Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful guide
As always, these guides are very helpful for finding all items & location of pokemon, but it has no details about the pokemon themselves. I don't know if they are planning a 'part 2' like the black and white guide, with the descriptions etc. of the pokemon evolutions, their moves and the levels that they learn moves, as this is not included in this guide. I bought...
Published 17 months ago by Knitmadmum

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Not bad for what it is, or indeed how it is described.
But in my opinion the game was already very 'hand-holdy' and this kind of walkthrough shouldn't really be needed.
No information past the elite four, which is the only real place where the game opens out. Some of the graphics for the champions pokemon are missing(!) on a guide which has already been delayed...
Published 18 months ago by Mr David M Leggett


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr David M Leggett (Bridport, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
Not bad for what it is, or indeed how it is described.
But in my opinion the game was already very 'hand-holdy' and this kind of walkthrough shouldn't really be needed.
No information past the elite four, which is the only real place where the game opens out. Some of the graphics for the champions pokemon are missing(!) on a guide which has already been delayed long after the release of the game.
Unfortunately smacks of a rush job and indeed half a job.
The lack of a pokedex is sadly expected as they always like selling you the second guide a few months later. Stick to serebii(dot)com for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably the worst Pokemon guide yet, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
M. Lloyd (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
Let's keep this short and sweet (or sour, in this case).

288 pages
No regional pokedex, there's not even an index of pokemon locations
No index of items. In fact, there's no real index of anything at all.
Character/pokemon cut-in art is incredibly scarce compared to other guides and tiny when actually present
Absolutely no information on anything post-elite four. I'm serious here, the guide ends at the champion battle. There's nothing.

The guide pretty much covers just beating the main game, which is pretty funny because by the time this has been released a great deal of people have either beaten it already or are most of the way through it.

The lack of a regional pokedex means there's no updated list of which pokemon can learn what(which is the information people are really after) and the lack of index makes it a nightmare to navigate if you're trying to find a specific item or pokemon.

Chances are all the post-game content and the pokedex are being released in separate supplements at a similar price, which is pretty disgraceful when you compare it to Pokemon Platinum's 551 page tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BUYER BEWARE - THIS HAS NO POKEDEX, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
S. Wickes (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
Incredibly disappointed.
It is lacking the one thing that makes a Pokemon guide worth buying: a Pokedex. It's basically all walkthrough with "tips" and "how-to's" that were already explained to you in-game

All of the previous Pokemon guides I've purchased had Pokedexes in them so I just assumed this one would too.
If you want a guidebook for the Pokedex and for lists of moves etc - BEWARE THERE ARE NONE IN THIS BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars well that was disapointing, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
not what i was expecting with this guide

the last 2 pokemon guides i had ( yes very long time ago) were for red and blue and gold and silver and they were great helps

this is not, its just footnotes on the main story and hwat you need to do , which you can find online most likly in a week or two for FREE no info on the after game , no details on pokemon

the worst part is there is no pokedex in it i got it becuase i thought it would have all the pokemon and the moves they learn and the stats but no nothing of the sort its not right

maybe previous guides did not have pokedex's i don't know but i thought that would be a must have for a pokemon guide

overall this guide is just bear bones and not worth the money just wait a few weeks once a Online guide/ Faq becomes avialble becuase that will be better than this guide .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed..., 30 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
Not much to say, just wasn't what I was expecting! Would have loved to seen a pokedex in it and more details on different things, for example, it takes you up to the elite four then stops, would love more post game stuff included and already stated a pokedex would have been the best part if they bothered to put it in!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
What a waste of money!

Nothing about post game, no indexes for pokemon or items, basically nothing of real value apart from finding out where pokemon I want are, and that I could get from any free website.

Do not buy this 'guide', you will regret every penny spent on it, and I wish that I kept to my gut instinct and never bought it, but hey I thought that I would get information that I didn't know. Next time if I think about getting a guide fort hings I'll just look to some of the free websites and gett he information I want from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected., 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
It is far too short and doesn't even have a whiff of a pokedex. The one thing I needed most! Pretty flipping disappointed. Don't buy if you want to know anything about the pokemon themselves... unless it's where to catch them in which case, go forth young poketrainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible., 21 Oct. 2013
By 
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
First off, I'm glad I didn't buy this product myself - I was looking through a friend's after he bought it. Suffice to say, he's pretty annoyed he wasted good money on this.
This, really, is nothing more than a glorified walkthrough, and let's face it - Pokemon games aren't exactly pinnacles of head-scratching, throw your DS out the window, difficulty. You're always told where to go anyway.
Yes, the route maps and locations of hidden items are useful. But that's about it.

There's nothing on the post-game. It ends at the Champion.
There is NO POKEDEX or learnset lists. They'll probably come out with another guide for £12 for that in a couple months, knowing them.
I forgot to look when using my friend's guide, but considering the lack of infomation on everything else I doubt there'll be lists on what berries make what Juices in the Juice Shoppe and other info like that - but if I'm wrong feel free to correct me.

Really, I'm not surprised at the lack of info in this guide - guidebooks in general seem to be going downhill. The last guide I bought was for Golden Sun: Dark Dawn a couple of years ago, and the lack of information in that "guide" was astounding (if curious, check my review of that book for details).

To be honest, don't bother buying this. The main Pokemon websites such as Serebii and Bulbapedia are already being updated with all the info that this guide doesn't have, so just use those. Plus, it's free.
If you absolutely must have a guidebook to help with the game, wait for the inevitable Pokedex guide that will come out in a month or two, but I still think it's best just to use Serebii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glorified Walkthrough, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
Was expecting much more than this; instead we got a glorified walkthrough with just a couple of data tables that are mostly useless.

1. Not even a complete guide. It literally stops after Elite 4, even though there's so much more to a Pokemon game.

2. No regional pokedex. No move lists. Data is sparse.

3. No data on mega evolutions. Even though this is a new thing in X/Y.

Pretty much the only thing this does have that is remotely useful is a list of all pokemon that appear on a map and their rarities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A nice overview of the game but.., 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook (Paperback)
This guide is okay.
It's setup nicely, easy to navigate and has a plethora of info for the eager Pokemon fan.

However a few things I believe should have been in there which aren't.
There is no list of all the Pokemon you can get in the game, each page simply shows which ones there is in that region.
By list I mean no overview on their stats, which abilities they get at later level, what they evolve into.
That was a big reason for me to buy this guide and it simply does not have this info.

Also, each area is shown by a small overview map of it.
This is quite nice as it gives you a general idea of where to go.
The downside is that for instance with the hidden items, they list them as being in the region but then not show them on the map.
"Here is a 500 by 500 square area, there is 3 hidden items, enjoy!"
That sort of stuff doesn't make me want to buy this guide again, because it's those little easy to miss or hard to find things that I bought it for.

All in all, it's great if you are looking for JUST a walkthrough and a basic explanation of the game but if you're looking for deeper info and tips and tricks than this isn't the guide for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook
Pokemon X and Pokemon Y: The Official Kalos Region Guidebook by The Pokemon Company (Paperback - 14 Oct. 2013)
Used & New from: £4.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews