic and this tells a very powerful story of a fallen superpower. It has the feeling of finally peeking behind the Iron Curtain! I have been involved in some Urban Exploration myself (I have visited some amazing places such as Cardross Seminary in Scotland) and would certainly recommend this book to anyone who has similar interests. As mentioned in another review it is very good value for money, why have you not bought one already!?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely in love with this book, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
Absolutely in love with this book. Rebecca is an amazing photographer/ artist and has captured the true 'ghosts' of the soviet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, lovely photographs that pull you in. ..., 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
Interesting book, lovely photographs that pull you in. A little bit more history to the locations would have made it a 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb images and brave work, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
Perfect book for the coffee table - great work Rebecca! Look forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
Beautifully displayed images created by the eye of an artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FOR THE PHOTOS, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay (Hardcover)
Great book, a good photo-documentary on the soviet decay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay
Soviet Ghosts: The Soviet Union Abandoned: A Communist Empire in Decay by Rebecca Litchfield (Hardcover - 1 July 2014)
£13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews