Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genius book
I have a small business which specialised in upcycling so considered myself fairly savvy when it comes to seeing the creative potential of everyday items. Junk genius however takes this concept to an entirely different level.
The book is divided into seven chapters with each chapter based around a upcycling theme such as fabric and trims, metal and wire, paper and...
Published 22 months ago by Diane Chandler

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let-down.
Was expecting so much more from this book, especially given the rave reviews. However, this is a prime example of the disadvantage in buying books online - if I'd been able to flick through it, I'd never have bought it.
The ideas are not particularly original and most projects are very basic and have that tatty amateur, rather than chic, homemade look. The book is...
Published 20 months ago by Maya


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genius book, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
I have a small business which specialised in upcycling so considered myself fairly savvy when it comes to seeing the creative potential of everyday items. Junk genius however takes this concept to an entirely different level.
The book is divided into seven chapters with each chapter based around a upcycling theme such as fabric and trims, metal and wire, paper and card etc. The book is beautifully laid out and photographed and though there are 80 projects to try with helpful hints and techniques I would say the book is more a source of creative inspiration then just another "how to do book".

Junk Genius is definately the best book of it's kind I have come across. It's full of great ideas whether it's projects for the home or garden or if you are looking for inspiration for unique gift ideas. Juliette and Stacy have created a really stylish and inspiring book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Inspiration, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully produced - with a wonderful variety of projects to turn junk into useful and beautiful items. It encourages you to look at things in a completely different way - and to see that what one person might discard as junk can be transformed into something useful for the home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas, 26 Oct 2012
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
This book is great inspiration for anyone who enjoys crafting and especially transforming old things into something new and stylish. The instructions for the different projects are clear and straightforward and there are great ideas for useful things to look out for in charity shops or antique stores. As well as the actual projects described, the book really helps you to look at old, familiar objects with new eyes and think about how they might be transformed into something amazing with a few simple changes. The book is beautifully styled too and a pleasure to look through while enjoying a coffee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has some excellent ideas but seen some of them before, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
This book has some fab ideas but a lot of them, I have seen before in other books. This kind of book is becoming very popular and a bit samey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So interesting, 26 Nov 2012
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
I'm not usually in to re-using stuff but this book makes it look interesting and fun and shows that you don't need to throw money at something to get a chic result. Some really interesting ideas that you'd normally never come up with in a million years and easy to follow. For someone like me who wouldn't usually try it, it has given me more confidence to give it a go. I especially like the silk lampshade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book with lots of ideas, 29 Dec 2013
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
I am currently starting up a craft business based on upcycling and thought I'd seen it all, but after just a few pages into this book was instantly inspired with these clever and unique ideas!
Beautifully laid out and easy to read.
Really good book and one of the best Christmas presents I got this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!!, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
Recently bought this book and love it! The instructions are very clear and easy to follow.
I've done 3 projects already, my favourite being making 'message in a bottle' necklaces - Christmas gifts all sorted for this year!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let-down., 1 Dec 2012
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
Was expecting so much more from this book, especially given the rave reviews. However, this is a prime example of the disadvantage in buying books online - if I'd been able to flick through it, I'd never have bought it.
The ideas are not particularly original and most projects are very basic and have that tatty amateur, rather than chic, homemade look. The book is filled with projects easily found on the internet and most reminded me of the sort of thing my children made at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas book., 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
Bought this as a present for my sister and have to say I was sorry to give it away! Great for giving inspiration !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic for the indie crafter, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas (Hardcover)
This book is filled with inspirational/aspirational ideas with a huge list of things to look for at car boot sales, charity shops , or in granny's wardrobe ! This book is fabulous and I hightly recommend it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas
Junk Genius: Stylish ways to repurpose everyday objects, with over 80 projects and ideas by Juliette Goggin and Stacy Sirk (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews