Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully illustrated guide, worth the RRP
If you are looking for a fully illustrated guide to help you get 100% synchronisation "Single Player" in Assassin's Creed Black Flag. Then look no further as this guide covers all levels including side missions which to be honest... not all guides will include side missions as standard. The book covers all platforms XBOX 360 PS3 WII U including "Next Gen" XBOX ONE and...
Published 9 months ago by Mel Jones

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not useful
Photographs unintelligible.
Whole thing a waste of time.

On the plus side the game is amazing. Best game of the year.

The book won't give anything away. It's that useless.
Published 8 months ago by edward winskill


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully illustrated guide, worth the RRP, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
If you are looking for a fully illustrated guide to help you get 100% synchronisation "Single Player" in Assassin's Creed Black Flag. Then look no further as this guide covers all levels including side missions which to be honest... not all guides will include side missions as standard. The book covers all platforms XBOX 360 PS3 WII U including "Next Gen" XBOX ONE and PLAYSTATION 4 including PC. It comes with "Multilayer" guide and a poster size map of the Caribbean which belive me the map will come in handy when you need guidence if you get lost. The book has some amazing illustrations and concept art at the rear of the book. One tiny warning...! This book is thick and quite heavy. When it arrived by post I thought a brick had dropped through my letterbox.

I would recommend you buy this guide without hesitation, and believe me when I say thatyou won't be disappointed. It is worth the RRP £14.99 and/or any sales offers on Amazon.

Buy a copy now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't set sail without it!, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. M. Sargeson "I'm a self-facilitating medi... (Norwich, England yeah?) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
I can really only echo the praise other reviewers have left for this book: this is a truly fantastic game guide.

My experience with Game Guides is pretty limited and mostly restricted to those offered by Prima, but Piggyback have won a loyal fan here. They just seem to do everything that bit better.

Initial impressions are great. This softback edition is thick and heavy but has a solid binding and the print quality is exemplary throughout, with a nice few glossy flourishes adorning the cover. More importantly there's a thorough Contents list front-and-center that points you in the right direction no matter what element of the game you're looking to master. From the off, you can skip straight to the parts of the book that help with the campaign, the side quests or the Multiplayer, with differing sections under each heading to cover every conceivable question you'd have regarding the game. There's also a brilliant Index at the back where you can even find the game's many islands/sequences all listed by name; that's so important for a big open-world guide like this, but it's a feature that's not always included in a lot of similar Game Guides.

And when you get to the bit you want...heaven. It's written extremely well with some foolproof screenshots overlaid with simple arrows and other indicators which show you the best way to achieve your given goals. This approach extends to not only the main campaign 'sequences' but also the various side quests and collectibles. It seems like every island in the game, no matter how small, comes represented here with it's own little map that offers useful hints and tips on exactly how to nab that elusive Shanty or Animus Fragment. They all appear on the in-game map, yes, but some aren't always exactly where they appear, and this book you helps net the troublesome ones. Anything you can think of in the main game is covered concisely and comprehensively. It's brilliant.

The same can also be said of the Multiplayer portion of the game which is given no less attention. Every map and game mode is explored and discussed in full detail which - as someone who's never really dabbled too much in AC's MP suite - has me tempted to give this one a go. Also, you kinda have to if you want to nab that Platinum trophy/1000GP, which is likewise something that this book assists with.

Finally, just to point out how comprehensive this book is, it really does cover EVERYTHING. I was lucky enough to grab the AC4 'Buccaneer's Edition' for PS4 and all the extra DLC islands from that purchase are detailed here like any other part of the game, as are the Aveline missions (exclusive to the PS4 edition). I found that particularly impressive. Aside from those bits though this book has you covered on whatever format you play the game on - PC, 360, PS3, Wii U, PS4 and XB1.

And then, on top of all that, there's a ton of behind-the-scenes information and concept drawings that's a joy to behold. The art design of the game is pretty fantastic in general so it's great to see some of that work printed here. There is a separate Art Book available which caters solely for this stuff if that's your kinda thing, but here it adds another Star to the Amazon rating simply for ensuring that the book's still worth looking at even after you've finished the game.

So,yeah... it's a great buy ^_^ If you're a newcomer to the franchise I'd heartily recommend it, but even for the Veterans like me it's a worthwhile read. My interest in the series was flagging following AC3, but has been rejuvenated with the open-world gameplay and Piratey stylings of AC4. This guide has ensured that I'll get the most out of the game, and it's become as indispensable to me while playing the game as the Hidden Blade is to Captain Kenway in the game itself. If you're on the fence, don't be; this is a purchase you won't regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Bronn "Sellsword" (Westeros) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
Having bought most of the previous AC guides I know what to expect. As usual the Black Flag
guide delivers with really detailed sections on everything from the campaign to the multiplayer
to extras concerning the greater AC story and future for the franchise.

Black Flag is huge and there are a ton of collectibles so it felt like out of all the AC games this
was the one where I needed the guide the most, and it did not fail in any way literally covering
EVERYTHING the game offers.

After finishing as has become tradition I turned to the back pages to read the speculation about
the story and future for the franchise. Its a great read and guide and I definitely recommend especially
for a game like Black Flag which is so huge and has so much stuff to collect and discover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassins Creed Black Flag Guide, 12 Dec 2013
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
A must have for this excellent game, the guide gives you everything u need without spoiling the game. I have used Piggyback Guides for many of my games and they always deliver. Excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Official Guide, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
I found the Official Guide for AC4 indispendible. It really is for the player who either would like 100% sync or a good reference for all the collectibles, explanation for the naval battles, how to collect metal, cloth etc for your ship (cruical for advancing in the game). The picutres are clear and frequent, the walkthroughs consistent and the lists in the book for weapons, outfits, unlockables is nicely organised.

The spoilers are kept away from the walkthroughs, though there is the ability to look up more info on the game if you don't mind spoilers. The various islands are alos listed as well what animals, taverns etc you can find. Defintiely buy if you wish to cover all game points or just would like to dip in and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly useful guide, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
The game is brilliant, and so is this guide. I can't really add to what's already been said in the countless other 5 star reviews found here, just that I have found this guide extremely useful and constantly have it by my side when playing the game. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars assassin creed complete guide, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
The product arrived promptly. I bought it as a gift but was impressed with the information and illustrations it contained. I myself do not play the game but found the guide to be informative and interesting to read. I would recommend this product without reservation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piggyback guides are incredible!, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
First of all, before I say anything else, this guide is quite pretty to look at. Although paper back, it's quite a brick, and the front cover is glossy and stands out well. It definitely feels very well made and is pretty much top quality. The inside of the guide is incredibly detailed to the last point, and gives you a lesson in history as well as teaching you the ins and outs of the game! The art work is beautiful and covers nearly every page, making it great to look upon!

If you're looking for an amazing, detailed, professional guide, this is the one for you! AND ALL FOR BARELY £15!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpfull, 15 Jan 2014
By 
J. Elliott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
Bought the game for my Grandson , so bought this to go along with it, which my grandson just loves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great guide, not essencial for the game, 5 Dec 2013
By 
555 "555" (555) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide (Paperback)
The guide book is very well written and even contains a big A2 sized map of the islands and and detailed maps of the biggest cities.
Inside you will also find a full history of the previews series so if you are a newcomer to this game it is a great feature to know all history about older assassin's creeds
Its not like you get stuck in game and you will need this book, its just for reference if you are one of those who likes to complete a game in 100% and collect everything
If you are just a casual player like me, you won't need this book as the game is fairly easy to play the main storyline, but without this book its way too hard to find all collectibles and game rewards
Also features an game art section with some very nice images
and its written for all gaming platforms so it doesn't matter if you play on pc or xbox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag - the Complete Official Guide
£13.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews