Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
This is even better than the first book. Not only are the photographs superb but there's more information in this book and it makes for a fascinating read. Usually coffee table books remain under the coffee table, this one - and its predecessor - are books I return to time and again.
Published 6 months ago by caledoniagirl

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 1st edition
Oh no...what's happened to the page layouts?
Some great images in this book, but the layouts are nowhere near as beautiful as the first book.
Strong pictures, shame about the overall aesthetic.
Published 18 months ago by A. Skarzynski


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay II: Urbex (Hardcover)
This is even better than the first book. Not only are the photographs superb but there's more information in this book and it makes for a fascinating read. Usually coffee table books remain under the coffee table, this one - and its predecessor - are books I return to time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Photos of places fast disappearing, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay II: Urbex (Hardcover)
wonderful pictures, lacking in info on individual photos but a great book to have if you have an interest in these places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Amazing photographs, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay II: Urbex (Hardcover)
Book arrived next day great service. Bought as a present with Beauty in Decay but did browse them before I gave them will probably put on my Christmas book list would really recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 1st edition, 20 Jun 2013
By 
A. Skarzynski "bisonkid" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay II: Urbex (Hardcover)
Oh no...what's happened to the page layouts?
Some great images in this book, but the layouts are nowhere near as beautiful as the first book.
Strong pictures, shame about the overall aesthetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty in decay II, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay II: Urbex (Hardcover)
Even in the depth of ruins you can see the beauty and you can feel the past. One for the coffee table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Challenging photography, 26 Sep 2014
By 
R. G. Bevers (Melbourne, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay II: Urbex (Hardcover)
fascinating photos. i can only imagine that the locations were a challenge to light and shoot, It would be good to know more about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best yet...no HD, no fiddles., 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: Beauty in Decay II: Urbex (Hardcover)
I've reviewed a couple of RWG's books and have been awaiting this one with baited breath because it's all his own work not a collective as the previous BiD was.

I ordered my copy direct for speed, and it's breathtaking. Even if you have followed his work on Flickr, FB etc nothing quite prepares you for the impact on paper. The blurb promises "the smallest flash of beauty in an otherwise banal setting" and this is what makes his work stand out because he does always seem to find just that.

The overall impression is of great delicacy and lightness, rather than the bleak and somewhat depressing aura of many books in this genre. I'm no photographic expert so cannot presume to compare the technical aspects with similar works; all I can comment on is the impressions and feelings evoked. And this is where I think this book is unique because individual sections carry entirely separate feelings, from the dying magnificence of an old palace to a contemplative family farmhouse suspended as it was left sixty years ago to the crazed "Eraserhead" tangle of monolithic pipes in an abandoned industrial site.

The book is held together thematically, giving a "snapshot" view of predominantly the last hundred years in history and it makes you realise just how much not only technology but attitudes have changed. Here at last all are equal, the rich landowners alongside the artisans, the workers and the pauper dispossessed.

There are a million ongoing arguments throughout the urbex "community" and no book is going to please them all. But if you want pure, untouched images seen from a unique viewpoint this is the book for you. A truthful, poignant and stunning book that will stay with you long after you put it down.

(One image that has DEFINITELY stayed with me is the overhead baskets in the German mines. Because, if I read it right, that means 3,000 naked German miners running about. Sometimes imagination is a terrible thing!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beauty in Decay II: Urbex (Hardcover)
Excellent. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty in Decay II: Urbex
Beauty in Decay II: Urbex by RomanyWG (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2012)
£16.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews