Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars22
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2012
I have a small business which specialised in upcycling so considered myself fairly savvy when it comes to seeing the creative potential of everyday items. Junk genius however takes this concept to an entirely different level.
The book is divided into seven chapters with each chapter based around a upcycling theme such as fabric and trims, metal and wire, paper and card etc. The book is beautifully laid out and photographed and though there are 80 projects to try with helpful hints and techniques I would say the book is more a source of creative inspiration then just another "how to do book".

Junk Genius is definately the best book of it's kind I have come across. It's full of great ideas whether it's projects for the home or garden or if you are looking for inspiration for unique gift ideas. Juliette and Stacy have created a really stylish and inspiring book.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
This book is beautifully produced - with a wonderful variety of projects to turn junk into useful and beautiful items. It encourages you to look at things in a completely different way - and to see that what one person might discard as junk can be transformed into something useful for the home.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I'm not usually in to re-using stuff but this book makes it look interesting and fun and shows that you don't need to throw money at something to get a chic result. Some really interesting ideas that you'd normally never come up with in a million years and easy to follow. For someone like me who wouldn't usually try it, it has given me more confidence to give it a go. I especially like the silk lampshade.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
This book is great inspiration for anyone who enjoys crafting and especially transforming old things into something new and stylish. The instructions for the different projects are clear and straightforward and there are great ideas for useful things to look out for in charity shops or antique stores. As well as the actual projects described, the book really helps you to look at old, familiar objects with new eyes and think about how they might be transformed into something amazing with a few simple changes. The book is beautifully styled too and a pleasure to look through while enjoying a coffee!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I am currently starting up a craft business based on upcycling and thought I'd seen it all, but after just a few pages into this book was instantly inspired with these clever and unique ideas!
Beautifully laid out and easy to read.
Really good book and one of the best Christmas presents I got this year!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
I was really hoping someone would purchase this from my wish list for my birthday. Hurrah, they did and i wasn't disapointed. Even though i'm an artist and upcycle and recycle lots of things, i still found this book very inspirational and found new ideas. It's very visual with lots of images, and i love the odd typwriter written text and the canvas feel to the jacket. Excellent, love it, thanks little sis.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
This book has some fab ideas but a lot of them, I have seen before in other books. This kind of book is becoming very popular and a bit samey.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
This book is filled with inspirational/aspirational ideas with a huge list of things to look for at car boot sales, charity shops , or in granny's wardrobe ! This book is fabulous and I hightly recommend it !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
Bought this as a present for my sister and have to say I was sorry to give it away! Great for giving inspiration !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
Recently bought this book and love it! The instructions are very clear and easy to follow.
I've done 3 projects already, my favourite being making 'message in a bottle' necklaces - Christmas gifts all sorted for this year!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)